Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hacking 101
This is my first John Sandford book, and even though it is the fourth installment of the Kidd series, it can be read as a separate novel, and I was able to follow along without any trouble.
These are the adventures of Kidd, a computer genius/super hacker/criminal mastermind who happens to paint as a sideline, and his on and off girlfriend LuEllen, a cat burglar. I...
Published on 10 Aug. 2005 by Amanda Richards

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Book - No Kidding
Kidd is a computer hacker who has become part of a network of people who work outside the law. At the centre of this group is a man called Bobby who has just been found beaten to death. If this is not bad enough it seems that the killer has stolen Bobby's laptop, a devise crammed with state secrets. Kidd must join with his pals to not only catch a killer, but save...
Published on 3 July 2008 by Sam Tyler


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hacking 101, 10 Aug. 2005
By 
Amanda Richards "Hotpurplekoolaid" (ECD, Guyana) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This is my first John Sandford book, and even though it is the fourth installment of the Kidd series, it can be read as a separate novel, and I was able to follow along without any trouble.
These are the adventures of Kidd, a computer genius/super hacker/criminal mastermind who happens to paint as a sideline, and his on and off girlfriend LuEllen, a cat burglar. I have no idea if the computer stuff is accurate, and if it is, it's certainly scary that people can track you with every step you make, but it makes for good reading anyway.
The murder of a secretive uber-hacker named Bobby causes a lot of problems for Kidd and co, and it becomes a matter of life and death for them to retrieve Bobby's laptop, which contains enough dirt to bring down many major politicians, as well as Kidd, LuEllen and many more in the network.
Fast paced, vividly detailed and extremely plausible, at least to non-techies, it makes for a quick and thoroughly entertaining read.
Amanda Richards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good Book - No Kidding, 3 July 2008
By 
Kidd is a computer hacker who has become part of a network of people who work outside the law. At the centre of this group is a man called Bobby who has just been found beaten to death. If this is not bad enough it seems that the killer has stolen Bobby's laptop, a devise crammed with state secrets. Kidd must join with his pals to not only catch a killer, but save their network.

Being a huge fan of John Sandford's other hero Lucas Davenport I felt it was time to try a Kidd novel. Although this is the 4th instalment I was able to pick up the thread easily. Kidd is similar to Davenport in many ways - edgy, charismatic, and intelligent. In fact it could be a Davenport novel apart from the writing structure. This novel follows Kidd throughout, rather than in Davenport novels that parallel the killer and Davenport's point of views. I think for this reason the book does not shine as much as the rest of Sandford's work as you never understand why the bad guy is as messed up as he is - a shame.

Overall it is still a good action thriller with enough thrills and spills to keep fans happy. I advise people to start the Davenport books first to get the best that Sandford has to offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Glimpse of the Future, or is the Future Here Today?, 28 Dec. 2007
By 
Island Dreamer (Lahaina, Maui, Hawaii) - See all my reviews
Kidd is a computer hacker par excellence who is also into painting. He hacks information and sells it to the highest bidder. Kidd's friend and sidekick LuEllen is a cat burglar who is usually involved in Kidd's shady schemes. When they learn their friend Bobby, a super hacker, has been hacked to death and his hard drive stolen, they are determined to find Bobby's killer. For two reasons, Bobby was their friend and there could be damning evidence against Kidd on that drive. While trying to catch the Killer, Kidd and LuEllen uncover a secret government organization, not a lot unlike what we have going on in Washington now that is apparently legal, that is illegally monitoring U.S. Citizens in the name of national security. It appears the info on Bobby's hard drive is also damning to some high level government types and it also appears that once again Mr. Sandford has written a super thriller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kidd on the run., 5 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The lynch pin of the hackers has been murdered and his files gone missing. Kidd and his cronies have to work fast to find the killer and the files before the law finds the files and comes after them. This game of cat and mouse is an exciting and fascinating read. Helps if you've read all the Kidd series but it isn't essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 1 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good value. Good story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Book I Have Ever Read, 10 Oct. 2007
By 
This is easily the best book i have ever read. Follow the adventures of Kidd and LuEllen track down the killer(s) of Bobby, the worlds best computer hacker. Not to hard to read, but make note this is the last book in the series (dont make the same mistake i did!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hanged Man's Song
The Hanged Man's Song by John Sandford (Hardcover - Jun. 2004)
Used & New from: £24.21
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews