Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nicely tied sequel
This is Carol Drinkwater's much anticipated sequel to "The Olive Route". It was worth the wait. In this tranche she travels to the western Mediterranean to see for herself the vast array of olive husbandry, from the intensive farming in Spain to attempts to halt the northward march of the Sahara in Algeria. As always, it is the story of the olive told through the...
Published on 17 Nov 2008 by C. Lynch

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Olive Tree
I missed this book when it was first published and only discovered it when it's sequel Return to the Olive Farm appeared. I am a great fan of Carol Drinkwater and have read and enjoyed all her other books in this series. She writes well and her books are interesting and easy to read. This volume is no exception. I admire her courage in travelling alone in dangerous places...
Published on 19 Dec 2010 by Mrs. ME Richardson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars The Olive Series, 3 Jan 2013
By 
A. J. MCGILL "No'Mad" (UK/Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Oh Carol, to quote Neil Sedaka.
What a wonderfull continuation to The Olive Series of books, can't wait to read the next book.
The history and variety of growing mediums for the Olives are quite amazing and you bring it all to life with your tales of life on The Farm !
Continue the excellent work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Olive Tree, 27 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really like Carol Drinkwater's descriptive turn of phrase, and all the historical information which she gives.I have recently stayed in mid rural Portugal and have become very interested in olive culture
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I have become an Olive Tree fan with Carol Drinkwater, 23 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Olive Tree: A Personal Journey Through Mediterranean Olive Groves (Paperback)
I enjoy the laid back pace of these books. I have Olive Tree paintings and Olive Tree photographs from my travels. I also like murder mystery - Robbert Goddard and the occasional Steven King - Variety is good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good read, 14 Mar 2012
This review is from: The Olive Tree: A Personal Journey Through Mediterranean Olive Groves (Paperback)
Another good book from the very good author Carol Drinkwater.I started with the Olive Farm and quickly had to buy all the others in the series.She brings it all to life.I now understand the ways of the mediterranean countries much better. Wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Boring, 31 Jan 2012
By 
A. Sharp (yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Olive Tree: A Personal Journey Through Mediterranean Olive Groves (Paperback)
I loved the books about the Olive farm in the south of France but disliked this one. It is educational and full of factual detail but not an entertaining read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too personal a journey, 3 April 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this under a misapprehension. I had anticipated that it would be about olives, the olive tree and the history of the olive tree - which it was - but had not anticipated it being such an immense travelogue. In this respect, I was disappointed, not being interested in Carol Drinkwater's difficulties with Algerian visas or her menus or her travel arrangements. I ended up skim-reading it. However, en route, my eye was caught by several passages that I enjoyed very much - for example, her pre-departure details about difficulties with her own olive farm and the bizarre funding arrangements and bureaucratic paperwork required by the EU; a lengthy trip into the North African desert in search of olive groves ancient and modern; and the sorry state of the terrain in Spain where olives are being irrigated in a way that leaves the region severely waterless. Her descriptions of the folk she meets on her journey were also interesting. Fluently written. So, overall, not without its pleasures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I''m a Carol Drinkwater fan!, 27 July 2010
This review is from: The Olive Tree: A Personal Journey Through Mediterranean Olive Groves (Paperback)
This is not my favourite "Olive" book, but it is still an excellent compilation of information and anecdote. She is often intrepid and courageous in her olive quest and always unrelenting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Olive Tree, 30 July 2009
By 
Melanie (West Sussex) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Olive Tree: A Personal Journey Through Mediterranean Olive Groves (Paperback)
A little disappointing when compared to previous books in this series. Nothing much happens and the olive tree (and her search for it) seems to take a back seat.
This must now be the last in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Immensely irritating, 14 Sep 2009
This review is from: The Olive Tree: A Personal Journey Through Mediterranean Olive Groves (Paperback)
Fairly quickly, I became immensely irritated by the constant digressions which prevent the narrative from flowing. I also disliked the writer's treatment of the reader as a total idiot - the last straw was being told that 270 metres is just over a quarter of a kilometer. Come on, Ms Drinkwater! Your readers really do have more intelligence than you give them credit for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Olive Tree: A Personal Journey Through Mediterranean Olive Groves
The Olive Tree: A Personal Journey Through Mediterranean Olive Groves by Carol Drinkwater (Paperback - 11 Jun 2009)
7.87
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews