Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wish I'd read it earlier!!!
This is a great book for any practice-based researcher. I'm in the closing stages of a PhD and I really wish I'd read this at the beginning of my research project. The content is comprehensive yet the language is simple. There are numerous examples drawn from already completed practice-based doctoral research. In particular, I found the analogy of a PhD being like an...
Published on 4 Aug. 2009 by A. McDonald

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good content, shame about the writing and the design
I was recommended to read this book. The content is good, if only someone had helped the authors to write it better. I found it patronising and turgid in style.
However, the worst thing about it is the text design, after the okay cover, the text design is a crime against publishing. For a book that is intended for designers and artists (i.e. people with a good degree...
Published 18 months ago by Andrew Barker


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wish I'd read it earlier!!!, 4 Aug. 2009
By 
A. McDonald (Glasgow, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vizualizing Research: A Guide to the Research Process in Art and Design (Hardcover)
This is a great book for any practice-based researcher. I'm in the closing stages of a PhD and I really wish I'd read this at the beginning of my research project. The content is comprehensive yet the language is simple. There are numerous examples drawn from already completed practice-based doctoral research. In particular, I found the analogy of a PhD being like an expedition (eg: maps, terrain, rivers, etc) to be very useful. I would certainly recommend this to anybody who is undertaking practice-based research in creative disciplines (especially those in the early stages).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for creative arts researchers, 21 April 2010
By 
This review is from: Vizualizing Research: A Guide to the Research Process in Art and Design (Hardcover)
When I first started my PhD research, I was at a complete loss when it came to articulating and structuring my arts-based research into a format that others would accept. That my research was interdisciplinary (between animation practice and psychology) further compounded my frustration, as I was getting a lot of help on how to conduct and write up scientific research (something I had never done before) but nobody was quite sure how I could take what I did know (digital animation) and use that to construct an appropriate arts-based methodology.

This book was effectively my third PhD supervisor for the first year of my project. Even today I still drop in and out of this book for help. In the last year or two a lot of visual art research books have emerged, which is great for our area of research - but this to me is where creative arts researchers ought to begin. My copy is getting quite worn now, as I've instructed my final year students to read it on a time-share basis as they begin to write up their dissertations!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good content, shame about the writing and the design, 6 Sept. 2013
By 
Andrew Barker - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vizualizing Research: A Guide to the Research Process in Art and Design (Hardcover)
I was recommended to read this book. The content is good, if only someone had helped the authors to write it better. I found it patronising and turgid in style.
However, the worst thing about it is the text design, after the okay cover, the text design is a crime against publishing. For a book that is intended for designers and artists (i.e. people with a good degree of visual intelligence) the typography is truly hideous. Even more than the poor writing style this makes it unreadable. Shame really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good content, 11 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vizualizing Research: A Guide to the Research Process in Art and Design (Hardcover)
Good content, rich and well written. Unfortunately the design is poor and does not benefit the reading and retention at all.
A book on visual research should not be so bad as a visual experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vizualizing Research: A Guide to the Research Process in Art and Design (Hardcover)
One of the most concise books in this field of art and design research...written without complex jargon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 27 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vizualizing Research: A Guide to the Research Process in Art and Design (Hardcover)
Interesting and logical
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Vizualizing Research: A Guide to the Research Process in Art and Design
£35.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews