Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars304
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£18.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 November 2014
Reading it now and enjoying it a lot. If you thought that you new a fair amount about tis subject this book will tell you more
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2014
The depth of detail along with honest & non romantic views explains a huge amount. A very worthwhile read, highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2015
This should be compulsory reading for all aspiring politicians and military students. A tour de force of the horrors of war
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2014
It took me 6 months to read this as each chapter was just so much to both understand, fit together and process emotionally.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2015
The most well rounded compilation uniting all the WW2 aspects, both Europe and Far East and how they affected each other.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2012
This should have been the title as Beevor says virtually nothing about the campaigns in the Pacific. A few cursory pages at most.He does not even bother to mention how many British troops surrendered at Singapore or the size of the Japanese forces. Makes no real mention of Slim and his campaign in Burma. If he was not interested in the Pacific theatre he should have simply left it out and not covered it.
All he does seem to do is belittle the UK particuarly Montgomery like he did in his D-Day book while at the same time almost fawning over Patton and (more disturbingly) Stalin.
I know I will get crticised for this but after reading all the 5star reviews I felt like I was reading a different book. Both Stalingrad and and Berlin were excellent works which he pretty much copies and pastes for this book but this book along with his weak D-Day book and his recent re-done but isnt redone on the Spansih civil war seem to show that Mr Beevor is coasting which seeing all the plaudits does seem to work.
All in all a weak work and if you must read it wait till the Paperback version or it hits the Libarys dont waste your cash.
77 comments|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2012
The Second World WarReally great book! Thought that I was an 'expert' on WW2, but learnt many new facts!
A must read, especially for anyone who is in the dark about this event! Grab it!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2014
I have never read such a comprehensive, balanced, and readable tome on the Second World War. Just a superb read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2015
Thorough, and interesting, In places a bit turgid for an exciting event. I liked it, but am still reading it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2012
This book is a fascinating read. Very detailed. It tells of small details that make you wonder. The human side is vivid and quite horrifying. Should be compulsory in schools
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)