Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars26
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 October 2012
Bought this to read on holiday and had finished it by the time we arrived - gripping, personal account of one part of a very intense time on the ground in Afghanistan. Easy to read and hard to put down. Powerful.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2013
I read his first book and really enjoyed it, going through his past life when young, and after joining up, was the usual soldier experience as many others before him. From then on it rattled along at a far pace. Unfortunatly this book wasnt a patch on the his first, and I was grateful for the end of the book, there really didnt seem enough content on what was promised by the first book by him. For such an experienced soldier I expected much more than what was on offer. Pity!!
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Most of the accounts of Helmand concern the PBI, but here we ride into battle with the cavalry. Providing support from Scimitars and Jackals, dealing with IEDs, handling frequent equipment failures and sometimes getting far too close to the RPG-armed Taliban this has much in common with other accounts but enough difference to make it well worth reading. The author has a pawky sense of humour. Excellent maps, covers two tours by the author.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2013
Fantastic! I've read his earlier book and this is just as good. The professionalism in his soldiering shines through along with his compassion and caring for his troops. A man whose bravery and skills are recognised by all but himself. I hope he writes his memoirs of his army career - that would be a great read.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2013
For the uninitiated, its a good book and very well portrays the life of a British soldier in the harsh experience of Afghanistan, both the grim reality, and the unique British 'Squaddie' humour.

However, as i am sure happens with nearly all military accounts, there is some exaggeration and glorifying of a certain individual, in some of the incidents described. I was present for two of the tours that Mick describes, as well as closely involved with some of the incidents he has mentioned, and i have to say, i don't remember some of it happening half the way he has accounted for.

Saying that, its still a good read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2011
Hard hitting well written account of a British soldiers time in Afghanistan. Descriptive, detailed in every aspect and doesn,t pull any punches. The professionalism, teamwork and support for their mates shines through the whole book.
11 comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2015
I personally thought it was a great read. The experiences these soldiers went through is harrowing.
I applaud the soldiers for doing a great job under extreme pressure and stress.
Mick Flynn has written a book about our soldiers doing their duty no matter what. If you want to know what our soldiers are up against read this book.
It has everything, action, sadness and that British humour to keep them sane.
Their professionalism does them proud.
We the people of Britain should honour our service's, for doing a difficult job in a foreign land.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2013
Reading the reviews I almost gave this book a miss. I am so glad I did not. To catch up on
behind the scenes of the Gulf War and if it was not for Mick Flynns quick thinking and determination without going into touch detail here, a great many more soldiers may have been killed before the gulf war ended and may have gone on for a lot longer. I enjoyed reading this book and I am glad Mr Flynn got his medals and recognition for his gallant war effort. A big thank you to his wife for supporting him.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2013
A very compelling record of our boys heroic attempts to bring us safety at home and justice to the locals.
Anyone who believes that our boys should not be there needs to read this to get some idea of the malevolent fanaticism the Taliban can muster to further their cause.
It's all about power, money and a misguided tunnel vision that says that their particular twisted and distorted version of what is a great and just religion is the only one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2014
Mick has again written a spellbinding but down to earth account of life on the front line. He describes life on the front line so well you could be there some of it is definitely squady humour and only really understandable by service personnel! He let's you into that world but unless you've served you don't fully understand! A very good read as is his other work "Bullet Magnet"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)