Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Read!
Couldn't put this book down once I'd started so finished it in 2 days.
Still amazed at how they managed to work out the structure in such a haphazard way.
Published on 27 Mar 2010 by Dr. J. A. Mrs Edwards

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A personal recollection of an important discovery
I found it an interesting book, but wasn't as impressed as most of the other reviewers. It's a small book and a quick read. I found it nice how Watson describes the characters of those involved. At times he willingly admits that he wasn't very knowledgeable about the subject in the beginning and that at first he was overshadowed by the genius of Crick. In other places in...
Published 16 months ago by PauloMunich


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Double Helix, 7 Jan 2013
This review is from: The Double Helix (Kindle Edition)
Fascinating for the novice and the expert alike. A really useful book for anyone studying biology or science. A brilliant read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Double Helix, 8 Nov 2010
By 
Mr P McMillan (ELY, Cambridgeshire, GB) - See all my reviews
This is a truly amazing book - a marvellous read even for non scientists. No wonder the Folio Society is republishing it this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars poorly written but quite interesting insight into academia, 19 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Double Helix (Paperback)
I think James Watson must have been a thoroughly obnoxious young man. There is an interesting incident at the beginning of the book when someone, the author knew, bumps into him on a ski slope and asks if he has told any lies recently (or words to that effect). You have to admire the honesty of the man for including that small incident, though I rather think he wrote the book to clarify his role in the discovery and justify some of the less laudable actions on the way to the discovery.

The story of the double helix is interesting but it is really all the skullduggery around the edges that stands out to my mind and not least on the part of the author. He is quite nasty, and cheerfully tells lies to his granting body so he can do what he wants to do rather than what he is paid to do. We are, I think, supposed to applaud his enterprise, but actually..... there is something not nice about it, and it is consistent with a lot of other not very nice things that happen particularly with respect to Rosalind Franklin. Watson is positively insulting about her, including referring to her throughout as 'Rosy' - something nobody did in her life. Though he ends the book by claiming they became good mates, an awful lot of what he wrote about her seemed more designed to make clear she did not know what she was doing and was difficult to work with. Actually knowing just how good certain people can be at pinching ideas and forgetting the source, I rather think in the male-dominated world that she worked in, she probably had to be pretty aggressive to protect herself and not get badly exploited. I only felt sympathy for her - not Watson's aim I suspect.

The book is short, but poorly written. Had Watson been my student, I would have sent him back to rewrite whole sections of it to improve clarity and organisation of materials. Nonetheless, the self-serving rotten writing is forgivable (indeed forgettable) because of the interesting insights into Crick (who seemed to be a rather wonderful person) and also for the fascinating presentation of just how great ideas develop. I would recommend if interested in this story and the book is readable even if you don't have a scientific background.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 29 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Double Helix (Kindle Edition)
Great first hand account of discovery of structure of DNA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Change of reading, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Double Helix (Kindle Edition)
Not my usual adventure novel but a very enjoyable read right to the last page!
Will have to read more of this type of educational book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Double Helix (Paperback)
As described and in plenty of time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What happened to the photos ?, 3 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Double Helix (Paperback)
This book tells of one of the most important pieces of scientific research ever and an inspiration to us all. The personal account shows how competitive such work can be too. However, I've bought this book for my son doing his science A-levels and saddened to see this edition does not contain the several black and white photos of other editions hence the 1 star to encourage you to look for the one with the pics!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Passionate, 20 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Double Helix (Kindle Edition)
An example to all of us that shows that great discoveries are still available to multidisciplinary action by intellects with drive and vision.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable read, 21 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Double Helix (Kindle Edition)
technical in places, but the humour is worth the read. very enjoyable for science minded people or the mildly curious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good book, 2 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Double Helix (Paperback)
Bought this for Daughter who is at unbi doing Biology Degree, she says this book will help her loads. I had a flick through it and didnt have a clue.... it was a good price and delivery was good. Thankyou.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Double Helix
The Double Helix by James Watson (Paperback - 11 Nov 2010)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews