Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


79 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Glass Rainbow
James Lee Burke has crafted possibly the best Dave Robicheaux novel in terms of both its literary quality and the storyline. Recent novels have mirrored contemporary reality focussing on the effects of hurricane Katrina for example. In this latest work Lee Burke provides the ecological backdrop, the many canals dug into the Bayou, to what is happening in the Gulf of...
Published on 22 July 2010 by Mike Alexander

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best of Burke
Dave Robicheaux has a more complex back story than most policemen. In his own words, "My daughter had grown from a terrified five-year-old refugee I had pulled from a submerged plane into an aspiring novelist and law student. My wife, Molly, had been a Catholic nun, a missionary in Central America, a labor organizer in southern Louisiana, and the wife of a police...
Published on 27 Aug 2012 by G. M. Sinstadt


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

79 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Glass Rainbow, 22 July 2010
By 
Mike Alexander (LEEDS, West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
James Lee Burke has crafted possibly the best Dave Robicheaux novel in terms of both its literary quality and the storyline. Recent novels have mirrored contemporary reality focussing on the effects of hurricane Katrina for example. In this latest work Lee Burke provides the ecological backdrop, the many canals dug into the Bayou, to what is happening in the Gulf of Mexico. Robicheaux is ageing and is particularly reflective on death in this novel which begins with the discovery of human remains in Mississipi. Indeed rather like the caduceus death winds itself around the characters and the region like the snake in the symbol.
The investigation into the origins of the human remains leads Robicheaux and his faithful sidelick, Cletus Purcell, into a very sinister group of people whose motives are initially unclear. Using the lead characters daughter, Alifair, in the plot could have been a mistake, however, Lee Burke succeeds and Alifair is quite a credible component of the scene. Some of the prose Lee Burke writes are often stunning and moving and contribute to the overall quality of the work.
Between Robicheaux and Purcell there is a wonderful bond of loyalty and friendship that has lasted throughout the series of novels, both characters have their failings which each recognises and accepts. A little more of Helen Soileau, the Sheriff, comes to light in this novel. Her softness towards Robicheaux is touching and despite her orientation there is a sense of romance in the relationship.
Unlike other Robicheaux novels the bad guys are credible individuals, people that one might meet socially and it is this aspect that highlights the craft Lee Burke has used.
I found the book difficult to put down and I recommend it highly to initiates and newcomers, it is an excellent read.

Mike Alexander, Leeds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 5 Jan 2011
By 
Jason Webster "An Argonaut" (CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Glass Rainbow (Hardcover)
I have read all of Burke's novels, even hunting down his earlier westerns. The Robicheaux series however is my favorite. In many ways Dave Robicheaux has been representative of post WWII Louisiana Cajun culture. Themes of mysticism, despair, and elation that tempt the soul have been a thread through these novels. I won't ruin the story by giving away anything, but this is another great addition to the series. For more great viction I have to recommend "The Bridge at Valentine"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "You couldn't even get a job as the Good Thief.", 30 July 2010
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
"That they may successfully do evil with both hands--
The prince asks for gifts,
The judge seeks a bribe,
And the great man utters his evil desire;
So they scheme together. -- Micah 7:3 (NKJV)

This is the best new novel I've read so far in 2010.

The best of the Dave Robicheaux novels draw on deep roots into the antebellum South, long-standing class and racial divisions, mystical visions on the bayou, an unquenchable will for justice, Clete Purcel operating like a one-man demolition derby, and some of the slimiest villains ever conceived and described. Usually, I find one of the elements to seem under or over developed. Not this time. The Glass Rainbow is just right, and I strongly urge you to read and enjoy the book.

Dave is trying to find out who has been killing "throwaway" young women. At the same time, he's deeply disturbed that Alafair, his adopted daughter, is spending time with Kermit Abelard, who seems just right to Alafair . . . but all wrong to Dave. If that sounds like a plot that isn't very deep, you should remember that ninety percent of icebergs stay out of sight. Ultimately, the book succeeds as a dark and desperately pessimistic portrayal of the evil that men do. Unfortunately, it rings true. And that's the book's greatness.

One of the particular strengths of the book is the way that James Lee Burke lets you use your imagination to fill in the blanks that describe the ugliness that has been and is going on.

The action scenes are among the best that Mr. Burke has ever written. Two in particular will stay with you for a long time to come.

Bravo, Mr. Burke!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars over the rainbow, 2 Dec 2010
By 
A. B. G. Camps "a.b camps" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Glass Rainbow (Hardcover)
James Lee Burke at his scintillating best. A fast moving ,hard hitting crime novel set in the deep south featuring old friends Dave Robicheaux and Clete Purcell and the usual mixture of low lives and moneyed psychopaths. My favourite novel by the poet of crime for some years .Rock and Roll.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better and better, 12 May 2011
By 
Chris Pearson - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Glass Rainbow (Hardcover)
To echo other reviewer comments, this latest Dave Robicheaux novel from James Lee Burke is his best yet.

With the usual offering of strong characters, tight plot and a real sense of the Deep South, this is not just another crime thriller, but the cumulative result of a his great series of them.

The good news is this book also stands alone in its own right. Start here and work backwards if you wish.

You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vintage Robicheaux, 7 Aug 2013
The Bobbsey Twins from homicide ride again in this vintage Burke novel. If you read them you'll know what to expect but you won't get spoilers here. It's the mixture as before - plenty of action and Clete and Dave operating under the usual black flag. Well worth a read just for the elegant writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best..., 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Glass Rainbow (Paperback)
I've been reading this guy's books for a long while now. Everything else you've already read is probably true. Great writer with a leaning toward Southern Gothic Grand Guignol, extreme violence & a humanist live & let live attitude to the decent working folk who have, and always will be, screwed downward into hardship by an uncaring, broken country.

Wonderful characters finely drawn populate his novels throughout. Only thing that springs to mind is this: how old must Dave Robicheaux be now... 75-ish... a little too old for his chosen profession..?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No letting up; Robicheaux as good as ever, 5 Jan 2013
James Lee Burke has written Dave Robicheaux into crime fiction history and, as with any series, for the new reader, the latest story has to stack up, otherwise why go back and read the rest. Now The Glass Rainbow is not the latest as Creole Belle was release in 2012, but I have not read that yet so this is the marker. I should say at this point that I am a Dave Robicheaux fan of some years, but for me also that means any new novel has to meet some exacting standards.
The Glass Rainbow ticks all the boxes. Burke's descriptive style and restricted range of players forces the reader to either embrace the characterisations and their context or miss the plot almost entirely. Whatever the reality, Burke's portrayal of New Orleans' history, its people and places, the continuing racial undercurrents and its own class struggles, and the bringing of all that to a modern crime drama come across as convincing and compelling. Dave Robicheaux's world maybe a little fanciful, although Burke has a way of persuading one otherwise, but it is far from the fantasy that has seemingly overtaken other contemporary crime writers, there is enough to hang onto here to believe in the possibility that such events might occur.
If you are prepared to spend time getting to know Dave Robicheaux's world then Burke will paint you a romantic picture of some of the best and worst living conditions in America today, and go on to explain why they are the way they are as with the people who inhabit them. Meanwhile, the action scenes are as graphic and as gripping as any you might read. But it is in the dialogue that Burke really sharpens his attack, with the occasional passage that harks back to the very best of Hammett and Spillane, maybe even transcends it. The real friendship between Robicheaux and Purcell finally comes across in the silences between them as much as the almost incessant noise.

The Glass Rainbow has a great storyline too, with sufficient twists and turns to keep the most avid fan of the genre in tow. After such a journey, it would be understandable if Burke were to occasionally skip a beat, but he hasn't done it here. This is a top class addition to the Dave Robicheaux compendium.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Author, 22 Nov 2011
By 
Jeane Anderson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Glass Rainbow (Paperback)
I have come to James Lee Burke's books rather late and started with this one but I found it so amazing I've gone back and tried to read them all in order. Burke writes beautifully even when he is describing the most horrific scenes. In The Tin Roof Blowdown his description of the carnage of New Orleans after Hurricane Katrina hit was heartbreaking and reduced me to tears. He draws the most amazing characters and shows a good side to even the most evil characters, for example Troyce Nix in Swan Peak. His descriptions of the American South, Louisiana, Montana etc make me want to get on a plane and go there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love James Lee Burke, 28 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you like the Dave and Clete stories this will not disappoint. I commend the reader, Will Patton, who really does the stories justice. I love following the characters through the series- Dave through his many (and all VERY happy marriages) and Alafair from the tiny girl found in a sinking plane to this story where she is a graduate and with her first serious boyfriend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Glass Rainbow
The Glass Rainbow by James Lee Burke (Paperback - 7 July 2011)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews