Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 May 2015
This book is not up to much, even if you are just looking for a quick, mindless read. There is no depth to it, no character development, tons of laughable dialogue and many instances of the characters acting incredibly stupidly and out of character and jumping through contrived plot hoops simply in order to further the plot. For example, we are told that Dillon, Ferguson, and Blake are the elite, the best-of-the-best, the ultimate professionals and yet on several occasions when they corner the main villain, instead of taking him down, handcuffing him, bag over the head etc (as professionals would), they engage in James-Bond-baddie-style grandstanding and badinage, even stopping to drink some wine and have a smoke!!! On another occasion - on a barge - Ferguson approaches without his gun drawn, gives away the element of surprise with a " What ho, old bean" style inanity and is then surprised to get shot. All of which, of course, allow the villain to turn the tables and escape (on two such occasions, through the same secret passage next to a fireplace in the library - a sad cliche in itself - but to use it twice as a plot device is lazy and disrespectful to the reader!!)

All in all, this is tired, hackneyed writing and really not to be recommended. Jack Higgins may be called "The Legend"but these plot hoops he creates and then forces his characters through are just weak and amateurish. Best avoid this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2002
This book is brilliant. it has you hooked from beginning to end. Dillon is back but has he met his match this time? Someone is killing of the members of a terrorist group and it is up to Dillon to find out whos doing it. He gets help from his friend Blake, but someone is leaking information to the enemy. Someone who knows a lot. someon close to the President
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2013
I really like Jack Higgins and his character Sean Dillon, but this was a slow burner, and although Sean was in it, it took a while for his character to really get into the story. But saying that it was still a good read, not great but good.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2012
Jack Higgins brings to life yet again the wonderful character of Sean Dillon. In this book, he was more thoughtful, caring and considerate, something that Sean Dillon has been lacking. Jack Higgins as per the norm keeps me gripped from start to finish, which at times causes lack of sleep, but the end must be reached. So what if he used same methods of person entering a room, it happens in real life, and this is just fiction.

Long may you reign in the world of thrillers Mr Higgins.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2012
Rather disappointed. Bought "The White House Connection" thinking it was a new title by Jack Higgins. When I opened it I found it was first published in 1999! Probably a senior moment on my part but I do not recollect seeing that this was a reissue on the Amazon information before I purchased. I WILL make doubly sure of what I'm buying in future and would advise others to do do likewise.... ;-((
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2014
The novels by this author is a must read I do so love the series with Sean Dillon as the hero I find them so enjoyable that once i've started to read these books I find it had to put them down and if you like these sort of story lines like I do then it's the book for you. I would highly recommend them. Great story lines. Great read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2014
The first Sean Dillon book was very good, as were the next couple. However, Higgins has now got lazy and he's turning the handle, quite unimaginatively in a very formulaic way. If they carry on like this, you'll be able to cut and paste 75% of a future story from the previous ones.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2013
This book was another fast action thriller by Jack Higgins which has many twists and turns as the villians outwit their opponents until the very end when they are defeated. An excellent book to read and one which kept my attention from beginning to end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2013
....in a Reader's Digest compilation, and was gripped by the plot - and finally savoured the full unabridged version with even more pleasure. One of his best, and definitely one to keep!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2013
Once again, another masterpiece from the author, Jack Higgins. You will be gripped from first to last page. Very little to be said but just read an enjoy another great Higgins novel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.