Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous!
Nominated for the American Edgar Award for Best Crime novel of the year in 1980, this is one of Rendell's marvels.
Less harsh, gritty, than some of her other novels, it is detailed, has a wonderful restrained violence, and psychologically brilliant. With a trademark shock at the end!
Make Death Love Me is a very very fine novel indeed - I reccomend it to all
Published on 14 Mar. 2004 by Tiresias

versus
11 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not among her best, but nor among her worst either
I would describe this book as an avarage Ruth Rendell novel. Having read most of her non-Wexford novels, I think the ones she wrote from the mid-seventies and onwards are worth reading and she gets only better with time.
The theme of this book is a bit similar to 'One Across, Two Down' in that the protagonist tries to escape a life of tedious routine with a family he...
Published on 25 April 2001


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous!, 14 Mar. 2004
By 
Tiresias (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Make Death Love Me (Paperback)
Nominated for the American Edgar Award for Best Crime novel of the year in 1980, this is one of Rendell's marvels.
Less harsh, gritty, than some of her other novels, it is detailed, has a wonderful restrained violence, and psychologically brilliant. With a trademark shock at the end!
Make Death Love Me is a very very fine novel indeed - I reccomend it to all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great reading!, 20 Dec. 2012
By 
A. R. Hughes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wonderful work by Ruth Rendell, as always!!
A superb work which, as always, keeps you gripped from beginning to end!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantasey goes wrong, 11 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Make Death Love Me (Paperback)
i have choose 5 stars because i could not put this book down, it had me glued from start to finish.

i recommend this book to anyone who is sick of their daily routine and feels like a change
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Make death love me, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ruth Rendell always excellent reading this is no exception excellent. Little twist at the end.well worth your time happy reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not among her best, but nor among her worst either, 25 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Make Death Love Me (Paperback)
I would describe this book as an avarage Ruth Rendell novel. Having read most of her non-Wexford novels, I think the ones she wrote from the mid-seventies and onwards are worth reading and she gets only better with time.
The theme of this book is a bit similar to 'One Across, Two Down' in that the protagonist tries to escape a life of tedious routine with a family he doesn't like. The protagonist's grumpy old father-in-law who thinks an army take-over of the country and reintroduction of capital punishment (preferably with a pole-axe) will solve the nations problems, is quite a laugh.
I won't comment on the plot because I think that will spoil the book, but I can say that, as in many (if not most) of her books, there are two stories running in paralell and converging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 16 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Make Death Love Me (Paperback)
A good read as usual from an excellent author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Make Death Love Me: Complete & Unabridged (An Inspector Wexford Mystery)
Used & New from: £24.96
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews