Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
You have to sypathise with authors. We readers just sit on our backsides expecting to be entertained (for days at under a tenner).And we love familiarity;I could quite happilly read any part of the life story of Jean Casson whether pre war, war time or post war. The writer just brings him to life so well. A good test is whether you are sad to have the book end and, of...
Published on 26 Mar. 2008 by Richard Gollin

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Vive la France
This is not a sequel to The Polish Officer as Amazon suggest but to The World at Night.
It continues the story of Jean Casson who we last saw swimming back to the Normandy coast having been spirited onto a boat to England to escape the Nazis.
As ever with Furst, wartime Paris is carefully evoked and the historic accuracy of the story gives an interesting insight...
Published on 21 Mar. 2006


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 16 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Gold (Kindle Edition)
Atmospheric, engrossing and as close to Le Carre as I've come across - which is praise indeed! Loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Alan Furst has created another classic, 13 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Gold (Paperback)
Alan Furst is in a class of his own
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly atmospheric, 30 Oct. 2007
By 
Paul "paullatham" (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Red Gold (Paperback)
A superb book by the master of WW2 spy fiction. Yes, the plot may be a bit difficult to follow, but drink in that atmosphere!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Red Gold, 30 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Gold (Kindle Edition)
Alan Furst is unsurpassed in his ability to conjure up the atmosphere of pre-war and war-torn Europe. It is always a pleasure to read his work. My problem is that I have read all the books in his canon. A great loss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 30 Sept. 2009
This review is from: Red Gold (Paperback)
Another intriguing war time spy style thriller by Furst. Really enjoyed it. Brilliant detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Were the reviewers reading the same book ??, 1 Sept. 2009
By 
This review is from: Red Gold (Paperback)
My copy of this book has four sides of reviewers comments repeatedly praising every aspect of the story and writing (eg. "one of the best page turners of the year" ). However having managed to finish the book I can say this was probably the most boring, irritating, and downright meaningless creations in the espionage genre. If Alan Furst is rated as one of the top thriller writers then please help save litarature from any more of this nonsense, and don't write any more. Not only is the story endlessly dull in content, the main charater as a spy does nothing more than wander from one pointless situation to another. Mr Furst may also like to check his error on P.166 where a truck engine is stated as already running then being started all in one paragraph. If you want excitement from a book then don't choose this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Red Gold
Red Gold by Alan Furst (Paperback - 30 April 2009)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews