Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Relevant to Today's Political Climate, 11 Jan. 2010
By 
zeev wolfe (MetroWest Boston, MA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The State Counsellor: Further Adventures of Fandorin (Erast Fandorin 6) (Paperback)
In the "State Counsellor" Akunin once again hits the target squarely in the middle. In the last decade of the nineteenth century, terrorists (nationalists, socialists, anarchists and just plain crazies) hunted and killed not just Monarchs and Generals, but Politicians and anyone in authority. At the beginning of this novel a man disguised as Fandorin murders the new Governor General of Siberia, in a train that is packed with soldiers. The knife has the letters "CG" for Combat Group etched into the blade. The CG is the militant arm of the Socialist Party and the successor to the "People's Will".

Fandorin's job is to find not only the killer but also the CG. Unknown to Fandorin (at least at the beginning), there is a 'leak' in the Police Department/ Internal Security. The leak (under the initials "TG") is supplying the CG with information to be used to eliminate high state officials. An officer from St. Petersberg (an aide-de-camp) of the Tsar, is sent to Moscow to take over the investigation. It appears that the Governor General of Moscow (and Fandorin's mentor) is about to be 'retired', leaving Fandorin without a 'patron'.

As always, under Akunin's deft hand, Fandorin is able to triumph over all sorts of plots and counter-plots, not to mention some unlikely turncoats. The one weakness in this story is the authors heavy handed treatment of three romances that go on as a backdrop to the story which seem to be superfluous. As in many Russian stories, there appears to be a level of anti-semetism in the book, but it's hard to tell whether Akunin means for this to be an accusation of the society at that time or an indictment of current Russian society.

There is an interesting epilogue, which to mention would be a huge spoiler. You will though, see a major change to Fandorin's character in the next book.

Zeev Wolfe
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More intrigue and adventure, 2 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The State Counsellor: Further Adventures of Fandorin (Erast Fandorin 6) (Paperback)
I am busy reading all the books on Erast Fandorin who is our hero. What fascinates me is that each book is so different, Erast is growing more mature and wiser in each book although his problem solving analytical skills remain as sharp as ever. This book is set in a more anarchistic period when the people are rising towards the forthcoming revolution of Russia; there is terrorism and bombs and extreme views from all parties. The views of the characters are very thought provoking as it is a period of history in which Russia was changed forever..I love the books by Boris Akunin and understand why he has sold 18 million or so in Russia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Series standard maintained, 5 Mar. 2010
By 
Graham R. Hill (Ilkley) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The State Counsellor: Further Adventures of Fandorin (Erast Fandorin 6) (Paperback)
Many such series begin to flag well before this point, but Akunin is maintaining the standard at a high level. It's probably the fact that while he is clearly a very competent writer and creates an entirely believable background for the action, he doesn't take the rest of it at all seriously. This is tongue-in-cheek in the extreme and therefore its implausability does not detract from one's enjoyment.

If I have a complaint it is that this is actually over-plotted; he could easily have lost the 'Diana' sub-plot without detracting from the book at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Me gusta, 31 Aug. 2011
This review is from: The State Counsellor: Further Adventures of Fandorin (Erast Fandorin 6) (Paperback)
El problema con los libros de Boris Akunin, al menos los de esta serie, es que siempre pone a un narrador ajeno a Fandorin, y este tarda en aparecer, cuando para mi es el primer aliciente de estas novelas, lástima que no lo traduzcan al castellano
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boris Akunin does it again!, 10 April 2009
By 
Mrs. C. Birdthistle "Cristina Bird" (Limerick, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The State Counsellor: Further Adventures of Fandorin (Erast Fandorin 6) (Paperback)
I have now purchased all of this series' books since I found them in Russia in January 09. if you like nice detective work, full of descriptions of 19th century Russia, this is for you. I especially like the way the author starts the chapters with a comment that entice you to continue for example "Chapter 4, in which Fandorin realises that his day will end up worse than it started". A real gem and very enjoyable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Canadian is the man, 28 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
have now read 5 of the fandoran books. all highly entertaining. Atmosphere good, especially the state councillor.Fandoran is the star
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another brilliant quick paced whodunnit, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The State Counsellor: Further Adventures of Fandorin (Erast Fandorin 6) (Paperback)
A great read. Could scarcely put it down. Elegant writing and suspense in equal measure. Very much enjoyed and heartily recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slightly flawed, but still terrific!, 8 Jan. 2010
This review is from: The State Counsellor: Further Adventures of Fandorin (Erast Fandorin 6) (Paperback)
"The State Counsellor", the sixth book in the Erast Fandorin series, sees the beloved gentleman sleuth investigating the murder of the Governor General of Siberia by terrorists. But only after proving his own innocence first. Our hero, using his razor-sharp powers of deduction, quickly concludes he has been framed and that there is an informer in the ranks, and then sets out to expose the traitor.

The translation is superb and the book itself is a delight, although the conclusions become obvious three quarters through. Despite the subtle humour in the story, however, the tone of the book is slightly less playful than before. We see, as one reviewer rightly commented, a more vulnerable, more human side to Fandorin. But even so, the character remains as charismatic, as enigmatic and as debonair as he has ever done.

One problem I had with the book was that different names were used for the same characters. It distracted me from the story at times. Unfortunately, this is something beyond the translator's control, due to Russian language conventions. 'Tis most confusing for the reader, though!

The muddle with the names aside, the Erast Fandorin series still remains an utter gem and the author has not let us down with " The State Counsellor". I've gone on to buy the next instalment and I've every confidence Mr Akunin will deliver the goods once again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The State Counsellor: Further Adventures of Fandorin (Erast Fandorin 6) (Paperback)
Great transaction and the book is great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The State Counsellor: Further Adventures of Fandorin (Erast Fandorin 6)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews