Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A revealing insight, 31 Oct 2008
By 
Mr. A. Whiteside "tonyjackie3" (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
At first,I found this book to be a bit slow and felt that it had been written with an eye towards the American market.Gradually though,I was won over by Julie Andrews very interesting early life and the shocks she tells of.There may well be an element of disappointment when you realise that she doesn't discuss her film career at all,but her life growing up during World War 2 is compelling and interesting.

This auto-biography is an honest account of her life and is filled with various accounts she may well have kept hidden.The fact that her beloved father wasn't her biological Dad,possible incestuous intentions from her step father,the fact that she never really trusted her mother,the stigma of alcohlism around her step father and her mother.Julie pulls no punches here and deserves credit for her approach to this book.There are many points of interest about her life on stage and the many people she worked with such as Rex Harrison,Richard Burton and Roddy McDowell.She also shows she has a fine sense of humour at times.

I have no problem at all in recommending this fine book and it certainly makes you relish the prospect of a follow up that delves into her life in the movies.I feel that the inevitable sequel will be even more interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'HOME is were the heart is', 4 May 2008
This book was written with real heart!Reading about Julie Andrews home/work life was really interesting.Loved every minute detail of it.There wasn't any wasted moments,only wished there was more of it(plus photos).Really can't wait for the next instalment(hope it's not too long!!!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyable biography, 29 Dec 2008
I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. Its very easy to get into and and very interesting too, with lots of details of Julie Andrews pre-Hollywood days. I'm looking forward to the next installment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A lovely memoir, 26 Oct 2008
By 
Annabel Gaskell "gaskella2" (Nr Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a lovely showbiz memoir to read - Julie has the ability to see the good in everybody and make friends wherever she goes. This first volume of memoirs stops at the point Walt Disney was poised to make her an Oscar-winning megastar, but is no less interesting for that. I hope there will be volume two before long as I'd love her take on the first two films I saw at the cinema which were a soundtrack to my childhood - Mary Poppins and The Sound of Music. But enough of that, back to her early years...
Julie had an interesting childhood in Surrey, as her vaudeville entertainer mother split with her father quite early to take up with her Canadian stage partner. Once they realised that Julie had a voice very early on, her path was set and she entered the world of showbiz. Soon she was supporting her mother's side of the family as her stepdad fell into alcoholism and her mother not being able to cope.
Meanwhile, her loving Dad was a refuge of calmness for her - and remained so even after she found out he wasn't actually her biological father. This was something her mother threw into conversation one day - Julie was very level-headed about it and after meeting him wrote saying she didn't want to develop a relationship.
Her squeaky clean image as the virginal teenager with a glorious voice served her well on stage, managing complex arias with ease. Eventually she was spotted for a TV variety show, leading to recruitment for her first starring role on the London stage as the original Eliza Doolittle in My Fair Lady. Despite having no real acting experience she made the role her own, repeating it on Broadway, but famously lost out in the film to Audrey Hepburn as the studios wanted a film star, not a film unknown.
She eventually married her childhood sweetheart Tony Walton, with whome she had corresponded throughout the war. He was a skilled theatre designer and his career fitted nicely with hers. So next she went on to play opposite Richard Burton on Broadway in Camelot and the rest, as they say, is history.
Her image is no accident. From reading these memoirs, I think she grew up that way having seen some of the downsides early on and rejected them. As she blossomed it stayed with her - and of course made her fortune. She has barely a bad word to say about anyone really except her stepdad - but even then explains it away as an effect of his alcoholism. She obviously does have a fun-loving side (there is a lovely photo of her posing with Nureyev), but realising that her voice was her career - chose not to abuse it and moderated her activities accordingly. This book was a lovely read with some great photos - and so much better than any misery memoir!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Home Is Where Julie's Heart Is, 5 July 2008
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 122,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
At 25, Julie Andrews had it all: She was a Broadway star about to take on her first starring role in a film, Mary Poppins, she was happily married, and she had just become the mother of Emma. Her smile and lovely voice were known to tens of millions around the world.

But the path from her origins to those heights was not the expected one. In this candid memoir, Ms. Andrews takes us for an eye-opening ride through her family's genealogy, her career as a youthful vaudeville star, her experiences in becoming her family's sole support at a young age, and the many amazing things that happen in performing companies. It's a wild trip!

Before the book ends, she gives us behind-the-scenes looks at many of the giants of 20th century entertainment including Moss Hart, Alan Jay Lerner, Fritz Lowe, T.H. White, Walt Disney, Rex Harrison, Richard Burton, and Carol Burnett.

She is a lady in all that she has to say, but she does have opinions. The finely nuanced reading captures her true feelings in subtle ways that the book cannot hope to do. I could have listened to this recording all night, every night. It was marvelous!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good honest book!!, 12 May 2008
By 
Ms. S. Jones (bedfordshire England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If your a fan of Julie Andrews, however big or small, read this. She's had such an interesting life, so far. I feel this is a very honest book and for that reason alone deserves to be read.
I think the book was maybe aimed at the American market, as she explains some very British things, that you just know. As with an earlier review I hope there's a part two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful, 8 Jun 2009
'Home' is a brilliantly written memoir with many touching and powerful moments. Not necessarily something general audiences would expect of Julie Andrews. Her mannerism, her aura and beauty often make people think she's got an actual high class background which is far from the truth.

The book is very inspiring, it tells the story of a little girl with enormous talent who made it really big -- a success that was well deserved. Her journey from poverty to stardom had many difficult moments and if it's possible, it evokes even more admiration for the Dame.

Especially classy is the way she refuses to put anybody down and treats everyone with respect, however she remains honest all along which does convey the hurt some people and events managed to inflict on her. It's a great read and I highly recommend it to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The sound of musing, 25 May 2008
By 
Amazon Customer "Boo62" (Ilkeston Derbyshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This audio-book is quite simply a pleasure & in truth I really cannot find fault with it in any way.
No doubt many will prefer the idea of the audio-book over the book itself simply to hear the authors motherly, soothing voice. If so then they will not be disappointed. Her diction is flawless & she is a superb reader with all the warmth & charm of an old friend having a quiet chat.
Add to this her style of writing whereby she is refreshingly honest. Like any families her's has contained members whose lives have been somewhat less than exemplary & at times a bit of an embarrassment, but she does not spare anyone's blushes,(including her own),. However at absolutely no point do you ever get the feeling that she has been spiteful, resentful or hurtful in her descriptions. On the contrary she continually seems to look for the best & even when this fails when faced by those who have just been plain hopeless, she tries to understand & forgive all weaknesses & never spares us the details of her own failings.
The level of detail brings her story to life & there are a multitude of fascinating insights & tales to tell. You feel you understand her far more than before.
The one point that remains strongest in my mind having heard this is the sense of good natured & down to earth humour that permeates every chapter. She is very witty & has a wealth of experience on which to draw upon.
In the end this is as close to having her chatting to you in the same room as you are going to get & you are left feeling that you have been in the presence of a warm, funny & utterly charming woman whose life story is well worth listening to.
Julie Andrews has long been a much loved & appreciated actress, singer & writer of no little talent & expertise and listening to her recount her early years simply helps confirm her in this position.
Whether you are a fan of long standing, a film/ music buff or simply enjoy well written autobiographies then I cannot recommend this set of CD's highly enough. At home is how you feel when listening & I guarantee that you will be impatient for the next installment once you have finished listening to this.
My review is based upon the earlier release from the US.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very legitimate work, 10 Feb 2012
By 
This review is from: Home: A Memoir of My Early Years (Paperback)
I'm afraid I can't be very objective when it comes to Julie Andrews. So, do not judge me if I say that I adored this book. I was somewhat sad when I finished it and I felt I wanted to read more. I don't know if Ms. Andrews is planning on writing a second part to her memoir. I hope she is, but even if she isn't, I'm still grateful for this one.

For me, this book is like the British equivalent of A Tree Grows In Brooklyn, so whoever loved that one, will certainly love this one as well. The difference is that it is about a real person, someone whom we all know and whose films we've watched over and over. Julie Andrews talks about her childhood during the war, her first public performances, her first big break in the theatre, My Fair Lady, Camelot, and the time when she left for Burbank to film Mary Poppins. She offers a great insight into show business, talks about her insecurities, her fears and generally proves that she hasn't always been practically perfect in every way.

In a nutshell, this is a true and honest memoir.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for the Julie Andrews fans, 26 July 2010
This review is from: Home: A Memoir of My Early Years (Paperback)
If you love Julie Andrews you'll love this book, she's very open about her life growing up and how she makes it into show business. She tells of her troubled family life, her struggles with climbing the ladder of stardom and her voice. Just can't wait for the next installment as this book only takes you up to getting the role of Mary Poppins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa73d1eac)

This product

Home: A Memoir of My Early Years
Home: A Memoir of My Early Years by Julie Andrews (Paperback - 8 Jan 2009)
6.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews