Customer Reviews


83 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 47 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Fabulous Adventure Story
Carlos Ruiz Zafon's adult novels; The Shadow of the Wind and The Angel's Game are two of my all-time favourite books. I was a little disappointed by his last Young Adult novel that was published here; The Prince of The Mist, so I tried not to expect too much of The Midnight Palace.
Happily, I was not disappointed by this read at all. Set in Calcutta in the early...
Published on 7 May 2011 by Lincs Reader

versus
23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for me, I'm afraid
Like so many others, I've loved Carlos Ruiz Zafon's adult books - Shadow of the Wind and Angel's Game would be in my all-time top ten. Prince of the Mist? Different target audience, but I liked it. But this one wasn't to my taste at all. As always, it's well written, well translated, atmospheric with strong characterisation - but the tale of magic, evil and mayhem with...
Published on 14 May 2011 by Welsh Annie


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars hard going, 2 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Midnight Palace (Paperback)
Have read all of his books but found this one not as exiting wish he would come out with more he writes beautifully
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Adult Reader, 6 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this book. I feel sure that my grand children will too as I will be introducing it to them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Midnight Palace (Paperback)
Magic and great book, I would recommend to everybody, very easy to read and original in its story. worth it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars It's a book for teens, 24 April 2013
Not at all what I expected. It's a kid's fantasy tale, not my thing at all... I'm slightly disappointed. :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another outstanding book from Zafon, 6 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As ever with this author it is very hard to put the book down once you have started simply excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Midnight Palace (Paperback)
I like all the Carlos Ruiz Zafon books and this one is no exception.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love Carlos Ruiz Zafron's works, and this book didn't disappoint
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 12 Oct. 2014
By 
R. March "charmer" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This writer excels again with this novel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Midnight Palace, 3 May 2011
By 
TheRedBlueBlur (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Carlos Ruiz Zafon weaves a story full of intense visual imagery in this period tale of suspense and drama, but it is not a book for young children.

The fact that there is a review from a 12yr old on the back of the book could be very misleading. Waterstone's reviewer says it has "the force of Stephen King" and another reviewer ends their review with "SCARY!". So you may want to think twice before letting one of your kids read it before bedtime, or at any time in fact!

This is a cleverly written work full of 1930's atmosphere and if you like ghost stories then you may well like this one, but it really should be marketed in the older teen or adult market as many of the themes of this book are unsuitable for anyone younger.

Well written but too spooky for me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Midnight Palace (Paperback)
Lived up to all expectations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Midnight Palace
The Midnight Palace by Carlos Ruiz Zafon (Paperback - 26 April 2012)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews