Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping and thought-provoking
Henry Porter has written one of the best thrillers I've ever read. The Dying Light is set in Britain in the near future, where the tentacles of the surveillance state have been extending their reach throughout society. Our rulers are driven by misguided paternalism; their sense of right and wrong has been subverted by the inevitably corrupting influence of unaccountable...
Published on 29 Aug. 2009 by N. Smith

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good page turner
I have just finished this after compulsively reading the last few hundred pages but, at the same time, not enjoying it very much. The characters are all rather basic and similar to each other and the plot is also rather basic, centred on some dirty dealings by the UK government that I think the author has a particular bee in his bonnet about. It is all competently done...
Published on 26 Dec. 2011 by R Holmes


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really rather good, 6 Jan. 2011
This review is from: The Dying Light (Paperback)
It's not Le Carre, but it's a very good thriller nonetheless. Really worth a read, not just for the fact it takes an extablished piece of scary Government policy and runs with it for full effect, but also it's gripping, believable, with interesting characters. Really good stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 6 Aug. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dying Light (Hardcover)
Intelligent and revelatory, The Dying Light is the best political thriller I've read in ages (and I include Robert Harris' The Ghost in that). I don't want to give too much away, but although The Dying Light is set in the near future the issues and plot of the novel are very much about Britain today. A superb thriller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Now for the "snooper's charter"?, 25 Jan. 2015
This review is from: The Dying Light (Paperback)
This is the kind of novel that has one cheering on the forces of good in their struggle with the State, an entity driven by a Blair-like Prime Minister and a Murdoch-like corporate baron. The last few words of the novel might disappoint some readers but the effective conclusion to the plot is gripping and shows Henry Porter at his best as a writer of political thrillers. And yet … .

There is no reason why the political thriller or any genre for that matter should not be combined with thoughtful writing and characterization, but “The Dying Light” comes disappointingly up short in statements such as "a night of erotic fulfillment" or "last night ... was wonderful" (once the two main characters get together, the pillow talk is consistently embarrassing) or "the anger smouldered like a peat-fire underground”. Characters are stock-types, though when Porter deals with ministers, mandarins and security personnel, it could well be that he is telling us that this is what power does to people at different levels; except that, he is as one-dimensional in his characterization of those who resist what C. Wright Mills called “the power elite”.

Henry Porter’s insistent theme, in other novels and in his fine journalism in “The Observer”, is that the bringing together of government and commercial data in an overall system, once, that is, software has been installed and acts in the background on supposedly distinct systems, “allows no private realm". One character adds that "this is the classic totalitarian nightmare of the twentieth-century, updated for the twenty-first century", before going on to quote Hannah Arendt. There is even a passing defence of libraries (currently under threat from some local authorities) as a repository of hard-copies and an essential resource for the researchers and activists in Porter’s novel in their battle against “Deep Truth”, that is, the system and its ambition to achieve total information control and surveillance located at the heart of the British State.

In wondering why “The Dying Light” is, at different times, inspiring and disappointing, it is possible to argue that the weak, one-dimensional characterization, as well as the occasions when Porter resorts to clichéd dialogue and summaries, find an issue in the conclusion. Optimism can be a false hope or an implicit acknowledgement that the ability to resist “Deep Truth” and the justification for such resistance need testing in a more tough-minded way. The current (2015) “snooper’s charter” and the context of greater surveillance -- as a more legitimate response than the armed intervention which was a major cause of the latest phase of terrorism – may well provoke in Henry Porter a new thriller that leaves readers less reassured than “The Dying Light”.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great pace, intelligently written, 8 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dying Light (Paperback)
I've just finished reading this book, having stayed up half the night to finish it. A great plot line with lots of twists, the parallels with what we accept in real life with a level of complacency is startling. The characters are well drawn - they have their flaws and frustrations but are ultimately sympathetic and have their own depth, being more than 'plot vehicles'. This is a well paced story that is exciting and well written with knowledge and intelligence. Great stuff ... Buying Mr Porter's other books now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE STATE WE'RE IN......, 9 Nov. 2011
This review is from: The Dying Light (Paperback)
By far and away the best Henry Porter novel yet - fully realised, gripping, terrifying and (as of November 2011) worryingly prescient.

Given Porter's stance on issues of liberty it is ripe territory he visits in this tale of state intrusion of privacy, power grabs by the political elite, the use of the security services as a tool for repression, and the disturbing influence big business has over our elected officials. What really adds a frisson is the fact that this was written in 2009 yet the UK Porter describes now feels familiar.

I particularly liked the characters of Kate Lockhart, Peter Kilmartin, and David Eyam. The representation of John Temple as Prime Minister was quite close to our current incumbent at No.10, and the sinister Eden White character struck me as remarkably similar to a certain Tory party donor.

With recent events in the national debate concerning budget cuts, the usual scandals around ministers and lobbyists, violent protest and riots in the summer, and the ongoing horror story surrounding Murdoch and phone hacking it is with an almost reverse deja vu that I read this novel in the same week that it was reported the Home Secretary had stitched up the senior civil servant responsible for Border security, and authorised the use of rubber bullets against student protesters.

Be afraid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dying Light-Henry Porter, 20 Dec. 2010
This review is from: The Dying Light (Hardcover)
An absolutely fantastic read. Totally gripping, I couldn't put it down once I started to read.

Although it is a work of fiction it is a totally credible storey which Britain must take care does not become a work of fact. It accurately portrays a world governed by laws that already exist and threaten our liberty.

Please read this book and take heed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping and terrifying, 7 Nov. 2010
By 
Polly Potter (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dying Light (Paperback)
The reviews on the jacket sleeve say it all ... this is a very scary look at an imagined close future, entirely possible given current legislation. Well written, pacey and with well described characters I think this is an important novel, with warnings about where public apathy and complacency could lead us all. Buy it and take note!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lighten our darkness, 19 Feb. 2013
By 
Gs-trentham - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dying Light (Paperback)
The average of reviews comes out at four-and-a-half - which I would have awarded had it been possible to do so.

Much of this tale of Orwellian menace is plausible enough. Curiously, the baddies seem more vividly portrayed than the goodies. John Temple is a prime minister, easy to visualise, presiding over committee neetings in 10 Downing Street that read very like the real thing.

But in establishing the effect of the conspiracy on its victims, the author tests the reader's credulity from time to time. However, once the basic premise has been swallowed this is not a book that could be set aside without finding out what happens next. And isn't that one test of a good thriller, which this undoubtedly is?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fiction that might come true, 8 Dec. 2009
By 
This review is from: The Dying Light (Hardcover)
I don't normally read detective/'thriller' books but this got a good review so I bought it and thoroughly enjoyed it, even if it 'predicts' much that is threatening to our democracies just on the basis of laws we already have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars insightful and wonderful, 13 Sept. 2009
This review is from: The Dying Light (Hardcover)
This wonderful novel is very insightful. It could be dedicated to all those who believe that both US / UK government surveillance security systems "make us safer."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Dying Light
The Dying Light by Henry Porter (Paperback - 16 Sept. 2010)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews