Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book that is both funny and deep. Highly recommended.
THE WISH LIST
Eoin Colfer's latest children's book, 'The Wish List', is one of the most unusual you will find. It manages to combine a deep and spiritual storyline with the funniest, most down-to-earth humour imaginable, and also has warm, sympathetic characters, who spring to life (or indeed afterlife!) from the page. The protagonist of the book is Meg Finn, aged...
Published on 6 Mar 2001

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Swift and Sweet
The Wish List, a story involving the classic battle of heaven and hell but with a distinct modern flavour. It's one of the most easiest reads around and one that you can pick up and finish in an evening. There are some cracking lines in there with a particularly comic view of 'Hell's number one'.
Meg Flynn, a moody teenage girl who after a burglary gone wrong, finds...
Published on 19 Jan 2003 by Mivi HARRIS


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book that is both funny and deep. Highly recommended., 6 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Wish List (Paperback)
THE WISH LIST
Eoin Colfer's latest children's book, 'The Wish List', is one of the most unusual you will find. It manages to combine a deep and spiritual storyline with the funniest, most down-to-earth humour imaginable, and also has warm, sympathetic characters, who spring to life (or indeed afterlife!) from the page. The protagonist of the book is Meg Finn, aged fourteen,"bold but not bad". Her mother's death, her odious stepfather and a rough neighbourhood have all left their mark on her, the end result being that she is trapped into taking part in a burglary. However, the "job" does not go as planned; so much so, in fact, that by the end of chapter one both Meg and the leader of the break-in, Belch, are in the direst straits imaginable. Meg discovers that the keeper of the Pearly Gates is not as easy to con as the juvenile court. Fit for neither heaven nor hell, her aura an indefinite purple instead of the blue of the virtuous or the red of the wicked, she has no choice but to try to find a way to tip the scales in heaven's favour. The way involves Lowrie McCall, owner of the house she had tried to burgle, and the Wish List may be a solution for both. Unfortunately, they have reckoned without the evil, cunning and obstinacy of the Devil and his sidekick Beelzebub, for Meg's soul is of especial interest to Satan. His instrument: her ex fellow-criminal, Belch Brennan. Can all Meg's smartness defeat the immense powers of evil pitted against her? The story races along. Almost everything it touches, from the security guards at the national television station to St. Peter's mobile phone, is treated with the same dry humour, yet I never once found the scenario itself ridiculous. The earthly issues, as well as the unearthly ones, are of importance and relevance, in particular the way in which bad society and difficult family life can drag down a basically good person. Meg Finn is likeable as she is presented to us - we see her thoughts and her true feelings - yet it is fair to say that not many of us would feel any such empathy if we heard simply the bald facts of the break-in. This, for me, was a huge theme in the book: we should not judge someone until we know of the events and people who may have influenced them. Another issue raised in the book is the loneliness that can be experienced by old people, as evidenced in the life of Lowrie McCall. One character only, whom we do not meet in person, is never flippantly treated. Meg's dead mother is always tenderly spoken of, as though her love was the one blessing that Meg experienced in life. Whatever Meg's expressed longings, is what she really craves for to see her mother again? I cannot fault this book. Moving yet funny, intense yet easy to read, I would strongly recommend it for age 11 +. It will encourage tolerance, provoke shrieks of laughter, and - who knows - perhaps it may help prepare you for an unexpected hereafter!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heaven vs. Hell, Who Will Win?, 7 Sep 2003
This review is from: The Wish List (Paperback)
I first picked up this book when I noticed it was by one of my favourite Authors, Eoin Colfer. After flicking through the first few pages I became interested and purchased my own copy.
This book has followed in the footsteps of the great Artemis Fowl and entranced me. This book is Eoin Colfer on top form and will have your sides splitting from laughter.
The book follows the story of Meg Finn, a 14 year old Girl. After trying to save an old man whom she was robbing, she gets blown to bits along with her partner in crime and they are both sent up the long tunnel into the next life. However there is no next life for Meg yet seeing has her points are equal, so she cannot go to Heaven or Hell but has to go back and help the old man she was trying to rob.
You will have to read the book for yourself to find out whether she gets into Heaven or fails and falls to Hell. However, Eoin Colfer gives us his take on what Heaven and Hell are like in the 20th century and how they have changed from the Bible version.
This book has a gripping storyline, (I couldn't put it down)and is a hilarious read for the entire family. It is certainly living up to it predecessor and would give Harry Potter a run for it's money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love a great ghost story, 12 Dec 2006
This review is from: The Wish List (Paperback)
The short and scary type are great too, but this is more about healing relationships and considering what you have done with your life, or more to the point, what you didn't do. Our ghost travels to hell and back and decides she doesn't like the decor one bit. The only way past Peter and the Pearly Gates is to help the victim of her bungled robbery. A stroppy, teenager and a grumpy old man are thrown together in a symbiotic relationship. Remember the saying 'you need to walk a mile in someone elses shoes before you can understand them' well these characters literally do just that as one of our ghost's skills is the possession of grumpy old men and of course armchairs. Colfer gets my award for promoting understanding between teens and gramps, reminding the young that they will get old one day and reminding the old that they were young once too! I loved the characters of Beelzebub and Peter and the idea of a hell populated by computer boffs. Colfer uses humour to entertain and offset the more serious message of the book. An often taboo subject - death - is dealt with in a matter of fact 'deadpan' way (sorry). I'd recommend this book to discerning readers of 11 and up (my neighbour just nicked my copy). An emotional gem packed with life lessons, remember you cant take your worldly goods with you when you go, but you can take regrets - very thought provoking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The wish list, 14 Jan 2005
This review is from: The Wish List (Paperback)
I discovered this book after reading the Artimis fowl series. It's one of Colfers earlier titles, with a fast paced storyline, makeing the book hard to put down.
It's a story about good and evil, Heaven and hell. The main character (Meg) has to redeem herself after her death to secure her place in heaven and is sent back to help an old man complete his wish list of 3 tasks. An amusing thought provoking and often sad read, it's a must for any fan of Colfer. The only criticism of this book is that its a bit short, but would be a good changeling read for a younger child.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars even better than Artemis Fowl, 11 Jan 2003
By 
A. Craig "Amanda Craig" (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Wish List (Hardcover)
I am a slightly reluctant convert to Artemis Fowl, partly because of the massive hype it has had, and partly because it's just a bit too slick. However The Wish List is a terrific book. Two teenagers break into an old man's flat, and one of them, Belch, wounds him. The other, Meg, has a spark of goodness still left in her and it's this that saves her from going to Hell when Belch causes them both the die. For Meg's aura is mingled, and although Beelzebub himself wants her for her evil cunning, she might win through to Heaven if she can go back to Earth and redeem herself by helping the old man she nearly killed.
The quality of imagination, the jokes and the fun could only have come from an Irish Catholic, but the appeal of the story is universal. Meg's grudging affection for the old man, and his relationship with her cause her unhappy past to unfold before the reader, and the final struggle between good and evil sends shivers up your spine. My 9 year old loved it as much as I did, and the last sentence made us both get out the Kleenex. One parfticularly enjoyable aspect is the fun Colfer has with technology - all the computer programmers go to Hell, and St. Peter and his opposite number have secret telephone calls. Thoroughly recommended as one of the funniest, most exciting and original children's novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You'll WISH you'd read it sooner!, 2 Dec 2003
This review is from: The Wish List (Hardcover)
The Wish List is an easy, yet highly satisfying read. Devilishly(!) funny at times and with a touching storyline too. It's great that you really feel for the main character almost straight away even though she's aiding in the robbery of an old age pensioner! You know she has underlying issues and you want to find out what they are, and you do really care about whether she makes it to heaven or not, and you'll have a great time finding out and may even shed a tear. Thats clever storytelling.
There's some smart (sometimes controversial!!) jokes to discover and laugh at and the usual smart gadgets, (like in Artemis fowl) mobile phones between heaven and hell spring to mind!!! It's just a top book. Artemis fowl fans will love it, and so will anyone else for that matter... fast paced, laugh out loud reading. Awesome for kids AND adults!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hidden Gem, 5 May 2003
By 
C. DeMario "crystalg75" (Drexel Hill,PA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Wish List (Hardcover)
Eoin Colfer may be best known for his "Artemis Fowl" series, but I myself will highly recommend this book as well. Its a delightful romp between Heaven & Hell and all points in between. The protagonist is Meg Finn, a young woman who has found herself in the company of Belch, himself a seasoned juvenile delinquent. What was to have been an easy job, break into an old pensioners flat to find some money, ends up being the last job for both of them, alive that is. Belch has no redeemable qualities and is sent straight to hell where he finds himself with starlets, computer programmers and good ole Beelzebub himself. Meg is not such an easy person to figure out. Equal parts good and bad, she has one last chance to redeem herself--and ironically enough it is with the old pensioner she set out to rob. I genuinely enjoyed the skewed humor, and watching Meg develop a mutually inclusive fondness for the man she is trying to help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking, 25 Mar 2005
This review is from: The Wish List (Paperback)
It was a bit of slow going at first, but eventually I really got into the story. It made me realise how precious life is and if we're afraid to fulfil our Wish List before we die, we'll sorely regret it.
Meg Finn made me realise that even if you've led a wasteful or evil life, there is always a second chance and second chances to make amends or fulfil your dreams should never be wasted.
A lovely quick read that'll leave a smile on your face.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Swift and Sweet, 19 Jan 2003
This review is from: The Wish List (Paperback)
The Wish List, a story involving the classic battle of heaven and hell but with a distinct modern flavour. It's one of the most easiest reads around and one that you can pick up and finish in an evening. There are some cracking lines in there with a particularly comic view of 'Hell's number one'.
Meg Flynn, a moody teenage girl who after a burglary gone wrong, finds herself dead and in a tug of war between good and evil. She finds herself chasing trout faced Lowrie, an elderly self-pitying man who, well, I'll leave it for you to find out.
It is definately a childrens book in style but if an adult felt like an evening of light humour and easy on the brain fantasy - this is surely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Move Over Artemis Fowl, 18 Nov 2002
By 
Sandra Ball (Kill Devil Hills, NC USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Wish List (Hardcover)
This is a great quick read with an endearing message. The pace is excellent. The subtle and not so subtle references are hilarious. Good versus evil match wits in this wonderful page turner. Colfer really knows how to write. He packs a lot of thought and meaning into short, snappy phrases. Deeper insight than in the Artemis Fowl books, which incidentally I really enjoyed, but at a light, easy to comprehend level. Adults as well as kids will have fun with this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Wish List
The Wish List by Eoin Colfer (Audio CD - 30 May 2003)
Used & New from: £2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews