Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good book - worth the wait.
Like the other reviewers I ordered it last year - February 2009 and received it March 2010, but worth the wait.

I am very interested in military history and in particular the Napoleonic wars which is how i discovered the previous volumes first on the Napoleonic wars and the next on the American Revolution.

This one is more ambitious - to cover all...
Published on 8 Mar 2010 by SJ SMART

versus
26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Was it really worth the wait?
Never before have I been moved to write a review for a book....until now.
I originally ordered this book in late December-early January 2009. It wasn't until early 2010 that it finally became available. Amazon had it advertised as available in late January 2009...
(I received the book in the mail an hour ago, May 2010)
It's a very brief overview of the...
Published on 24 Mar 2010 by T. P. Lamont


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good book - worth the wait., 8 Mar 2010
By 
SJ SMART "Smartie" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Illustrated Encyclopaedia of Military Uniforms of the 19th Century: A Stunning Expert Guide to the Uniforms of the Crimean War, the War of German ... Civil War, the Boer War and the Balkan Wars (Hardcover)
Like the other reviewers I ordered it last year - February 2009 and received it March 2010, but worth the wait.

I am very interested in military history and in particular the Napoleonic wars which is how i discovered the previous volumes first on the Napoleonic wars and the next on the American Revolution.

This one is more ambitious - to cover all the main conflicts of the 19th Century and it does this well. In particular there are some excellent sections on the The Crimean war, The American Civil War and the wars in South Africa.

It also includes sections on the Indian Mutiny, the Sudan, the Boxer Rebellion, the Spanish American war (but i think just the American side, I cannot remember seeing anything of the Spanish troops) and the French in Mexico. So quite comprehensive and for a non-specialist like me a great introduction to the men and uniforms of all these conflicts. What I can predict will be the main moan from the specialists is that it only covers some of these conflicts very briefly, a taster if you will, for example it has 2 pictures for the Native Americans in the North American Indian wars. i tihnk if you are interested in a general history/ overview of the various conflicts of the 19th century and want somewhere to start you have the perfect guide here.

The Contents are -

The Crimean War
- The Thin Red line
- Daily life in the Crimea
- British Commanders and staff
- British Infantry
- British Cavalry: Heavy brigade
- British Cavalry: Light brigade
- British Royal Artillery and Engineers
- Russian General Officers
- Russian Infantry
- Russian Cavalry
- Russian Artillery
- French Infantry
- Chasseurs D'Afrique, French Artillery and Engineers
- Sardinian Troops
- Ottoman Troops

Wars of German and Italian Unification

- Prusso-Danish Wars and Austro_Prussian Alliance
- The Austro-Prussian Wars of 1866
- Austro-Hungarian Troops
- Troops of the German States
- The French Army
- The Wars of Italian Unification

The American Civil War: Armies of the Union

- Rallying around the flag
- General Officers and staff
- Pre-War Miltia
- The Regular Army
- The Volunteer Infantry
- Ethnic Regiments
- African-American regiments
- Artillery
- Cavalry
- Naval Forces
- The Marine Corps
- Union Flags and colours

The American Civil War: Armies of the Confederacy

- Band of Brothers
- Commanders and staff
- Pre-war militia
- State Troops
- Regular Army
- Zouaves
- Infantry
- Cavalry
- Artillery
- Supporting Arms
- Naval Forces
- The Marine Corps
- Confederate Flags and colours

The Boer Wars(surely this is a mistake and should be South Afican wars??)

- The British in South Africa
- First Boer War: British Troops
- First Boer War: Boers
- Zulu War: British Infantry
- Zulu war: British Cavalry
- Zulu war: British Artillery, Engineers and Naval troops
- Zulu war: British Auxilary troops
- Zulu war: Zulu warriors
- Zulu war: Boers
- Second Boer War: British troops
- Second Boer War: Boers
- Troops of the Empire

Wars in the Colonial Empires

- Colonial Expansion
- The Indian Mutiny: British troops
- The Indian Mutiny: Rebel sepoys
- Egypt and Sudan: British troops
- Egypt and Sudan: Mahdi troops
- The Boxer Rebellion: Allied troops
- The Boxer Rebellion: Chinese forces
- The French in Mexico
- The Spanish-American war
- North American Indian wars
- Colonial troops

