Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars15
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 May 2012
Of all the Pirates books, this one made me laugh the most. When the Pirate Captain is humiliated at the Pirate of the Year awards he exiles himself to St Helena to become a bee keeper. As such, there's not much "adventuring" and the book is much more about the special character that is the Pirate Captain. I think we get a far more sustained look at the essence of the man - and it's hilarious. Only a rival as self important as Napoleon can really bring out the best and worst in our hero!

Warning, this book has a number of "spit out your tea" funny moments - be careful reading it in public!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2008
He's back. But, as promised, without quite the large quantities of ham we have become accustomed to! Without giving too much of the plot away, it's time for the Pirate Captain to embark on something a little different (in as much as Belgium is a little different to a bag of spoons). New nemise.... nemisess's..... nemi.... foes are found and battled and with Defoe's usual genius levels of imagination we are plunged back into the wonderfully silly world of the pirates. I loved the exchange of letters in the middle and the highly visual style of writing. These books are a real gem and a highlight of my month.
Miss them at your peril. Oh and Im quite fond of the pirate with the red scarf now. He's my favourite.
1414 comments|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2013
I love the pirates and their adventures. The pirate books are very silly, almost as stupid as The Da Vinci Code but not intended to have any basis in reality. I enjoy reading them on boring plane journeys but squeals of laughter can annoy fellow travellers.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2010
This book, and in fact, the entire series, is a wonderfully funny and enjoyous read! The series revolves around the captain of a pirate ship, the Pirate Captain, his crew, and the adventures they get into. In this book, the pirates cross paths with an exiled Napoleon Bonaparte, and the Pirate Captain and Napoleon develop an intense rivalry and dislike. Some of the humour is very understated, and some very overt. Especially enjoyable are the mentions of modern-day issues that the pirates are relating to their problems. I found the first book in the series in a remainder book store, and immediately sought out the rest. I only hope that Mr. Defoe has more of these books in store for the future.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2009
As a big fan of the easy-to-read franchise, this latest offering is a tad disappointing.

Defoe's delightful wandering style, with the customary tangents and witty asides, remains into this fourth title, however the main adventurous piratical plot is a little weak and reminiscent of the stories written in english class at school where you start off on a story, but decide you'd rather play football outside, which leaves the story to go from seemingly mid-flow to finished in the space of a few pages.

The pirate captain suffers from the absence of a true antagonist or hearty quest . . .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2008
I loved the previous The Pirates! books, and many is the time I've failed to stifle laughs on a busy train into work!
The latest offering in the series is amusing enough, but I can't help feeling Defoe is beginning to run out of ideas. Not much really happens and it isn't all that clever compared to the other "adventures". The ending particularly was an abysmally lazy piece of writing, which was a shame because only a few pages earlier I'd been reduced to tears of laughter at the exchange of letters in the island's newspaper!
Maybe the publishers were hassling Defoe to produce the book as soon as possible and this is the rushed result?
There's nothing wrong with being a one-trick pony, just as long as your one trick remains entertaining.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2009
Well worth waiting for! Yes, a bit different to the others, but that just adds to the whole thing! So funny, so clever. And, yes, fantastic for getting teens to read. Just leave lying around, and wait for results. And I think my favourite pirate in this one is the one who likes kittens and sunsets.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2013
So funny. I can just see Alexander Armstrong and the usual suspects playing The Pirate Captain and his crew. Other comedians could be pressganged into playing Napoleon and the other characters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2013
I bought this for my daughter and she couldn't put it down, very light hearted and funny, a real page turner and she can't wait for the next one from the author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2012
This is a great book as it is so silly & funny. It Arrived really quickly and was exactly as described.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse