Customer Reviews


283 Reviews
5 star:
 (203)
4 star:
 (55)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There'll Never Be Another
Warm, funny, shocking, honest. It's like the red button version of the radio show. To the dolts who sacked him from BBC London, read it and weep. Dan, it turns out we never knew you...but we know you better now. Here's hoping that the freeing up of some time means we get Part II (and III) as soon as you like.
Understand there's also to be an audio version.. Attack...
Published 21 months ago by P. Bryer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars a nice but not gripping read
I kept putting it down and picking it up over a period of 2 years....so wasn't exactly gripped. I will of course read the next instalment when it arrives because I love Danny's radio show on 5 live and his cheery attitude to all that life throws at him.
Published 1 month ago by Mrs. Clair Atkinson


‹ Previous | 1 2 329 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great dough always rises, 30 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A unique personality who has been through it all, no silver spoon in his mouth and I can identify with him on many levels being born in the same era. Great read Mr Baker and what a survivor (pulls no punches).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rather annoying book, 28 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is great fun, full of juicy anecdotes and hilarious stories. It isn't, nor does it profess to be, soul baring or confessional, nor does it need to be. Danny Baker is a gifted writer with an easy sense of pace and rhythm, and a confident ability to wander off down little tangents without damaging the flow. And he has led a life plenty interesting enough to spare us intimate revelations.

I believe he is also quite prolific. I certainly hope so because this is an annoying book. It ends too soon, there is much more juicy stuff just waiting in the wings. I don't suppose there was any point he could have paused the story without leaving us wanting more.

So come on, Danny. Hurry up. We know you're a quick writer, it feels like there's another couple of books worth to come, maybe more. Don't hang about. I want you to tell all the stories I already know, and the ones I don't too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Candylicious, 27 Nov 2012
By 
D. Halsey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Danny Baker, the man is separated from the myth. He may or not be the killer of musical legends, the brother of musical footnotes, the lover of pop mega stars.
Like the man himself, frank, honest and funny. Danny remains the bloke you should most want a pint with and after reading this just the one could never be enough.
This is no celebrity autobiography, well Danny Baker is no celebrity, he is far more than all those two bob wannabes put together.
Easy to read, hard to put down, a great book. The drinking mans Stephen Fry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny And Well Written, 21 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I must admit to being a huge Danny Baker fan , so i was keen to get his autobiography when i came out , now i used to listen to him everyday when he was on BBC London , he used to share some of these stories , but in this book he goes into much more detail , of course he shares many more stories too, this book is very well written and is very funny definitely one of the funniest books ive read all year , id throughly recommend it especially if you like Mr Bakers work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ahoy Hoy Danny, 19 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I admit straight away to being a fan so have waited for this first instalment of the Candymans autobiography for sometime, it didn't disappoint. The references to Bermondsey and Millwall sent me back to the area, language and phrases reminded me so much of my own Dad and brought a smile.
What comes over is what an absolute ride of a lifetime Danny has had and it's great to see how things work out when there's no plan.
I read most of the book on a sunny beach holiday and laughed out loud many times, happy memories(Conrans - "We don't want a receipt!")

Best wishes Danny and don't make us wait too long for "Going off Alarming"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff, now waiting for volume two, 6 Nov 2012
By 
Peter Ibbotson (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyed this greatly. If you know a Danny Baker fan then this is a great book for Christmas.

If Dannys presentation style annoys you on radio (I understand that for some folks he's a bit of a turnoff) DON'T buy this book, Dannys writing style will probably annnoy as well.

Praise: Like his radio show, full of great stories and a generally "happy" read (Not much misery here) and I can't wait for volume 2.

Complaints: Oddly light on football (seems to be mentioned more in passing) and sometimes a bit more about some of the celebs he's met would have been nice (Peter Cook for one) but then Dannys never been a great one for doing "kiss and tell" stories which could hurt other folks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Show Biz Biog For Ages, 8 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Amidst all the shallow comedy biogs that emerge at this time of year, Danny's story stands head and shoulders above anything published in the last five years. An easy read, and several laugh out loud moments. (Apologies to customers of Lloyds Bar Chichester). Inevitably it will be read initially by Danny's fan base, but on the strength of his prose it deserves a much wider audience. Interesting timing by BBC Radio London "pin heads" to sack him the week this superb book is published!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An instant good mood..., 11 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Here's a book that will put your hat on the side of your head and infect you with a cockeyed optimism about life that will last all day.

It's already on every Treehouse fan's 'must buy' list but I'd recommend it to anyone who grew up in the 60s or 70s - and probably to anyone with parents who grew up in the 60s or 70s too.

It's a celebrity autobiography untainted by false modesty or manufactured sob stories. Here's a man who has spent most of his life having a simply marvellous time and he's not shy about sharing it with you.

I can't stick your standard celeb autobigraphy. I can't bear to put this one down. I'd urge you to buy it, instanter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Candy is dandy, 24 Sep 2013
By 
Patrick Neylan "Patrick Neylan" (Orpington, Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Going to Sea in a Sieve: The Autobiography (Paperback)
It took me more than two decades to realise that Danny Baker isn't a chattering imbecile but is in fact a genius. This revelation came through spending an hour a day listening to the gloriously surreal inventiveness of his BBC London radio show.

Despite being co-founder of the legendary punk fanzine Sniffin' Glue and a major writer at New Musical Express in the late 70s and 80s, where conformity to 'correct' opinions was almost Maoist in its intensity, this is a man who has never denied his love for unhip, old music (such as Steely Dan and Anthony Newley) and who was almost lynched when, aged 20, he leapt on stage to berate a punk audience that was cheering at the news that Elvis had just died. More recently he's been railing against the tyranny of 'cool'.

This covers the first 25 years of his life, and what a fascinating life it is. His father was a docker who supplemented his income - as they all did - by taking a cut of Britain's flagging export trade. Aged 12, Danny sold knocked-off records to the Petticoat Lane traders and left school at 15, despite being top of the class, to work in a hip record shop in Soho, where he met all the stars but chucked Queen out for demanding that the shop play their debut album, which he and the manager hated.

Baker's story isn't a tale of triumph in the face of hardship: it's a story of of a happy, trauma-free, working-class upbringing; staying just the right side of poverty by keeping just the wrong side of the law; being happy by spending every penny as it comes; and succeeding by cheek, talent, wit, blarney and outrageous good fortune. He manages to tell his story while retaining a degree of dignity and discretion quite in keeping with his upbringing: some things are private and nobody's business.

He has an ego, of course, but it's charmingly unpretentious, while his comic talent keeps the book fun and sometimes hilarious, never more so than in his record-shop days or his japes as receptionist at the NME. He even apologises, possibly 30 years too late, for calling Kate Bush Chicken Licken.

My only complaint is that, having never given Nick Kent's testicles a moment's thought, I now have an image of them in my mind that can never be erased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read, 9 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book following a recommendation from someone. It was interesting and I enjoyed reading about his encounters with pop stars in the 70's. I didn't realise it doesn't go up to present date so assume there is another instalment to come...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 329 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Going to Sea in a Sieve: The Autobiography
Going to Sea in a Sieve: The Autobiography by Danny Baker (Paperback - 23 May 2013)
6.95
Usually dispatched within 9 to 11 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews