Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprising
I'm not a particular fan of spy stories, and I picked this book up without any great expectations. However I was pleasantly surprised. This is not genre writing as such, rather good literature. It is well written, has strong, well drawn characters, and has the knack of creating totally believable and engrossing scenes. The setting is interesting, and I was very impressed...
Published on 20 Dec 2003

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not His Best Outing
This is the fifth of Furst's seven WWII espionage novels I've read, and not one of his best. To be sure, it has all the trademarks of his work: good writing, dedication to period detail, oppressive and dreary atmosphere, exotic locales (Paris, Istanbul, Odessa, Belgrade, etc.), a middle-aged loner protagonist caught up in the espionage intrigues of the time, love...
Published on 25 Mar 2003 by A. Ross


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprising, 20 Dec 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Blood of Victory (Paperback)
I'm not a particular fan of spy stories, and I picked this book up without any great expectations. However I was pleasantly surprised. This is not genre writing as such, rather good literature. It is well written, has strong, well drawn characters, and has the knack of creating totally believable and engrossing scenes. The setting is interesting, and I was very impressed with the historical detail, and the knowledgeable interpretation of complex events. Perhaps best of all, however, was the way the book captured the alienation of individuals exiled from their own countries, drawn into a web of espionage in order to resist the Nazis. No simple judgements here, just a fine slice of realistic writing. I shall be reading anything by Alan Furst I can lay my hands on, and recommending him to anyone who will listen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not His Best Outing, 25 Mar 2003
By 
A. Ross (Washington, DC) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blood of Victory (Hardcover)
This is the fifth of Furst's seven WWII espionage novels I've read, and not one of his best. To be sure, it has all the trademarks of his work: good writing, dedication to period detail, oppressive and dreary atmosphere, exotic locales (Paris, Istanbul, Odessa, Belgrade, etc.), a middle-aged loner protagonist caught up in the espionage intrigues of the time, love interest, a blurry web of operatives. But that's the problem—if you've read a few of his books, you've basically read this one. The characters (especially the heroes) in his books are all starting to run together rather distressingly, and he's over-reliant on atmosphere to carry the minimally plotted stories. What's worse is that the pace of this one is absolutely glacial, there's barely any thrill in the thriller!
The gist here is that in 1940 the Allies are desperate to interdict German access to the vital Romanian oil fields. Having tried to sabotage them once before, they're faced with a tough problem. Paris-based Russian émigré writer I.A. Serebin is drawn into a plot to resurrect an old spy network in an attempt to strike a blow. However, Serebin's recruitment into this venture is never really convincing, and the weaving of the plot is so oblique that it's hard to get drawn in. It's as if Furst is so faithful to building the shadow world that his characters live in that he's forgotten about the reader. Which is not to say this is an awful book or anything, just that he's written better and might benefit from straying a little further from the European theater he's set seven books in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 7 Aug 2009
By 
G. D. Busby "Cornish Graham" (Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blood of Victory (Paperback)
This is (was) my first Furst (no pun intended) and it's surprising to see that a reviewer in the Sunday Times suggests 'the sophistication of Robert Harris or Sebastian Faulks'; this is shown on the front cover of the edition I was reading. Sorry, this novel comes nowhere near Harris or Faulks. The sentences are almost staccato. Fine, if it's intended to be avant garde, post-modern prose! For me, it really was disappointing and I gave up at page 83. Incidentally, having read Montefiore's Stalin - At the court of the Red Tsar recently, that was useful because some of the historic characters appear. However, there are just too many characters in Blood of Victory for me to keep track on - there are more in Montefiore's biography but, for some reason, it was not a problem then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Alan Furst pulls off another caper, 22 Feb 2003
By 
johnnybird (Tousanne Arizona) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blood of Victory (Hardcover)
Trademark atmospherics, a loner hero with lovers in exotic towns, a carefully rendered historical setting (European Theatre 1939-41) -- all these tell us we are in the midst of another thriller by Alan Furst. This time, the references are even more oblique - tho the obligatory reference to the bullet hole in the restaurant mirror is there - and there is a fog-like uncertainty about proceedings. Our unlikely hero is a volunteer - and finds himself in harm's way in a somewhat improbable way. (Why is he there?) At the ending he fetches up not trumps but at least....
The idea is to block movement of oil from Roumania to Germany. Sabotage to the Ploesti oil fields has been tried; it failed. Now the agents who've signed on with the British come up with another scheme. They plan to obstruct river passage up the Danube. This scheme requires cooperation from long-forgotten friends, careful timing, and middle European semi-competence. Good story with a satisfying solution. Compare to "From Russia with Love" by Ian Fleming. But read the first Furst first: "Night Soldiers".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very atmospheric, 11 Nov 2013
By 
Aw Hamilton "allanh" (scotland uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood of Victory (Kindle Edition)
Any book by Alan Furst is always a great read for its atmosphere. His research and geography is excellent to the point where I am there sitting in the same room as his character. The pace is so believable with the occasional flash of violent action out of the blue producing a result which affects the major scene of the war just a little to be acceptable and credible. Always interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another tour de force, 30 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood of Victory (Kindle Edition)
Alan Furst is as good and convincing as ever in intricate tail of attempts to block oil supplies to Germany by blocking the Danube. Downbeat ending disappointing but realistic and convincing - hence four stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 6 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood of Victory (Paperback)
I am going to reread this book , because the detail of what happened on the Danube, in Romania etc. is new to me & I do want to try to fix it in my poor unwell brain.

Never the less, a cracking story, full of incredibly complex, well drawn characters as always.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another good one from Alan Furst, 5 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood of Victory (Kindle Edition)
I travel to Central Eastern Europe often and I like looking for references in the book to places that I have been. This was quite complicated to follow at times but I am a confirmed Alan Furst fan so I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another solid Furst, 7 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood of Victory (Kindle Edition)
Plausible story of intrigue in central Europe in the build up to World War Two. Good page turner. Neat plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars More tales of the Balkans., 6 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood of Victory (Kindle Edition)
Another of Furst's detailed tales of intrigue and espionage set in war torn Europe . Not five star , the plot wanders a tad too far, but an absorbing read all the same. Furst always impresses with a detailed knowledge of the history and geography of his subject matter. As Lord Reith would approve, he manages to inform, educate and entertain once again. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa174c5f4)

This product

Blood of Victory
Blood of Victory by Alan Furst (Paperback - 5 Mar 2009)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews