Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Biography I've Ever Read
I have been fascinated by Mary, Queen of Scots, since I first heard about her in a history lesson when I was about 9 years old. I was very shocked by the fact that she was executed, partly because she was a queen and partly because she was a woman. I felt that her fate was so unfair and have never come across anything to change that vivid first impression.
I loved...
Published on 7 Feb. 2004 by SMG

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, and thorough, biography
I shall keep this review brief as previous reviewers have covered the pros, and cons, of this book. All in all, I enjoyed the biography. I have never read a biography of Mary, Queen of Scots before and here Antonia Fraser provides a thorough study of this unfortunate queen. The book is immensely readable (as are all of Fraser's books I have read so far), scholarly and...
Published on 3 Oct. 2010 by Matthew Turner


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars great read, 6 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this is a great read and a must for all fans of the fascinating story of mary queen of scots.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mary Stewart, 30 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Antonia Fraser always makes history look easy. As usual it is well researched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mary Queen of Scots (Hardcover)
Poor state of condition when received , but didn't effect the excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DETAILED AND AUTHORITATIVE, 5 April 2012
By 
J. Colin Moss "CM Edinburgh" (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mary Queen Of Scots (Paperback)
Absolutely brilliant book.

Dense at places, but written to engage the reader in Mary and her life, you feel that you get to know her as you read.

Yes it is academic in style, but given the range of sources investigated the writer has managed to pull back the layers to show the reality as well.

So why only four stars? THere are a lot of quotations in French (which I do not speak) which are not translated. Not too many, but enough to irritate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mary Queen of Scots (Paperback)
Fraser writes beautifully, has encouraged me to read more history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Opinionated, 2 Aug. 2009
This review is from: Mary Queen Of Scots (Paperback)
A very well researched book which covers Mary's entire life. However, the author is so in love with her subject that she continually presents her own opinion as fact and tries to present Mary in a continually positive light. This occurs so often throughout the book that I found it extremely distracting and annoying. If I had a drink for every time she did this, I would have been drunk by page 20.

I'm not sure if I would recommend this book. I didn't enjoy it as much as I expected and was disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the complete life of Mary Stuart., 26 Feb. 2008
By 
S. A. Kuipers (Groningen, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
One or two reviewers down: Wasn't Mary thee times a widow? Bothwell died before her too, I seem to recall. Quite horribly, too: he was locked up in a dungeon in some castle in Denmark. He was held there, chained to a stone pillar, for ten years. In that time nobody spoke to him (his wardens were expressly forbidden to do so) and his food and drink was brought through a small trap door. After a few years he was a raving lunatic and after that, for the last two to three years he was there, completely catatonic. When he hadn't touched his food for two weeks, they looked in on him and found his dead body clothed in scraps and rags, covered in filth, sores and vermin. He had starved to death. The odd thing is, and it is quite touching too in a way, is that after his death his body was taken out of his cell and was cleaned up, washed, shaved, embalmed and dressed in finery befitting a man of his station. He was given decent christian burial. Why the King of Denmark had treated him so badly in life is not known, nor why he was decently laid out and buried after his death. After Mary's flight to England in 1568 Bothwell is never mentioned again in many books, which is odd: the tragic story of his captivity and death marks a poignant and moving epilogue to their marriage. Nine years after him, Mary would die.
We know she knew Bothwell died, but was she ever told how horrible his end had been....I wonder. This is very good book. Read it and get aquainted with Mary Stuart and her troubled life and times. O and Darnley was a stupid pr*ck, a nasty egocentric spoilt little toff who was a willing if useless pawn in the schemes and intrigues of his ghastly and over-ambitious parents. Bothwell was a hundred times the man Darnley was, Oh Mary Stuart, Oh James Bothwell: why dinnea ye two hi yesel' tae Holland or Flanders, or tae France even, and live happily ever after... Instead of which bliss it was a stone pillar that did for the one, and three strokes of an axe for the other. Sic transit...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mary Queen of Scots (Hardcover)
Definitive
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent value well packaged no problems at, 8 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mary Queen Of Scots (Paperback)
excellent value well packaged no problems at all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 18 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Too much useless information
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mary Queen Of Scots
Mary Queen Of Scots by Lady Antonia Fraser (Paperback - 7 May 2009)
£10.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews