Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars39
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 July 2014
It was hard to put this book down once I started it not only because it gives a clear description of the final year of WW1 but because it allows the soldiers themselves to tell their story in their own words. Each story is often very moving, often tragic and occasionally very funny. The author explains well how this victory was achieved and within the logic of war it makes sense but at the end of the day one just has to ask oneself what did WW1 finally achieve by this great victory. I can only marvel at the heroism and sacrifice of so many and think a British public would never permit this to happen again.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 December 2010
This is a top-rate book about a period of the First World War all too often ignored, i.e. that leading up to the final Allied victory. There must be 50 books / documentaries on the Somme or Ypres for every one on the great victories of 1918.

It's not just a narrative of events, but analysis too, very strong on how the German generals over-stretched their forces and in reality were often all tactics and no strategy (and in the case of Ludendorf in the later stages of 1918, mentally imbalanced too.) Highly recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2013
A great book that debunks the 'Lions Led by Donkeys' myth of the Great War. Fact - we won, at a terrible cost in blood and treasure; we innovated a new way of war: the all arms battle. Which is still the cornerstone of British Military Doctrine and organisation.

Timely to read so that we can sort the fact from fiction over the next four years of hand wringing as we commerate the wars centenary.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2011
This account of the final months of the Great War is a worthwhile read. The text includes actual accounts of those invovled, which adds a very human perspective to the events described. The stories of everyday life in the trenches and the feelings expressed by those involved are enlightening and sobering.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2013
The book is very readable and deals with the spectacular successes of the BEF in 1918. While many histories emphasise that Germany's defeat was attributable to a number of factors, such as the blockade, too few point out that we actually defeated the German army in the field and how this came about.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2008
I've had an interest in general history since school days - a long time ago now. However I still find it rare to engage with a history book - often a succession of facts, dates, kings and queens. That is what is so refreshing and invigorating about Peter Hart's 1918. Real people, real stories woven by the author into a strong narrative that explains, clearly and concisely the strategic thinking from the top of the food chain down to the fortunes and misfortunes of the `poor bloody infantry'. This is a history book that really brings the first world war to life - and all too often - death. It demonstrates how the new boys on the block, the Americans, vital to the final victory - had to go through their own learning curve - they didn't learn from the suffering of the British in the previous 4 years and consequently lost many men in the early days that should have lived through it.

If you want facts and dates this book will give it to you. In addition you get the real human story and in my book that makes it a must read.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2014
Peter Hart is a great clear writer on this subject and he is willing to challenge traditional views on the conduct of the war and the ability and decisions of the generals. Very valuable book.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2015
A great book which demonstrates how British Army thinking evolved during WW1 and ultimately unlocked the systems which shackled forces on both sides to the stalemate of the trenches.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2013
I thought this book really addressed a lot of the myths concerning the last months of WW1 other books have concentrated on the seeming failure of the British front.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2010
Very compelling. I listened to it at a sitting on the Autobahns to East germany, and it is a good historical narrative with some political understanding. There are other books that give a better view from the German side, and this was also minute in detail, down to division numbers that gets lost in the telling as one can't go back easily as with a paper book, but that is the problem of audio books. Overall a very lucid account of the end of WW1
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)