Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin
AA Gill has opinions.
AA Gill likes to express his opinions
AA gill expresses his opinions in a very amusing and eloquent way
AA Gill's opinions may not be to everyone's taste, just as duck liver pate will not be.
AA Gill's opinions are served up in bite sized chunks in this collection - not a consistent narrative, something that it never claims to...
Published on 24 Dec 2008 by Big Jim

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Clarkson of the food world
Gill's patronising, middle class arrogance and his faux belligerence I can forgive. His over-use of similes I cannot.

It's a real shame, as Gill knows his stuff and there are some genuinely interesting and witty articles here. A pity then that his writing becomes increasingly annoying: dishes are as salty as "a fat bloke's cycling shorts" and sauces are "the...
Published on 30 Dec 2009 by scep


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin, 24 Dec 2008
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Table Talk: Sweet And Sour, Salt and Bitter (Paperback)
AA Gill has opinions.
AA Gill likes to express his opinions
AA gill expresses his opinions in a very amusing and eloquent way
AA Gill's opinions may not be to everyone's taste, just as duck liver pate will not be.
AA Gill's opinions are served up in bite sized chunks in this collection - not a consistent narrative, something that it never claims to be.
AA Gill...oh stop it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyable read., 9 Jun 2008
I agree with the other reviews that this should be read in pieces which is how I have read it. On the tube. Stuck between stops. Waiting to get across the district line and central London. However, this is a thoroughly enjoyable book and for someone who enjoys food or eating out with some regularity, you will sympathise with Gill's experiences if not be left speechless by some of his analogies. I have highly recommended this book to others and I suggest that if you enjoy just reading something before bed (or on the tube) then this is a book with very short chapters which give brief snippets into gastronomy and the world of a food critic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awfully Entertaining!, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fantastic rant from A.A. Gill on a variety of foodie topics - all of which are likely to strike a chord with anyone who has eaten out in the UK!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To be savoured in bite size pieces, 1 May 2008
Anyone purchasing this book should understand that it is not intended to be devoured in a single sitting. I can understand why the other reviewers may have had a hard time with this book if they tried to do that. Think of it as a year's worth of meals to be consumed at regular intervals over a long period of time. The perfect way to appreciate this book would be to read one chapter a day.

AA Gill is without doubt one of the finest writers of our day. His observations on life in general and restaurants in particular are both amusing and thought provoking. He is the one restaurant critic that does not seem to have been bought by the restaurant trade and gives an unvarnished critique of the industry. His put downs are hilarious and honest. His descriptions of food and restaurants both here and abroad, are the highlight of each week's Sunday Times and this collection of those reviews will provide pleasure to anyone who has a serious or even passing interest in food, drink and bad waiters.

I would thoroughly recommend this book to anyone - but don't act like a glutton - just digest it in the form of precious morsels of wit and wisdom from a master writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Clarkson of the food world, 30 Dec 2009
Gill's patronising, middle class arrogance and his faux belligerence I can forgive. His over-use of similes I cannot.

It's a real shame, as Gill knows his stuff and there are some genuinely interesting and witty articles here. A pity then that his writing becomes increasingly annoying: dishes are as salty as "a fat bloke's cycling shorts" and sauces are "the colour of a stripper's knickers and the consistency of a politician's promise". Describing kedgeree as the colour of "Chinese cowardice" is a cheap shot for the sake of cheap laugh. Worse, it does not tell us what the dish actually looked like (I'm guessing some shade of yellow). Lazy writing.

The kedgeree dish is from a lunch that he shared with Jeremy Clarkson, the only man to outdo Gill in his use of contrived and convoluted similes. The appendix references Clarkson on no less than 12 pages throughout the book. Enough said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars bonne état, 10 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
ce livre est arrivé en bon état, dans la période prévue.C'est un livre intéressant qui correspond à mes recherches au niveau culinaire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 22 Jan 2008
By 
JP (Cork, Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just because a column has appeared in a newspaper, doesn't necessarily mean it should become part of a book. There is nothing to get your teeth into here. "Previous Convictions" was a great read, and "AA Gill is Away" was very enjoyable, but this is really weak. It's one thing to read a short, punchy column online or in your weekly paper, but in a book, as a collection, this really didn't work for me and ultimately disappoints badly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very Disappointing, 22 Mar 2008
Really tries to make this book work but from the beginning it's obviously a case of "tries too hard".
I think he fails also.Failed to get past the first chapter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Table Talk: Sweet And Sour, Salt and Bitter
Table Talk: Sweet And Sour, Salt and Bitter by A.A. Gill (Paperback - 30 Oct 2008)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews