Customer Reviews


338 Reviews
5 star:
 (242)
4 star:
 (67)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There'll Never Be Another
Warm, funny, shocking, honest. It's like the red button version of the radio show. To the dolts who sacked him from BBC London, read it and weep. Dan, it turns out we never knew you...but we know you better now. Here's hoping that the freeing up of some time means we get Part II (and III) as soon as you like.
Understand there's also to be an audio version.. Attack...
Published on 10 Nov. 2012 by P. Bryer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars a nice but not gripping read
I kept putting it down and picking it up over a period of 2 years....so wasn't exactly gripped. I will of course read the next instalment when it arrives because I love Danny's radio show on 5 live and his cheery attitude to all that life throws at him.
Published 6 months ago by Mrs. Clair Atkinson


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There'll Never Be Another, 10 Nov. 2012
By 
P. Bryer (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Warm, funny, shocking, honest. It's like the red button version of the radio show. To the dolts who sacked him from BBC London, read it and weep. Dan, it turns out we never knew you...but we know you better now. Here's hoping that the freeing up of some time means we get Part II (and III) as soon as you like.
Understand there's also to be an audio version.. Attack! Attack! Attack! Can't wait.
Best autobiography since Tom Baker's, 'Who on Earth'... actually (whisper it) this is better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


92 of 95 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The radio genius, 1 Nov. 2012
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
The above title is what the BBC call Danny Baker on their website, and I write this just as it is announced that danny's show on Radio London is to be axed. The BBC eh? What are they playing at? anyway, the book...

Well it's been available in bookshops since the weekend so I don't know why Amazon are delaying on it. Maybe they knew about today's news...? Nevertheless whenever it comes out I would urge anyone who has more than a passing interest in football, music, music journalism, radio, TV, humour and of course the joi de vivre that no doubt helped him in recovering from cancer to read this book. It is as filled with good humour and self depreciation as you might expect but also deals with some career and life lows as well as the many highs. The book is an easy read - it is a relatively compact volume considering the anecdotes packed in here, there must be a follow up as well - but that is no bad thing as there is absolutely no padding to be seen. The book is a genuine joy and will be the only "Celebrity" biography I buy this season, which I suppose is the highest recommendation I can give.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surpasses expectations, 14 Nov. 2012
By 
D. O'Hagan "danohagan" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Huge fan of DB since the early 90s, and a religious listener to his 94.9 show until its criminal cancellation. This book is a brisk read, featuring many tales told on the radio, often laugh-out-loud funny, and Baker paints a fabulous, clearly loving image of his dad, Spud. There's poignancy here too - his description of visiting his family home after the door-opening dog Blackie has died is something every dog-owner can identify with.

One gripe - I got through it too fast and don't want to have to wait another year for the next instalment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Danny Boy - pure entertainment, 7 Nov. 2012
By 
M. E. Doherty "imp131168" (EVERYWHERE) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A brilliant, funny memoir including some of the people Danny Baker had met when he started his first job in a record shop in London and then as a writer on Sniffin' Glue and NME including legends such as Elton John and Marc Bolan, Queen, The Clash, The Sex Pistols, Mick Jagger, Peter Cook and Ian Dury and his minder Fred Rowe, spending time with the latter on a tour of Europe, which is a highlight for me as a huge Dury fan. The writing is like his radio persona; erudite, witty, intelligent and absolutely engaging.

The real winner amongst all the brilliant stories and anecdotes is Danny's frankness, honesty and willingness to point out some of his less than enobling cons, gaffes, tricks and humiliating experiences, which compliment the amazing experiences and people he met. The book ends somewhere around the early 80's (squeezed into somewhere around 250 pages) and there's so much incredible fun packed in there god knows how many more pages he'll need for the subsequent 30 years of his career.

It is a brilliant read (I finished it in a day and a half... and that's just when I wasn't working!) and in it he entices us with the promise of volume two.

If you love DB this is essential. If you love entertaining autobiographies, it's still essential. And worth it alone for the recurring tale of David Essex's brother and his fantastic, straight-talking dad (his hero, I think).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun Read, 22 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I would heartily advise anyone considering this book to get busy and buy it, I only got to page 26 before I was laughing my head off, the greatest voice on radio has written a cracker and I look forward to further volumes, it has charm , wit and none of the usual up their own ar!!ness of most of the current celeb tomes trundled out for Xmas, Well done Candyman, get back on the radio again soon, the BBC want shooting!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Candy is dandy, 24 Sept. 2013
By 
Patrick Neylan "Patrick Neylan" (Orpington, Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Going to Sea in a Sieve: The Autobiography (Paperback)
It took me more than two decades to realise that Danny Baker isn't a chattering imbecile but is in fact a genius. This revelation came through spending an hour a day listening to the gloriously surreal inventiveness of his BBC London radio show.

Despite being co-founder of the legendary punk fanzine Sniffin' Glue and a major writer at New Musical Express in the late 70s and 80s, where conformity to 'correct' opinions was almost Maoist in its intensity, this is a man who has never denied his love for unhip, old music (such as Steely Dan and Anthony Newley) and who was almost lynched when, aged 20, he leapt on stage to berate a punk audience that was cheering at the news that Elvis had just died. More recently he's been railing against the tyranny of 'cool'.

This covers the first 25 years of his life, and what a fascinating life it is. His father was a docker who supplemented his income - as they all did - by taking a cut of Britain's flagging export trade. Aged 12, Danny sold knocked-off records to the Petticoat Lane traders and left school at 15, despite being top of the class, to work in a hip record shop in Soho, where he met all the stars but chucked Queen out for demanding that the shop play their debut album, which he and the manager hated.

Baker's story isn't a tale of triumph in the face of hardship: it's a story of of a happy, trauma-free, working-class upbringing; staying just the right side of poverty by keeping just the wrong side of the law; being happy by spending every penny as it comes; and succeeding by cheek, talent, wit, blarney and outrageous good fortune. He manages to tell his story while retaining a degree of dignity and discretion quite in keeping with his upbringing: some things are private and nobody's business.

He has an ego, of course, but it's charmingly unpretentious, while his comic talent keeps the book fun and sometimes hilarious, never more so than in his record-shop days or his japes as receptionist at the NME. He even apologises, possibly 30 years too late, for calling Kate Bush Chicken Licken.

My only complaint is that, having never given Nick Kent's testicles a moment's thought, I now have an image of them in my mind that can never be erased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bermondsey legend, fantastic read, 17 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Read this book in 2 days absolutely outstanding book and even though I come from Bermondsey I can tell you all that we are very proud of the Candy man and we are already gagging for the next two instalments of the trilogy. Well done Danny and to BBC radio London 'you have lost the plot'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff, now waiting for volume two, 6 Nov. 2012
By 
Peter Ibbotson (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyed this greatly. If you know a Danny Baker fan then this is a great book for Christmas.

If Dannys presentation style annoys you on radio (I understand that for some folks he's a bit of a turnoff) DON'T buy this book, Dannys writing style will probably annnoy as well.

Praise: Like his radio show, full of great stories and a generally "happy" read (Not much misery here) and I can't wait for volume 2.

Complaints: Oddly light on football (seems to be mentioned more in passing) and sometimes a bit more about some of the celebs he's met would have been nice (Peter Cook for one) but then Dannys never been a great one for doing "kiss and tell" stories which could hurt other folks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Candylicious, 27 Nov. 2012
By 
D. Halsey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Danny Baker, the man is separated from the myth. He may or not be the killer of musical legends, the brother of musical footnotes, the lover of pop mega stars.
Like the man himself, frank, honest and funny. Danny remains the bloke you should most want a pint with and after reading this just the one could never be enough.
This is no celebrity autobiography, well Danny Baker is no celebrity, he is far more than all those two bob wannabes put together.
Easy to read, hard to put down, a great book. The drinking mans Stephen Fry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High Expectations Were Surpassed, 5 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As someone who used to listen to The Candyman six times a week (from Phoenix, Arizona) I've been waiting for this book for the past two years when he announced he had started writing it. I had high expectations and it surpassed them. Shouldn't be surprised really when you hear his anecdotes on the air and IMDB him and see what quality he's written in the past.

I loved every page and didn't want it to end. Just brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Going to Sea in a Sieve: The Autobiography
Going to Sea in a Sieve: The Autobiography by Danny Baker (Paperback - 23 May 2013)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews