Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Such gentle courage
Sisters in Arms tells the story of the Queen Alexandra Nursing Corp during WW2. An incredible history of courage, duty, discipline and the great British spirit that was so evident during the war years. The British army nurses, many of them very young women who had hardly ventured out of their own back yard, bravely fulfilled their duty to the wounded and dying soldiers...
Published on 4 Feb 2010 by Jane Byars

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Sisters In Arms; British Nurses Tell Their Story
Being a nurse and midwife i picked this book up.It was several years ago i read this very powerful book, it was not what i expected, half way through i wanted to give u there were very graphic passages, disturbing even, but out of admiration for those nurses i carried on. Well written.
Published 20 months ago by MRS C FORGIE


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Such gentle courage, 4 Feb 2010
This review is from: Sisters In Arms: British Army Nurses Tell Their Story (Paperback)
Sisters in Arms tells the story of the Queen Alexandra Nursing Corp during WW2. An incredible history of courage, duty, discipline and the great British spirit that was so evident during the war years. The British army nurses, many of them very young women who had hardly ventured out of their own back yard, bravely fulfilled their duty to the wounded and dying soldiers in extreme, often terrifying conditions. The book, through meticulous research and many, original diary entries, reveals the daily trials and tribulations of wartime nursing:
The inconvenience of maintaining a presentable, clean and starched uniform while living under canvas, in the desert, with a ration of 1 pint of water a day.
The desperate attempts to save lives of dying and traumatised young soldiers, many of whom were no more than boys, when equipment was scarce, conditions less than sterile and the number of the dying and wounded far outnumbered the hours and personnel able to care for them.
The horrors of capture, rape and murder by the Japanese.
The terror of the sinking hospital ships.

But despite these dreadful conditions there was an amazing camaraderie, a joy found in simple pleasures - cups of tea feature frequently - and humour (sometimes politically incorrect) - when a friend, getting up from his seat in a bar, falls over because he's forgotten he only has one leg.

Despite exhausting and terrifying conditions, the QAs maintain an incredibly positive attitude...."It's amazing how you can do with nothing, and such a boon when travelling." wrote one young nurse having suffered both shipwreck and capture by the Japanese.

In one unforgettable moment in the book, after a particularly brutal and horrific capture of a British Hospital in Hong Kong, a Japanese Commanding Officer asks of Sister Mary Curie: "Do English women never cry?" To which Sister Curie replied; "Not when they have work to do."

The stiff-upper-lip attitude of the war generation! We wouldn't be here without it!
What incredible women! A fabulous history. An essential read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A story finally told...., 20 Aug 2008
By 
Iceni Peasant (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Finally a book that tells the story of the remarkable women nurses in WW2. From the first page the reader is immediately transported to the world that these women were part of. From their nursing training to the weird and wonderful details of their uniform.

If you think you know what nurses such as these did in WW2, then think again. The horrors they endured and the terrible situations they found themselves in will shock the reader and leave you with nothing but admiration for their spirit and bravery.

The book has plenty of quotes and paragraphs from the women themselves, and/or diary entries from that time. A few of the women are featured throughout the book, and the reader will find themselves taken vividly back to that time and seeing it all through the nurses' eyes and feeling like you are really getting to know these characters.
A superb book, and a very important book that anyone with an interest in WW2 should read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sisters in arms, 2 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good book. As a retired nurse it was interesting to read how the nurses coped in sometimes dreadful conditions
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a wry take on attitudes then and now, 30 Aug 2010
By 
This review is from: Sisters In Arms: British Army Nurses Tell Their Story (Paperback)
I couldn't put this book down. It wasn't just the quiet non-nonsense heroism of the characters. I was also caught up in the subtext which was about how our attitudes have changed in our current individualistic age. What nurse now would put up with having to constantly adjust an elaborate white cap while ducking in and out of muddy tents in holey shoes, with no time off? As one character said, they didn't think about themselves but just got on with the job. Fascinating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good authentic history, 5 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sisters In Arms: British Army Nurses Tell Their Story (Paperback)
I was a QA nursing sister in the 1970s. Some of the stories were familiar to me because they had been told by my colleagues. Others were new. Recommended to all who want to know what it was really like, and what the sisters in earlier times endured.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly inspiring, 8 Mar 2009
By 
E. Wilkins (Lancs, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sisters In Arms: British Army Nurses Tell Their Story (Paperback)
I have just finished reading this amazing book and I am completely in awe of these women. The accounts of these women's experiences during WWII, in particular those in the east, and how each of them dealt with their situation, never leaving their patients and always putting others first, are truly inspiring and really makes you realise that these women are a breed apart.

To say this is a powerful, uplifting book is an understatement. It often moved me to tears, not because the content is upsetting (although there is no doubt that there are some truly hard hitting and deeply upsetting anecdotes) but because these women are true patriots and their courage, bravery and love for their country and their countrymen fill me with pride.

I recommend this book to anyone, not just females. This book reminds you how proud you should, and can, be to be British.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very moving andd graphic story of the life of serving nurses!, 24 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sisters In Arms: British Army Nurses Tell Their Story (Paperback)
Excellent book. Real life stories and accounts from nurses at the front. Moving but yet informative. Couldn't put it down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating read, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sisters In Arms: British Army Nurses Tell Their Story (Paperback)
I found a picture of my mother in this book, and learnt so much more about her life as a QUAIMNS nurse in India, that has backed up all the colourful letters she wrote to the family. Experiences from a few more people would have been interesting, but a good read for family or social historians.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars reading, 16 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great book really enjoyed it but will keep this one to read again. And love it on my Kindle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gifte for my Sister, 18 Jun 2013
By 
Peter Sands (Boksburg, South Africa) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sisters In Arms: British Army Nurses Tell Their Story (Paperback)
Another book purchased for my sister for her to read about our Aunt Mary Sands who was head of the Queens Alexander Nursing and one of the first allied nurses into Belsen. She is enjoying the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sisters In Arms: British Army Nurses Tell Their Story
Sisters In Arms: British Army Nurses Tell Their Story by Nicola Tyrer (Paperback - 20 Aug 2009)
9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews