Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Learning Linocut Review
I really enjoyed reading and working through this book on linocut. As a novice printmaker it gave me some great tips and ideas for more ways to explore my linocutting. Also, as a teacher it has provided me with more ways to use the technique in the classroom and great explanations of the materials too. The pictures are very helpful in making things clear and easy to...
Published on 4 Aug. 2011 by Linda

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Learning made simple, for simple results
Clear and easy to understand instructions help the beginner create simple results in no time at all. Each chapter has tips on techniques and there is no art speak just clear advice.
My only criticism is there isn't really any decent examples of the authors own work or any information on how to create the more complex and refined work shown in the examples on each...
Published on 5 May 2012 by Max Renn


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Learning Linocut Review, 4 Aug. 2011
This review is from: Learning Linocut: A Comprehensive Guide to the Art of Relief Printing Through Linocut (Paperback)
I really enjoyed reading and working through this book on linocut. As a novice printmaker it gave me some great tips and ideas for more ways to explore my linocutting. Also, as a teacher it has provided me with more ways to use the technique in the classroom and great explanations of the materials too. The pictures are very helpful in making things clear and easy to understand and some of the prints included by other printmakers are very inspirational. Overall a great in-depth exploration of linocut. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent instructions, 13 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Learning Linocut: A Comprehensive Guide to the Art of Relief Printing Through Linocut (Paperback)
I bought this book directly from the author, after doing one of her linocut workshops, and it's brilliant. The instructions are clear and easy to follow if you are a novice, like me. There is also a lot of sample artwork to give you ideas. I had no idea I'd be able to create such detailed pieces, just from bits of lino!

I would recommend this book to anyone interested in learning linocut, or about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Inspiring Read, 10 Sept. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learning Linocut: A Comprehensive Guide to the Art of Relief Printing Through Linocut (Paperback)
This is an indispensable book for anyone interested in linocut printing. Well laid out, with clear step-by-step instructions and examples, it's the best book I've found on the subject. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Susan Rocks!, 26 Nov. 2012
By 
T. Moles "machikunda" (Lymington, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learning Linocut: A Comprehensive Guide to the Art of Relief Printing Through Linocut (Paperback)
I happened to come across this book as I was looking for a beginners guide to linocutting. I was not disappointed. A well written book with clear instructions and loads of photos. I saw that the author had a website so I visited the site. They offer workshops so I booked one with some of my friends and was lucky enough to meet Susan Yeates. We had a fun morning/afternoon with her and did some projects. If you are in the UK I would recommend going to one of her classes. Thanks Susan for a great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A present for a friend that I want for myself!, 18 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Learning Linocut: A Comprehensive Guide to the Art of Relief Printing Through Linocut (Paperback)
I bought this book for a friend who wants to learn the art of linocut. I am going to have to order this for myself too, it's easy to understand with excellent and inspirational instructions, can't wait to get started!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for novices and inspirational, 31 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learning Linocut: A Comprehensive Guide to the Art of Relief Printing Through Linocut (Paperback)
I bought this book as a present for my sister. She cannot rate it enough. As a novice to linocutting it gives you a contextual background to the craft as well as providing you with a more holisitc approach to your art work with linocutting, for example by giving information about how to develop a sketchbook of ideas and create ideas and designs from sources of inspiration. I think this is invaluable alongside the 'how to' practical approach to any craft as the craft is only as good as your imagination. Pictures and projects were all very inspirational.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Do It!, 2 Jun. 2013
By 
S. C. Thomas (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learning Linocut: A Comprehensive Guide to the Art of Relief Printing Through Linocut (Paperback)
Absolutely wonderful book - it's called "A Comprehensive Guide" and it really is. The author takes you step by step through to your finished print. Brilliant book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This must be the difinitive guide!, 23 Jan. 2014
This review is from: Learning Linocut: A Comprehensive Guide to the Art of Relief Printing Through Linocut (Paperback)
After getting nowhere with lino cutting, I put this book on my wish list and got it as a Christmas gift. Whatever your expertise in lino cutting there will be something useful here for you. The author makes no assumptions on previous experience, taking you from the very basics to fascinating advanced techniques with many example illustrations. The huge amount of useful information and step-by-step instructions means that you can pick up on anything from anywhere in the book. The hardest looking tasks are made so easy by the author. My rubbish lino cutting has turned into master works of art overnight thanks to this book.
The only minor thing I can find against it is there is a fair amount of repetition in each section, but this makes it all the more fail safe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Learning Linocut, 6 Feb. 2012
By 
Mr. Trevor K. Barnard (Kent England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learning Linocut: A Comprehensive Guide to the Art of Relief Printing Through Linocut (Paperback)
I have been doing linocuts since my earliest days at school. This is the best book I have come across in many a year, this can't be hard as there are few books on this subject. This is both excellent for the novice or more advanced. I have learnt some new techniques and ideas and I have been cutting for 30 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Learning made simple, for simple results, 5 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learning Linocut: A Comprehensive Guide to the Art of Relief Printing Through Linocut (Paperback)
Clear and easy to understand instructions help the beginner create simple results in no time at all. Each chapter has tips on techniques and there is no art speak just clear advice.
My only criticism is there isn't really any decent examples of the authors own work or any information on how to create the more complex and refined work shown in the examples on each page.
It is also odd how many of the 5 star reviewers for this item haven't reviewed anything else.

Overall this is a good guide for a beginner but a little expensive if you have previous experience of printing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Learning Linocut: A Comprehensive Guide to the Art of Relief Printing Through Linocut
£16.99
Usually dispatched within 1 to 3 weeks
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews