Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Personal memories of the author
Oh Mr J Johnson - the clue is in the title doh!
I found this book a pleasure to read, no pretensions, just sharing the wonderful experience of working for such a lovely man.
Published 10 months ago by Anna Younger

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Most boring book of the year
Our Book Club reviewed it this month and it was voted the most boring book of the year so far.
"Chooser apologised for the choice"
Published 4 months ago by K. Pinching


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Personal memories of the author, 9 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Driving Mr Morecambe (Paperback)
Oh Mr J Johnson - the clue is in the title doh!
I found this book a pleasure to read, no pretensions, just sharing the wonderful experience of working for such a lovely man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, funny, revealing and sometimes sad., 23 Nov 2013
This review is from: Driving Mr Morecambe (Paperback)
I found out about this book from the BBC news and it looked interesting. I wouldn't consider myself a full-on Morecambe and Wise fan, but I do appreciate the talent of Eric as a comedian and entertainer.
This book does not follow the usual story that is often repeated in books every year, which is what caught my attention in the first place. Instead, it focuses on Eric's driver, who was with from the late sixties and drove him around the country to all of his stage shows and television recordings, as well as the many family events and charity events he did.
Some of the things recounted are typical Eric, and some, as you would expect from this type of book, aren't. It was revealing to see how Eric was out of the spotlight, the things he did and how he sometimes tried to hide from fans with various disguises.
Michael (the driver) also has his own story to tell that is mixed in with, and tied to Eric's, sometimes with strange outcomes. Interesting, funny, revealing and at the end, very sad. Even though you know what is coming, having followed the escapade of two close friends, it is still troubling to read.
I really enjoyed this book, it gives a different spin on things which is quite refreshing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Driving MR MORECAMBE, 18 Dec 2013
I'm a young fan of Morecambe and Wise and i'm forever reading books about the legends I loved reading this book it was written superbly & any Morecambe and Wise fans out there should read this book it really defines everything. Happy reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful nostalgia, 30 Nov 2013
By 
Royale "Mies" (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Driving Mr Morecambe (Paperback)
Such a lovely book from a quiet, unknown source. Filled with anecdote, fun and not a little sense of sadness, this book genuinely touches a nerve, especially for those who lived in those wacky times of the 1970s, when Eric and Ern were kings. Definitely a treat for Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Any Eric Morecambe fan will love this book, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved this book, it was funny and informative. Having watched and enjoyed Eric Morecambe all my life this inside look at his life was facinating. Michael did not try to impress the reader with his life working for Eric and his family, he just told it in a wonderful genuine way. Really loved this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 17 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyed this book,great to read about the great Eric, very funny. Well written,seems to be a very nice driver, just what Eric needed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Most boring book of the year, 25 Jun 2014
By 
K. Pinching - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Our Book Club reviewed it this month and it was voted the most boring book of the year so far.
"Chooser apologised for the choice"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Driving Mr Morecambe, 24 Feb 2014
By 
Mrs. S. Hall (England UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Driving Mr Morecambe (Paperback)
As a fan of Morecambe and Wise, I just loved this book. As the driver of Mr Morecambe the book showed that Eric Morecambe was a wonderful man outside of the world of television as well as on the television.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 5 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Driving Mr Morecambe (Paperback)
received as stated well within time stated at busy time of year, well packaged, perfect condition, no hesitation in recommending
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars really good., 17 Aug 2014
This review is from: Driving Mr Morecambe (Paperback)
Can never get enough of Eric and this is a part of his story from a totally different angle. really good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Driving Mr Morecambe
Driving Mr Morecambe by Paul Jenkinson (Paperback - 3 Oct 2013)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews