Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Short, punchy, crime fiction
Highly enjoyable modern crime fiction from this prolific American author. Chris Mankowski is a cop in a mid-career crisis. He elects to swop the joys of the 'Bomb Squad' for a move into Vice despite a hilariously abortive job interview. The book gets away to a flier with a cracking first chapter.

From his first case, the move proves disastrous and the book...
Published on 15 July 2012 by Officer Dibble

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun read of a specific genre
I read this as a result of seeing Leonard's obit. and realising I knew nothing of him. It is typical American cop/detective writing, tightly organised and plotted with lovely set pieces and an unusual sense of irony. The characterisation is slick rather than rich, the dialogue sparkles and the whole thing is a great light read. I shall try a few more of his...
Published 3 months ago by mikev


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Short, punchy, crime fiction, 15 July 2012
By 
Officer Dibble (Zummerzet) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freaky Deaky (Kindle Edition)
Highly enjoyable modern crime fiction from this prolific American author. Chris Mankowski is a cop in a mid-career crisis. He elects to swop the joys of the 'Bomb Squad' for a move into Vice despite a hilariously abortive job interview. The book gets away to a flier with a cracking first chapter.

From his first case, the move proves disastrous and the book recounts his attempts to simultaneously salvage his career whilst catching the baddies. The 'Freaky Deaky' is a wild dance but also relates to the 'freaks' a USA slang term for eccentrics or oddballs often politically motivated.

Another reviewer recommended I give Mr Leonard another try and I'm glad I did. This was a short easy read that sped by. Plenty of humour and often adult content. The plot has a couple of aspects that grate; for example, the minder Donnell missed his vocation as a sniffer dog! But in the end this added to a slightly tongue-in-cheek style. Liked this and I can now see why Mr Leonard has so many fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb - Despite The Title, 14 Jun 2005
This review is from: Freaky Deaky (Paperback)
This novel contains all that is brilliant about Elmore Leonard and features what has to be the greatest opening chapter ever written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jeffs Opinion!, 13 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freaky Deaky (Paperback)
Fantastic book, if you've never read a Elmore Leonard novel - your missing out on such rich dialogue and interesting characters! THis guy isn't described as a legend for nothing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fun read of a specific genre, 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freaky Deaky (Kindle Edition)
I read this as a result of seeing Leonard's obit. and realising I knew nothing of him. It is typical American cop/detective writing, tightly organised and plotted with lovely set pieces and an unusual sense of irony. The characterisation is slick rather than rich, the dialogue sparkles and the whole thing is a great light read. I shall try a few more of his considerable output.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the first Leonard I've read, 24 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freaky Deaky (Kindle Edition)
The style is a little weird and sometimes I was not too sure what some of the characters were up to. The pace is great and the lack of padding. I loved that
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book - more elmore Leonard style fun, 30 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freaky Deaky (Kindle Edition)
Different to rum punch and get shorty, pace and style seem slower
But engaging and strong story. Takes a little more to get going
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very explosive book, 26 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Freaky Deaky (Paperback)
Elmore leonard in this book is able to take a mixture of three different story lines and submerge them together into an excellent crime novel. this consists of throw backs, people who have more money than sense and together this book is wrote to be put on the silver screen and should be adapted but elmore's content shown for what it is excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ordered, but never arrived, 25 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freaky Deaky (Kindle Edition)
Ordered what I thought was going to be a great holiday read, still waiting for it to arrive!! Not great service really. You can accept this as my unhappy face :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Freaky Deaky
Freaky Deaky by Elmore Leonard (Paperback - 26 Nov 2009)
7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews