Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superior spy fiction
Loyal followers of Alan Furst's closely observed and highly atmospheric novels of spies and politics in Europe just before and during WWII will recognise one familiar (Hungarian) character in "Mission to Paris" (originally slated as "The Spies of Paris"), but new readers should not despair if they don't. It simply means they face the delicious prospect of discovering...
Published on 18 Jun 2012 by M. D. Ripley

versus
16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Furst's best
The story is set in Paris in late 1938. Hitler has appropriated Czechoslovakia and there are fears that he will invade Poland. The French are split between those who feel that he must be stopped and those who want to appease him if it will avoid France being drawn into another war for which it is ill prepared. An Austrian born, American movie star by the name of...
Published on 9 July 2012 by Julia Flyte


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Menacing..., 9 Oct 2012
By 
Boot-Boy (Gloucestershire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mission to Paris (Hardcover)
Another delicious treat from Alan Furst that kept me turning the pages with increasing urgency into the wee small hours. This is the ninth Furst novel I've read (what a delight to know I still haven't worked my way through his entire backlist), and if it wasn't quite the tour de force I was hoping for, it came very, very close. With Europe on the brink of war - Furst's favourite stamping ground - Hollywood actor Frederic Stahl arrives in Paris to make a film only to find himself drawn into the murky, menacing world of Nazi propaganda, espionage, and supremacist war-mongering. What lifts Furst above genre rivals like Le Carré and Kerr is his snapshot, newsreel style - not a word wasted - his gloriously imagined cast of characters, and the brilliantly evoked noir atmosphere of Paris and Berlin. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tied?, 27 Aug 2012
By 
Br Bird "BR Bird" (Nottingham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mission to Paris (Hardcover)
Although I found this an enjoyable late Summer bank holiday read, I have to say I found it some what light compared to his previous
books. Is he perhaps becoming tied? Maby the next one should be based in England befor D-Day, or in Berlin 45/46, see if he can match Joseph Kanon's excellent 'The Good American'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars excellent author to keep in your kindle, 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mission to Paris (Kindle Edition)
having read a few of Alan Furst's novels I enjoy his style and sense of place. Small details about ordinary lives in extraordinary times lift the relatively simple stories to an enjoyable and satisfying read.

Perhaps I have become too familiar by reading three novels by Furst one after the other so I am going to take a break and read the rest at intervals - otherwise I feel the similarities get in the way of full enjoyment of this skilled writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hope the next book is better than this one, 12 Sep 2012
By 
Edwardo (Bedford, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mission to Paris (Kindle Edition)
I think that I have read all of the Alan Furst novels and I have enthusiastically recommended him to several friends and relations. My brother recently asked me which book would be the best one to start with but I didn't recommend this one. It's a good read and I enjoyed it but I feel it is a pale shadow of some of Furst's earlier work. Like another reviewer has mentioned, it has the definite feel of a 'one book a year' about it and indeed this book had it's release date published well in advance the previous year.

The opening chapters are very reminiscent of 'The World At Night' which is also about the French film industry. Both books have over long irrelevant descriptions of film plots and I speed read through all of this to get to the main story. The hero, Eric Stahl, is basically the same character from previous books and Alan Furst needs to attend to this. The Nazis are portrayed as bumbling fools who in reality would probably have eliminated Stahl as soon as he stepped out of line. As always, there is a fast tracked happy ending which definitely had a feeling of 'got to get this to the publisher'

Another book like this and Alan Furst will begin to lose his credibility

Disappointing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Tour of Late 1930s Paris with Cinema and Nazi Overtones, 7 Sep 2012
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Mission to Paris (Hardcover)
"For we are in danger of being called in question for today's uproar, there being no reason which we may give to account for this disorderly gathering." -- Acts 19:40 (NKJV)

Mission to Paris probably would be better named "Making a Movie in Paris." Although there's certainly an espionage story here, it exists in the context of making a movie. As movie-making books go, this one is on the light side. But the topic itself is pleasant so you'll probably enjoy that aspect of the story. Those who like deep espionage stories with constant danger may feel that this story is just so much fluff. Well, a lot of so-called espionage just before World War II was a bit like this ... amateurs being pressed into duty by opportunity and circumstances.

But for what it is, the book is perfectly okay. Most people who have read earlier Alan Furst books may be disappointed. Mission to Paris is like taking tea at the Ritz compared to say Dark Voyage.

To me, the most interesting part of the book came in its excellent depiction how the Nazi leaders often competed with one another to make a good impression on Hitler, often sending out goofy people to do silly things.

For those who love Paris, Furst is at his best in capturing the atmosphere and details of the City of Light, just before its lights were dimmed by German occupation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
This review is from: Mission to Paris (Paperback)
Excellent condition and price ,can't wait to read this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nazi Political Warfare in 1938 Similar to Today's, 7 Feb 2014
By 
G. D. Chance (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mission to Paris (Kindle Edition)
Poltical Warfare in 1938 Paris identical with today's in the West. He describes the elements for acquiescence by subterfuge that everyone should read to refresh a sound grounding to be alert against deception the fascists created. Also, the kind of bully campaign described against a government minister exists today in the West against anyone not liked trying to achieve the same results. Pay close attention to the definition of treason. I highly recommend this as a must read to avoid the devastation of this kind of manipulation which is recurring today in the West.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars High priest of noir espionage does it again., 23 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mission to Paris (Paperback)
God, I love Alan Furst's books! This one is just as good as the others and there's no more to say if you're already a fan. If you aren't yet, think 'Casablanca' blended with Philip Marlowe and placed alongside those tasty French black and white movies where a look says it all. Furst's master stroke is his stylistic restraint - that and his faultless research into the impossibly sexy Europe of 1936-1942. And his sardonic wit, of course. And his clear understanding of what normally decent people might do under intolerable pressure. And ... oh, just read it and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars smoothly written, 6 Nov 2013
By 
S. O. Butler (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mission to Paris (Paperback)
One of those stories that keeps one reading, because the next page will hold even more events on the great path of this adventure through Paris and a cliff hanging period of history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Full of action and intrigue.Top spy author., 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mission to Paris (Kindle Edition)
Have read all his books in sequence.Just love the era and the characters.Can't wait for the next novel !!! Highly recommened
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mission to Paris
Mission to Paris by Alan Furst (Paperback - 7 Mar 2013)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews