Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Biography I've Ever Read
I have been fascinated by Mary, Queen of Scots, since I first heard about her in a history lesson when I was about 9 years old. I was very shocked by the fact that she was executed, partly because she was a queen and partly because she was a woman. I felt that her fate was so unfair and have never come across anything to change that vivid first impression.
I loved...
Published on 7 Feb 2004 by SMG

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, and thorough, biography
I shall keep this review brief as previous reviewers have covered the pros, and cons, of this book. All in all, I enjoyed the biography. I have never read a biography of Mary, Queen of Scots before and here Antonia Fraser provides a thorough study of this unfortunate queen. The book is immensely readable (as are all of Fraser's books I have read so far), scholarly and...
Published on 3 Oct 2010 by Matthew Turner


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars My feedback on this book, 12 May 2013
Very informative and easy to read, the author has done her research very well. Due to my love of history, I ordered this book and am enjoying reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well Written, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really well researched and I believe an accurate account of events at that time...Excellent...
Gives Mary Queen of Scots a voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great read, 6 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this is a great read and a must for all fans of the fascinating story of mary queen of scots.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of her best books, 29 Dec 2012
Mary Queen of Scots was perhaps the unluckiest royal in history. Queen of France thanks to her marriage to Francis II, the physically weak boy-king she adored, she returned to her native Scotland on his death, presumably still a virgin as the boy had presumably been incapable -- according to the excellent IN MY END IS MY BEGINNING, A LIFE OF MARY QUEEN OF SCOTS by James Mackay -- of `penetration.' The English Elizabeth sent another boy, Darnley, this one tall for the equally very tall Mary, to ensnare the Scottish Queen. Melville described him as `more like a woman than a man,' for he was `lady-faced.' The boy reportedly was intimate with Mary's secretary, David Riccio, forming another of those crowded royal happenings. Riccio was assassinated while hiding behind the queen, the blade passing so close to her shoulder that she could feel the cold steel. Then her adviser, Bothwell, hatched a plot to blow up Darnley, but when the boy escaped, Bothwell strangled him. Bothwell then raped Mary so that `the Queen could not but marry him, seeing he had ravished her.' She wrote a Bishop, `Albeit we found his doings rude, yet were his words and answers gentle.' (Autres temps, autres moeurs.) Bothwell was married at the time, but his wife, presented with the God-fatherly `offer she couldn't refuse', in this case divorce or poison, consented to divorce. The marriage lasted just 4 weeks. Scottish nobles rose up against Bothwell who escaped to Denmark where he was imprisoned under the cruelest conditions imaginable, and where his mummified corpse can be seen to this day. Mary escaped to England ... but I've said enough. It's 5 star.
Antonia Fraser's MARY QUEEN OF SCOTS, although written over 30 years ago, is still an excellent read. My own books can be found on Amazon under Michael Hone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great, 9 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great book on a fascinating subject. The only criticism is the author seems a bit in love with the Queen of Scots herself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mary Queen of Scots, 24 Aug 2010
By 
Ms. B. Langton "Pepper" (Derbyshire, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Any book by Antonia Fraser Can be relied on to be a good read. A full and interesting account of the life of Mary, Queen of Scots.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars history made interesting, 10 July 2010
This was the first Antonia Fraser book I have read. She had obviously done her research well and managed to provide a detailed analysis of the Queen's character as well as the background history, which made the book particularly easy to read and very interesting. I intend to read another of her books in the very near future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mary Queen of Scots, 13 Jun 2009
By 
Mrs. M. Key (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mary Queen of Scots (Hardcover)
An excellent book to keep for factual accuracy and reference, as well as being extremely readable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Martyrology, not biography., 15 Feb 2009
By 
K. Violi (Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mary Queen of Scots (Paperback)
I really wish I could like this book. I am fascinated by this historical period and I was eager to read this biography and at the beginning I really liked. However the book is way to biased to be a really useful reading: Mary is described as an icon, not as a woman, every achievement of her life being due to her saintly goodness and every failure (many) to her judgement being momentarily impaired by sickness or bad counseling. All of this would have been acceptable if some of the "different views" on Mary's disastrous life and political career had been examined at some length, giving a more objective portrait of her, but as it is the book is only a good read if you have already formed a religious opinion that she was a faultless saint and you want to read at length of how unjustly misused she was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well written, 7 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Mary Queen Of Scots (Hardcover)
This book gives you an excellent insight into social history of this country in Elizabethan times. Ms Fraser's book is well researched and definately well written. You feel as helpless as Mary herself, desperate to give her some freedom. It is no wonder she made some disasterous decisions. Ms Fraser informs the reader so well of the conditions and political atmosphere of this time in history that the pattern of events are put successfully into context.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mary Queen Of Scots
Mary Queen Of Scots by Lady Antonia Fraser (Paperback - 7 May 2009)
9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews