Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Birthday present
Bought this book as a present recipient liked it . I had a quick look at it and thought it was very amusing
Published 11 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not very funny and not much history
Once we have been told several times that horses fart and that Richard Hammond likes to blow up caravans, that's about the end of the jokes and there's little real history beyond the story that Dr William Gordon Staples built the first proper caravan. The book is full of inaccuracies (corner steadies are not for levelling a caravan on bumpy ground - the clue is in the...
Published on 6 Feb 2010 by Graham Boustred


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not very funny and not much history, 6 Feb 2010
By 
Graham Boustred (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Once we have been told several times that horses fart and that Richard Hammond likes to blow up caravans, that's about the end of the jokes and there's little real history beyond the story that Dr William Gordon Staples built the first proper caravan. The book is full of inaccuracies (corner steadies are not for levelling a caravan on bumpy ground - the clue is in the name) and stale old clichés (on-board toilets have been of the hygienic cassette type for well over 20 years).
There are thousands of really funny caravan stories and jokes, but they are usually written by people who know something about caravanning, and they are not in this book. In my opinion the book just too annoying to appeal to the caravanner, and it's not funny enough to appeal to non-caravanners. The only readers who will really enjoy it are those who are fans of Richard's special sense of humour (big bangs and crashing cars). I have given it 2 stars because it is more amusing than watching an episode of Eastenders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed., 1 Aug 2009
By 
B. Davis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I'm a huge fan of Richard but this book is abysmal, seriously, I wouldn't inflict it on my worst enemy and the only consolation I get is that Mr Hammond had no part in writing this dross. Do not buy it if you are expecting anything remotely amusing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nowt special, 24 Jun 2013
I bought this book in a bargain book shop for £2.99 and its rubbish.I bought it, read it and binned it in one day.To say Mr Hammond is a vehicle enthusiast he doesn,t seem to know what a transit van looks like because on page 99 he proudly refers to Bedford vehicles as Fords. There is very little of interest to any one genuinely interested in caravans.If you like pictures of Mr Hammond you will like this book because he is on virtually every page.Too sum up a vary childish book suitable for children!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Birthday present, 20 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this book as a present recipient liked it . I had a quick look at it and thought it was very amusing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny book - typical Richard Hammond!, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you are a fan of BBC's Top Gear - and you love caravanning (which I do!) then this is a must buy book! Great fun, well written and obviously inspired by Richard Hammond's deep hatred of anything towed behind a car! Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun book for bookshelf, 1 May 2013
By 
J. Murrell (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have just become a caravan geek so bought this for my growing shelf of anything to do with caravans real or not!! Fun to have on the bookshelf - but def not for reference or serious info!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can Richard Hammond possibly get any better?!, 5 Aug 2009
Richard Hammond, as we all know, is a presenter on Top Gear. It all used to be Jeremy Clarkson launching books, videos etcetera, and being in the public limelight. Richard Hammond was always considered 'the quiet one'.
Not that I'm saying I didn't want Clarkson to be in the public limelight...he's one of the biggest legends of all time. But I'm undoubtedly glad that Hammond came to his senses and started writing books...it started with What Not to Drive, which was a global success.

A Short Hisotry of Caravans in the UK is, without a shadow of a doubt, his best book yet. For the excretion of pure laughter, it is also.
Don't be fooled into thinking it's a serious caravan handbook for some strange reason...we all know there's nothing he likes doing more than hitting the plunger to the damn things.

In this volume, he ridicules caravans to such an extent one would suspect they're literally crying through their fibreglass strands.
It's absolutely hilarious. You may, though, have heard so many people say about so many different books that they are 'hilarious'. It may sound like a bit of a cliche to you...but it isn't. It's raucous, unplugged laughter concealed, (not very discreetly, it has to be said), in 141 joyous pages.

A must read for...caravan fanatics? Er, no...Motoring fans, no.
A must read for ANYONE.

Enough said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Richard Hammond's Caravan Confidential (Paperback)
A great bit of fun
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A short history of caravaning, 19 Dec 2009
By 
C. Foreman (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this book for one of my friends who used to be absolutely obsessed with Richard Hammond before she recieved the book she watched Twilight with Robert pattinson in and then became obsessed with Edward Cullen. However, after reading this book she soon turned back to Richard Hammond after she realised that he was a real-life and not just a fictional character and ahe loved the content of the book too. It is interesting for anyone and not just for those who enjoy caravanning because it is a funny side of caravanning and is enjoyable for anyone to read and i would definately recommend it xD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 29 May 2009
By 
Absolutely fabulous. I am a big fan of Hammond and I could not put this down. Would definately recommend this to others. Very well written, extremely witty! Well done Hammond!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Richard Hammond's Caravan Confidential
Richard Hammond's Caravan Confidential by Richard Hammond (Paperback - 10 April 2014)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews