Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect read - England's medieval Queen Consorts - a classic in the making
First I was quite a bit sceptical about this book project by Lisa Hilton. I am not too found of books covering several personalities and that over nearly 500 years. Very often, one gets never a real feeling for the personalities covered.

Well, I have to admit Lisa Hilton managed that brilliantly.

20 Queen Consorts are covered, each with rougly 20...
Published on 30 Dec 2008 by Amelrode

versus
29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Queens Consort - England's Medieval Queens (two stars only!)
I have been reading historical fiction and non-fiction for over 20 years, so was pleased to see a book covering all the medieval queens - while some are extremely popular in both non-fiction and fiction (eg Eleanor of Aquitaine, Elizabeth Woodville, Elizabeth of York), many others are much more obscure.

I have read a few biographies of pre-Tudor English queens,...
Published on 12 May 2011 by Sarah


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Good to dip into, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Queens Consort: England's Medieval Queens (Paperback)
I tended to dip into this rather than read cover to cover. Easy to read but factual, enjoyable and informative
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars These ladies were not just ornamental, 3 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Queens Consort: England's Medieval Queens (Paperback)
This book is written by a very knowledgeable author. Since I read the book, I learnt much more than I already knew about England's Medieval Queens. Lisa Hilton has been thorough in her research and these ladies certainly come alive, one after the other. They suffered homesickness, sometimes rejection, death of their children, but most of them were no shrinking violets and they left their mark in no small way on history. I enjoyed reading this book (I thought I knew what there was to know about these ladies), but there is always something new which changes the whole outlook on what these people were really like. I gave the book four stars because I thought there was too much detail at times which left me a little confused and had to read some parts over again to understand who was related to who.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Queens Consort:England's medieval Queens, 3 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like this book. It is a good dispassionate overview. readable. i will refer to this book again. Well researched
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 7 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Queens Consort: England's Medieval Queens (Paperback)
This book is a good read for anyone interested in the Queens of the Medieval period as they have not always been portrayed as much as the Kings. Provides good background and fills in the gaps. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Medieval Queens, 3 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Queens Consort: England's Medieval Queens (Paperback)
I am working my way through this book at the moment and it is very interesting and informative. It can be a little boring at times as what the authoress has to say can be said in fewer words. I would recommend this book to anyone interested in the Medieval Queens. There are books about the Kings but very few about their wives so this makes an interesting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars History needs more books like this., 16 Jan 2012
By 
Amazon Customer (stoke-on-trent, england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Queens Consort: England's Medieval Queens (Paperback)
Let me begin by saying that if you are completely new to medieval history then this book probably isn't the best place to start. Whilst this is a well researched and greatly needed book which fills a previously deprived area of the market, it is very much a book which requires you to have quite a good knowledge of some key medieval events. Without a grounding in medieval history some people may struggle with the authors very 'bits and pieces' narrative.

For the more seasoned reader of medieval history however, this is a great book. A quite detailed overview of each queen is provided and in the main their stories are very well told. If you want biographies of the Queen's more famous husbands then this is not really the place to look as Ms Hilton succeeds in drawing suitable portraits of these ladies with a minimal intervention on behalf of the King.

I enjoyed it more than I anticipated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 5 Dec 2011
This review is from: Queens Consort: England's Medieval Queens (Paperback)
Got this book for the first chapter on Matilda of Flanders for an essay. Love Hilton's style of writing. Would recommend it to anyone interested in English Medieval historians who need to look at the significant role women played!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Absorbing, 1 Dec 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Queens Consort: England's Medieval Queens (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this. It contained some great historical detail that I haven't found in other books about the period and it really brought the individual women to life. The main criticism I'd make is that at times it reads like somebody's PhD thesis: critiques of conclusions drawn by other writers, which are quoted verbatim. You don't get Simon Schama doing that sort of thing. The author is pretty good at drawing out certain themes (for example, the diminution in impact of queens interceding with their husbands for mercy for other people) but no strong themes emerge, which are what set the truly great history books apart. Nevertheless I really enjoyed this and would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good reading, 20 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Queens Consort: England's Medieval Queens (Paperback)
Queens consort is a very nice book to read.It is intereesting to learn more about these women, often one knows a lot about their husbands and one would like to know more about those queens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A engaging, fascinating read on a much neglected subject..., 13 Sep 2009
By 
C. Ball (Derbyshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Queens Consort: England's Medieval Queens (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this book. So many books on medieval history focus, understandably, on the reigning monarchs, ie. the kings, so it's very refreshing to read a book that focuses entirely on the queens and how their role as changed over the centuries. The Anglo-Saxon queens and the very early Norman queens had a far larger and more powerful role than their later counterparts - Stephen's queen Matilda, for example, had a very large role in saving his crown, and then there are the more well-known examples like Eleanor of Aquitaine and Isabella of France, who wielded great power and both acted as regent. But from the Tudor period onwards, queens became little more than breeders and ornaments. This book is well-written, with a very lively and engaging tone. My only criticism would be that the final concluding chapter veers somewhat off the mark with a rather dry and academic analysis of Beowulf and Le Morte d'Arthur and the notion of heroic femininity, which, whilst interesting, doesn't really fit very the rest of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa977efa8)

This product

Queens Consort: England's Medieval Queens
Queens Consort: England's Medieval Queens by Lisa Hilton (Paperback - 6 Aug 2009)
Used & New from: 7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews