Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
33
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 May 2011
I just can't get enough of these books.
I like the way that Paul Torday writes in a non sentimental style.
If you want great characters and gripping storylines then buy his books.
If you want unrealistic happy endings look elsewhere.
I cant believe this is the same author of Salmon Fishing in the Yemen. When I read Girl on the Landing I was hoping for a similar read. It was nothing like it, but was equally brilliant. To think that both books came from the same mind!
Subsequent books are more of the Girl on the Landing style with largely tragic central characters, that have a quality that makes you want to connect with them. It can be painful to follow their fate, but you you wouldn't want the books to be resolved in any other way.
I give all of his other books five stars. This book gets four stars simply because relative to the other books it's merely brilliant and you need a standard to measure against!
11 comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I was drawn into this book by its unlikely premise - ex soldier Richard Gaunt takes a bet that can walk from his club in London to the Randolph Hotel in Oxford by the following afternoon. In the course of the journey, he stumbles a set of exotic foreign villains and is soon fleeing for his life.

So the story begins with distinct overtones of John Buchan and the book acknowledges this with a quote at the beginning from Three Hostages (Wordsworth Classics). But ex Captain Gaunt isn't another Richard Hannay, he's more like Buchan's dashing and, one suspects, tortured sandy Arbuthnot (modelled loosely on TE Lawrence). And this isn't The Thirty-Nine Steps (Penguin Classics) - either the book or the film. Gaunt has served in both Iraq and Afghanistan and has been damaged. As well as following his story in the present, the book flashes back to both, and to his failed attempts to build a normal life after leaving the Army. That failure leads to the kind of man Gaunt is, and to his taking the bet at the opening of the book.

In a sense, of course, the rootless, post-military life described here does fit Buchan's characters with the extract from "The Three Hostages" hinting at men who have been damaged by war experience just as Daunt is. But the style of the 20s and 30s was perhaps to make less of this, and "More than you can tell" is considerably darker. Gaint finds himself wishing for a "good" war, one that the people back at home continue to believe in.

Despite a fairly actiony ending in which Daunt - sort of - redeems himself, one isn't left with any great positive expectation for his life, still less for the outcome of the wars in which he took part. A criticsm of the book might be that it just stops, without any resolution to Gaunt's story. I think though that is appropriate, and that a tidy answer would have let this story down.

An excellent book, with a strong plot which gives, I think, a deep insight into some difficult issues while refusing in the end to judge anyone (except, perhaps, the unpleasant Kevin).
22 comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 January 2012
'More than you can say' offers the usual Paul Torday style of easy-reading.
The story concerns Richard Gaunt, an ex-army Captain returned from tours of Iraq and Afghanistan, struggling to re-adapt to civilian life in the UK after witnessing and participating in the traumatic events experienced in theatre. Some of the characters appear in 'The hopeless life of Charlie Summers', such as Ed Hartlepool, Eck Chetwoode-Talbot and Nick Davies. The plot wasn't really what I was expecting from the blurb, because the bet to walk to Oxford was merely a scene-setting device and not the main thrust of the story, which involved an Afghan and Al-Quaeda terrorist plot. The storyline was reasonable, once the reader takes on board the enormous coincidences in the plotting, such as Richard, an ex-soldier from Afghanistan, being randomly picked up by the terrorists, and other bits of the plot that didn't hang together very well simply to make the story work, eg. the search of his flat for no particular reason but had to occur to discover his invitation, and some other things.
Putting these issues aside, Paul Torday tells a story with social and political relevance in his usual easy-to-read style.
Probably 3.5 stars.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2011
The first part of this story is totally ridiculous and my thoughts were that none of this could possibly ever happen. However, as the stroy unfolds, it becomes more and more plausible, until, eventually, I began to think that these events could really, actually happen. That is what I would call very clever story telling.

Paul Torday is an incredibly imaginative author. I liked this book very much indeed and would recommend it to any of my friends.

All that stopped me from awarding five stars was that it tended to ramble in places. In an action packed thriller, that can be most frustrating! Don't let that put you off though. It is well worth reading.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2013
I have read a lot of Paul Torday's books and for me nothing beats his first one, Salmon Fishing in the Yemen. More Than You Can Say touches on the harrowing experience of ex-soldier Richard Gaunt who is home after a tour of duty in Iraq and Afghanistan. The book gets off to a good start with Richard accepting a bet, being knocked down and then meeting the mysterious Mr Khan who makes him an offer he can't refuse - all in the first chapter. I did enjoy the book, which was written in Paul Torday's usual easy reading style, but I felt some of the characters were a bit contrived, especially the hapless Emma. The last paragraph left me feeling a little depressed for Richard Gaunt and his future.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
More Than You Can Say is the fifth novel by British author, Paul Torday. Richard Gaunt is unemployed, in debt and his tally of friends is quickly diminishing. So when Ed Hartlepool makes a bet with him in the wee small hours, he is determined to win: he will walk from London to Oxford by 1pm. But then a black Range Rover knocks him off the road, and Richard’s plans go awry in a major way. Missing the bet deadline soon becomes the least of his worries.

He finds himself in a bizarre situation, and makes decisions that the old Richard, the one who hadn’t yet served in Iraq and Afghanistan, would never have made. Something of the fateful “why not?’ attitude that operated during his tour of duty takes control, and more than once, he is embarrassed and therefore reticent to explain just what led to these unwise choices.

Torday provides a backstory for Richard in the form of flashbacks to his time in the Middle East and, afterwards, the deterioration of his relationship with his family, friends and his fiancée, Emma. While for the reader, the sense of “this can’t end well” may be overwhelming, Torday still manages to include some black humour, the odd twist to keep things interesting and an exciting climax.

Torday’s characters are familiar and believable; it is easy to care for Richard even while shaking one’s head at his poor choices. Torday explores subjects both topical and eternal: the long-lasting and far-ranging effects of Post Traumatic Stress Disorder; the role of foreign powers in the Middle East conflicts; and the importance of a strong belief in what you are doing.

Torday said he trying to find the “ultimate novel” and wrote compulsively: each of his seven novels is a different genre, and he describes More Than You Can Say as an old-fashioned adventure story. This edition also contains a reading guide and a preview of the next book Torday wrote: The Legacy of Hartlepool Hall. Several characters from previous (and future) novels play a role in this novel: Torday’s characters tend to do this. This is another brilliant novel by Paul Torday: thought-provoking, funny and entertaining.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2011
The first part of of this book was excellent. The setting up of the character, the mysterious happenings, really make you want to turn the page.
Once we find out what is going on I felt it became more of a standard thriller.
I like the way most of the characters in Paul Torday's books inhabit the same world. They pop up in each other's books. It would be good if Richard Gaunt could appear again. I would like to know what happens to him.
I don't know anything about the Army or Afghanistan, but the author seems to know his stuff on these subjects.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2012
Paul Torday is a skilled novelist who writes well and freely. The success of "Salmon Fishing in the Yemen" was no fluke, and he has taken now to writing adventure stories that owe occasional debts to John Buchan and even to the great Wilkie Collins. This novel is a good and gripping tale that centres on a would-be suicide bomber. Very occasionally it lapses into literary cliche and there are times when belief is stretched too far, but it is never easy to put down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2015
I wasn't blown away by this.

The concept is indeed interesting - and there was one shocking moment toward the end that had me gripped, but generally - nothing amazing here.

I particularly liked the descriptions of Richard's time in Iraq. I believed them and felt Torday researched the military to an impressive extent.

It was a brave move writing about terrorists and suicide bombing in the detail he did. I'm just a little disappointed with this and I'm not 100% sure why. Perhaps the unsatisfactory ending tainted this for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2012
I was quite disappointed with this one. I've enjoyed all of Paul Torday's previous novels, but this one is written in the style of an action adventure with a very unconvincing story about an ex-soldier being drawn into a marriage of convenience with someone who appears to be an Afganistan refugee, but who turns out to be a terrorist. The story, the characters and the writing just didn't seem to gel as well as in the previous novels.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.