So you can see a lot of ground!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Was it really worth the wait?, 24 Mar 2010
By 
T. P. Lamont "Timblah" (South Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: An Illustrated Encyclopaedia of Military Uniforms of the 19th Century: A Stunning Expert Guide to the Uniforms of the Crimean War, the War of German ... Civil War, the Boer War and the Balkan Wars (Hardcover)
Never before have I been moved to write a review for a book....until now.
I originally ordered this book in late December-early January 2009. It wasn't until early 2010 that it finally became available. Amazon had it advertised as available in late January 2009...
(I received the book in the mail an hour ago, May 2010)
It's a very brief overview of the uniforms worn during some of the major engagements of the later half of the 19th century. A lot of the information can be found elsewhere and I was hoping to find new information on some of the less covered conflicts of that century, but it was not to be. There are some inaccuracies in the uniform details from some of the nations who are covered extensively elsewhere.
For example: The Tartan the Private in the 42nd Black Watch (page 230) isn't the tartan of the 42nd Black Watch. And the comment stating that they were the only Highland regiment to wear a red tunic, the others wearing white..... I have since discovered from the Authors that this is a missprint and will be rectified in the next print. As stated by one of the Autors, "Uniformology is not an exact science" unfortunately, so it seems, neither is editing.
A lot of the uniforms covered can be found in other books, however this book condenses a lot of that information into the one volume.
There are some examples of illustrations that seem to occur elsewhere in other books too in particular, the Russian Crimean War Army. A lot of the regiments covered and even the poses of the figures are the same as those found in the Osprey books.
I seem to recognise some of the figures similar to other inaccurate uniform books as well, such as the New South Wales Lancer with the GREEN Emu feathers very similar to the one in Rene North's Military Uniforms 1686-1918 (All-colour Paperbacks 1970)a notoriously inaccurate book.
There are 2 Crimean War Russian Soldiers depicted from the 33rd Regiment. An infantry soldier on one page and a drummer on another. One of them wears white webbing the other black. The drummer appears to be wearing the shoulder boards and helmet plate of the 32nd regiment however. This seems to be another missprint. The illustration of the Jager page 43 taking his belt off is also the same as the Jager from the Osprey book, unfortunately the description states they have a black cap band...and his is green!
The Turkish soldier from the Crimean War (page 56)is wearing a uniform that Turkey didn't actually adopt until much later in the century 1890's when they were being 'advised' by Germany. And the details of the Danish uniforms of the 2nd Schleswig Holstein War 1864 are actually correct for the first War of 1848 not the 1864 war. The comments on page 61 regarding the Jager uniform apply to that first war (they abolished the Jager Corps at the end of that war, they didn't exsist in 1864) and as for that red Artillery uniform, they were in blue tunics by that time.
There are many more examples and I could go on... However there are some good uniforms as well and, as stated to me by one of the Authors, it is intended as a 'foot in the door' to get people interested and started in this period.
In summary, a lot of the figures appear to be similar to those in other books on the subject. There are a lot of accurate uniforms in the book and I don't wish to detract from them.
Myself, as a uniform reference I would not use this book.
They do state in the Publisher's note, at the beginning, that they cannot accept any legal responsability or liability for any errors or omissions that may be made.
I'm keeping the book. I collect uniform books, accurate and inaccurate.
I'm not sure, however, that I will be in any hurry to purchase the other books in the series.
As a final, FINAL note, The Balkan Wars aren't even covered in this book, contrary to what is advertised. Amazon should take note of this as it is mentioned in more than one review and the Authors are finding they have to defend themselves on this point on numerous reviews.
I hope this review, and the others, spark further interesting and healthy discussion on a subject that has been largely ignored by military historians and uniformologists(appart from the American Civil War, Crimean War and Colonial Wars)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Illustrated Encyclopaedia of Military Uniforms of the 19th Century, 26 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Illustrated Encyclopaedia of Military Uniforms of the 19th Century: A Stunning Expert Guide to the Uniforms of the Crimean War, the War of German ... Civil War, the Boer War and the Balkan Wars (Hardcover)
I was really looking forward to receiving this - but I am seriously disappointed. Not least because of the mistakes in the titling of the illustrations but also on the quality of some of these.
There are also some serious typographical mistakes.
If you are interested in the American Civil War there is plenty to occupy yourself with. However, I had assumed that there would be more uniforms than are featured. Is it necessary to have so much text to the detriment of illustrations?
If you want a bit of a laugh have a look at the way some figures are wearing their headgear, especially on page 180, where the General Officer has a hat much too small for his head, as do the British infantry on the Crimean War pages.
Very much a book for kids rather that a serious military uniform buff.
Good for a 13 year-old, but not for such as me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars military uniforms of the 19th century, 9 Feb 2011
By 
mr A Morris (East Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: An Illustrated Encyclopaedia of Military Uniforms of the 19th Century: A Stunning Expert Guide to the Uniforms of the Crimean War, the War of German ... Civil War, the Boer War and the Balkan Wars (Hardcover)
A very well illustrated book which is well presented and written, the only problem was with a few of the unit descriptions indicating towards the wrong unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Superficial, badly researched and full of errors, 12 May 2010
By 
Amazon Customer (Stevenage, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Illustrated Encyclopaedia of Military Uniforms of the 19th Century: A Stunning Expert Guide to the Uniforms of the Crimean War, the War of German ... Civil War, the Boer War and the Balkan Wars (Hardcover)
To be honest my expectations were not high about this book. It covers 85 years of conflict in one book, so you can't expect more than a superficial coverage of any particular subject, and that is what you get. It's a coffee-table book with lots of lovely colour illustrations and very attractive to look at, but only good for the casual browser. If you are serious about learning details of armies and uniforms then avoid this book at all costs.

Brevity I can forgive, but this book is full of errors both in the text and the pictures. Many have already been pointed out by other reviewers and I won't bore you with others, although if you don't know that the Crimean War started in 1854, not 1844, then you have no business publishing any book on the subject in my view. Most of the illustrations are simply copied from other books, so if you already have a good library of such books then this brings nothing knew. Often the figures are officers but no ordinary soldiers, and often they are in parade uniform, when 99% of potential readers want to see actual campaign appearance. The reason is most are slavishly copied from other books and photos of reenactors, and some of these are merely repeating errors in those books. Clearly the Osprey Boxer Rebellion was been widely copied, which is a book notoriously full of errors, many of which have been repeated here. There has been no primary research and all this is is an unthinking anthology of other books with no attempt at checking accuracy.

And yes, if you promise the Balkan Wars on the cover then why are they completely missing inside? Sloppy and amateurish!

In short, its a lovely book and a good browse for anyone with no particular interest in the subject, but if you are serious about 19th century military history then you will soon discover you already know more about it than these authors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An exceptionally illustrated coffee table book, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Illustrated Encyclopaedia of Military Uniforms of the 19th Century: A Stunning Expert Guide to the Uniforms of the Crimean War, the War of German ... Civil War, the Boer War and the Balkan Wars (Hardcover)
No book covering such a long period of military history can hope to cover the subject in depth and this is no exception. As many reviewers have pointed out, it is a superficial introduction to these conflicts best suited to the general reader who has little knowledge of the wars and armies concerned. I was left with the thought that the authors, given their military background, had pooled their collective knowledge rather than research more deeply, but I may be being unfair in saying that. The volume would benefit from tightening up editing and proof reading. I was interested to read that the union 3 inch rifled cannon was especially prized by the confederates when they captured one, but this fact was repeated on the next page and again in text accompanying an illustration; not necessary when space is tight. Much of the text was given to lengthy descriptions of uniforms and their various nuances, but this could have been reduced with appropriate illustrations. For example why describe the yellow piping on the rear of a union cavalry shell jacket without it being shown - this is an illustrated work after all. The plate described as the guidon bearer of the 7th cavalry is surely a post civil war infantry officer and not the iconic soldier I was hoping to see. But not to be totally negative, where this book really comes into its own is the high quality of the illustrations. A team of artists is credited with the plates; all are excellent but some, with highly realistic facial features, are truly exceptional, whether they are completely accurate or not. If you want a weighty, scholarly tome this isn't for you. If you want to relax with a nice glass of wine and enjoy soaking up the sumptuous illustrations you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Lost opportunity, 5 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Illustrated Encyclopaedia of Military Uniforms of the 19th Century: A Stunning Expert Guide to the Uniforms of the Crimean War, the War of German ... Civil War, the Boer War and the Balkan Wars (Hardcover)
This book should have been much better. A considerable amount of effort has gone into production with many new illustrations produced. The book is spoilt by numerous errors both in labelling illustrations and in the illustrations themselves. For example the russian hussars depicted do not match the knotel colours listed for 1840 which they are supposed to match. The American plains war cavalry ensign is obviously an American infantry sergeant! There are many other simple errors which detract from what could have been a very good reference. When you find such simple errors it does tend to make you question how much you can trust any of the document.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Informative and well illustrated., 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Illustrated Encyclopaedia of Military Uniforms of the 19th Century: A Stunning Expert Guide to the Uniforms of the Crimean War, the War of German ... Civil War, the Boer War and the Balkan Wars (Hardcover)
As with the other books in this series, it's an excellent reference volume with well drawn illustrations and excellent, easy to understand text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book Review, 22 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Illustrated Encyclopaedia of Military Uniforms of the 19th Century: A Stunning Expert Guide to the Uniforms of the Crimean War, the War of German ... Civil War, the Boer War and the Balkan Wars (Hardcover)
This is a fantastic book and a must have for the military enthusiast as well as anyone interested in military modelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's a valuable book., 4 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Illustrated Encyclopaedia of Military Uniforms of the 19th Century: A Stunning Expert Guide to the Uniforms of the Crimean War, the War of German ... Civil War, the Boer War and the Balkan Wars (Hardcover)
Thank you very much. :)
I'm pleased, it is a really interesting book.
I recommend it everybody, worth to buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews