Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Patterson's best ever books!!!!
This new Alex Cross novel has got to be one of James Patterson's best books to date.Alex is back in business, but this time with the F.B.I. The agency is described well and as usual Alex's life is pretty hectic with Nana Mama, Damon ,Jannie, Little Alex and Jamilla all clogging up his mind.Behind Geoffrey Shafer {Pop Goes the Weasal} the Wolf, whoever he ACTUALLY is , is...
Published on 16 Oct 2003

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing and Confusing
I am big fan of James Pattersons books and the Alex Cross books are usually my favourite holiday reading matter as they are easily and quickly read round the poolside. However, found the ending to this book a real anti-climax.I am not easily confused but could someone please explain why earlier on in the book the wolf is actually named then, (without wanting to ruin...
Published on 7 Jan 2005 by tramp


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing and Confusing, 7 Jan 2005
By 
tramp (cardboard box) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Big Bad Wolf (Paperback)
I am big fan of James Pattersons books and the Alex Cross books are usually my favourite holiday reading matter as they are easily and quickly read round the poolside. However, found the ending to this book a real anti-climax.I am not easily confused but could someone please explain why earlier on in the book the wolf is actually named then, (without wanting to ruin the story line)we find out the wolf is someone else, resulting in the next book - London Bridges.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Id give it No stars if i could, 1 Dec 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Big Bad Wolf (Paperback)
Terrible !!
After reading about 15 JP books , I wanted the new Alex Cross mystery. Maybe some of the magic we saw with Gary Soneji, instead i got bits of all his old adventures crudely arranged in a new book with some of the names changed so we dont realise. Completely predictable story and as for the "firing a rocket launcher at someone when your in the same van (No, Really)" most of it is completely ridiculous with little continuity and massive plot flaws. I loved all the other Alex Cross books, but this one almost made me hate him. Avoid it people, its one of the worst books i have ever read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Where's the Rest of it????, 31 Oct 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Big Bad Wolf (Hardcover)
As with all Patterson books once you have started you find it incredibly difficult to put it down, I really enjoy Alex Cross and the 'big bad wolf was no exception' but really 'James' where is the rest of it, there is a new book not yet published Im wondering is this the sequal, I really need to know what happens to little Alex and who is the Wolf, in true Patterson fashion he's keeping us hanging but not only to the last page Im disapointed that I have to wait for another book to get to the climax. You'll enjoy it but it will really leave you wanting more!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The worst book i have ever read., 3 Sep 2013
By 
I. S. Fisher (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book was awful. I have never written a review on amazon but after reading this book I felt so strongly about how bad this book that I need to warn other people about it.
The story is ok,however the execution in delivering it was terrible. The grammar and writing style is that of a 5 year old. Patterson also needs to spend some time researching or get someone to proof read the book before it is published - last time I checked a boat didn't have a cockpit. Also,one of the characters fires a rocket launcher at someone a few feet from them but is able to walk away unscathed. The story leaves lots of unanswered questions however I do not want to waste anymore time reading any sequels.

I genuinely felt angry after reading this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Patterson's best ever books!!!!, 16 Oct 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Big Bad Wolf (Hardcover)
This new Alex Cross novel has got to be one of James Patterson's best books to date.Alex is back in business, but this time with the F.B.I. The agency is described well and as usual Alex's life is pretty hectic with Nana Mama, Damon ,Jannie, Little Alex and Jamilla all clogging up his mind.Behind Geoffrey Shafer {Pop Goes the Weasal} the Wolf, whoever he ACTUALLY is , is a brilliant , menacing and bone chilling character.There is good , solid action throughout the book and it is a little different from the previous Alex Cross novels.Good, fundamental thinking has went into this book and it shows.The F.B.I angle opens so many new corridors for Alex and a lot of them are shown in THE BIG BAD WOLF, especially HRT, the hostage rescue team.Overall this is a brilliant, exciting and emotionally charged, super book, with a great villain who may return soon to Alex Cross...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you like gangster books this ones for you, 4 Aug 2006
By 
Mr. R. Kaberry (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Big Bad Wolf (Paperback)
The way the main character is built up to be totally untouchable and one step ahead of everyone all the time is very entertaining but totally unrealistic. The Wolf's brutality is only matched by his apparent criminal genius that has allowed him to become the most feared and powerful of individuals in the criminal underworld. He can apparently do whatever he likes without fear including murder, rape, toture etc etc and there is no limit to the extreme's he likes to go to and go to extremes he does on every possible occasion.

The Wolf is more like a Supervillan fom a James Bond movie but without the need to carry a cat around with him!

Very good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another Patterson Product rolls off the line..., 23 Nov 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Bad Wolf (Hardcover)
I completely agree with the previous reviewer 'rachel_walker'. Its a bad book, in fact they are all bad, but I am addicted to the tales of Alex Cross. I have long stopped buying any Patterson novels that arent about Alex Cross - they are woeful - but the Cross novels seem to have a hidden ingredient that impregnates your hands as you read and lead you forcibly into buying the next and the next and the next...call it suspense, call it fast paced writing, one thing's for sure it ain't good writing but they are entertaining and easy to read (you read one in a spare hour or so) and they are light hearted read from your more serious collection in your TO READ pile!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Big Bad Wolf - not big and quite bad, 17 Dec 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Big Bad Wolf (Hardcover)
As a long term fan of James Patterson I was hugely disappointed with this latest book. It is lightweight, thin, superficial and unsatisfying.
The characterisation is underdeveloped in most of the characters, particularly the Wolf, and there are many non sequiturs and isolated incidents which are not referred to again. (In one short chapter Cross is escorting one of the Wolf's henchmen to custody when the Wolf takes a shot at the henchman from a passing car. Cross makes the henchman duck in time to avoid the shot - and there the chapter ends - no mention of the incident ever again!)
I actually looked closely on the cover to see if he had written it with a number of collaborators (as seems to be increasingly the norm with such thriller books). It is almost as if each chapter was written by a different person to a common theme and then assembled together right at the end.
The last few chapters of book were also blatantly an attempt to create a future series, with comical and unexplained errors resulting in the Wolf escaping to fight another day (or bore us in another book).
This was shoddy workmanship from someone who can and has done much, much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Big Bad Wolf INDEED, 26 Sep 2005
This review is from: The Big Bad Wolf (Paperback)
I have read almost all of the Alex Cross novels by JP and i love every single one, but this one takes the cake. JP is one of the most talented writers i have ever had the pleasure of reading, i work in a bookshop and i read alot of books by all kinds of authors but JP is a master at getting inside your head you really do feel like you are part of the action, if only i could meet JP and just tell him how talented he is! Well done mate
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The WOLF is just so scary, 25 Sep 2005
This review is from: The Big Bad Wolf (Paperback)
JP has succeeded once again in producing another nail biter. with his short chapters and this scary character called the wolf, you have to keep reading to the end.
Very exciting script especially toward the end, when i was convinced that the wolf was exposed and caught at least three times.
I loved the storyline, perhaps the ending could have been a little clearer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Big Bad Wolf
The Big Bad Wolf by James Patterson (Hardcover - 13 Oct 2003)
£13.22
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews