Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Brilliant Sister Fidelma Mystery
Sister Fidelma, a dalaigh or advocate of the law courts in 7th century Ireland and her companion and lover Brother Eadulf have returned to Cashel to find that their young son has been kidnapped and his nurse brutally murdered.
Colgu, brother of Fidelma and King of Muman calls a meeting of all his closest advisors to try to get to the bottom of the mystery of the...
Published on 9 April 2005 by J. Chippindale

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unutterably awful
I have read one or two of these before and found them tolerable if mildly irritating. This one had a reasonable plot, that was not the problem. The author is clearly learned in his field but does he have to ram it down my throat? I can understand the necessity for specialist terminology such as "dalaigh" but do I have to be told the term for bed and table too, followed by...
Published on 26 July 2010 by C. Aitken


Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Brilliant Sister Fidelma Mystery, 9 April 2005
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Leper's Bell (Sister Fidelma) (Paperback)
Sister Fidelma, a dalaigh or advocate of the law courts in 7th century Ireland and her companion and lover Brother Eadulf have returned to Cashel to find that their young son has been kidnapped and his nurse brutally murdered.
Colgu, brother of Fidelma and King of Muman calls a meeting of all his closest advisors to try to get to the bottom of the mystery of the child's disappearance. No ransom has been asked for and no body has been found. They believe that Fidelma's grief will stop her looking at the situation logically, but she is determined not to be left out of the proceedings.
Fidelma has entered into a trial marriage with Brother Eadulf, something that was quite normal in Ireland at that time. Both parties being married for a year and a day, if at the end of that time either party wishes to walk away from the other, there is no blame attached to either side.
There are factions at work who believe that people of the Christian clergy (the new religion in Ireland), should be celibate. There are also those who think a lowly Brother should not be wed to a King's sister. Are these the ones who have kidnapped Eadulf and Fidelma's son.
Will Fidelma be able to cast aside her grief and use her renowned powers of deduction to find the culprits . . .
The Sister Fidelma mysteries are taking on almost cult proportions and it is easy to see why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Brilliant Sister Fidelma Mystery, 13 Jun 2007
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Sister Fidelma, a dalaigh or advocate of the law courts in 7th century Ireland and her companion and lover Brother Eadulf have returned to Cashel to find that their young son has been kidnapped and his nurse brutally murdered.

Colgu, brother of Fidelma and King of Muman calls a meeting of all his closest advisors to try to get to the bottom of the mystery of the child's disappearance. No ransom has been asked for and no body has been found. They believe that Fidelma's grief will stop her looking at the situation logically, but she is determined not to be left out of the proceedings.

Fidelma has entered into a trial marriage with Brother Eadulf, something that was quite normal in Ireland at that time. Both parties being married for a year and a day, if at the end of that time either party wishes to walk away from the other, there is no blame attached to either side.

There are factions at work who believe that people of the Christian clergy (the new religion in Ireland), should be celibate. There are also those who think a lowly Brother should not be wed to a King's sister. Are these the ones who have kidnapped Eadulf and Fidelma's son.

Will Fidelma be able to cast aside her grief and use her renowned powers of deduction to find the culprits . . .

The Sister Fidelma mysteries are taking on almost cult proportions and it is easy to see why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It kept me reading and guessing right to the end. Fantastic.
Very glad my husband, nick suggested that I should read this series.
Mary
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Peter Tremayne offers a history lesson in a most palatable form!, 9 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Leper's Bell (Sister Fidelma) (Paperback)
A joy to read - it holds the reader gripped to the last page and gives a broad and fascinating glimpse into the distant past of Ireland and Saxon England.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Leper's Bell (Sister Fidelma Mysteries 13) Kindle book, 3 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The most heart-breaking of perils for Sister Fidelma and Brother Eadulf and so many mysteries to resolve! Excellent in every way. I highly recommend that readers start at the beginning of the series with "Absolution by Murder".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unutterably awful, 26 July 2010
By 
C. Aitken (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Leper's Bell (Sister Fidelma) (Paperback)
I have read one or two of these before and found them tolerable if mildly irritating. This one had a reasonable plot, that was not the problem. The author is clearly learned in his field but does he have to ram it down my throat? I can understand the necessity for specialist terminology such as "dalaigh" but do I have to be told the term for bed and table too, followed by the English? There is a point where learned simply becomes showing off, and four terms with definitions in one sentence was the point of no return for this epistle. The author would be much better to have a glossary of required terms and forget the rest - after all, do we really need bed and table in Gaelic or whatever language it is? Nor does it help that the leading characters are cold, have not a shred of human warmth between them, the heroine in particular being singularly arrogant and unattractive. I did struggle to the end which was at least satisfactory from the whodunnit point of view, but to be honest I really didn't care by then, and only made it to the end because there was nothing else to read that day. One thing is for sure, I shan't read any more of these, no matter how desperate for reading material I may be. I have read worse - but not oftn. Sadly there was no option for minus a star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another winner, 29 July 2014
By 
op "Olfreda" (Buckinghamshire UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Leper's Bell (Sister Fidelma) (Paperback)
Another first-class Sister Fidelma mystery. I am addicted to these at the moment. Well written and different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Leper's Bell (Sister Fidelma)
The Leper's Bell (Sister Fidelma) by Peter Tremayne (Paperback - 7 Mar 2005)
£7.08
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews