Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An easy read for an impatient as hell reader.
I picked this book up because, though I've read Elmore Leonard occasionally before, I really took to the character of Raylan Givens in the TV series Justified, which is based on his appearances in two or three of Leonard's stories.

Here, Givens plays support to the bigger story of a bookie called Harry Arno, ready to retire but pulled into conflict with his...
Published on 18 July 2011 by Nick!

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Discovering another author
I very rarely read American books, but I had heard of the author Elmore Leonard and when when he passed away recently I thought I would try one of his books. The choice of Pronto was pure luck. The story itself was O K but not what I would normally read but I think I will be trying another story later.
Published 10 months ago by John E. Moutell


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An easy read for an impatient as hell reader., 18 July 2011
By 
This review is from: Pronto (Paperback)
I picked this book up because, though I've read Elmore Leonard occasionally before, I really took to the character of Raylan Givens in the TV series Justified, which is based on his appearances in two or three of Leonard's stories.

Here, Givens plays support to the bigger story of a bookie called Harry Arno, ready to retire but pulled into conflict with his Mafia employers by the FBI in the hope that he'll turn snitch.

Leonard can write this sort of story in his sleep. My biggest problem with a lot of novels is that they're often over-written, but here Leonard gets into each character, and into their stories, with the barest minimum of exposition, spare description, and pitch-perfect dialogue and prose. It's exactly how a thriller should be, and I'm loving it.

(Course, I haven't finished it yet - not far off, but not quite - so it could all go to hell in the last few pages.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Leonard's best novels introduces his finest creation, 26 Aug 2011
By 
Kevin J. Monks (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pronto (Paperback)
Elmore Leonard is without peer for brilliant characterisation and inspired dialogue and Pronto is one of his best stories. An excellent novel. It also introduced perhaps his finest creation in US Marshal Raylan Givens (now made famous by the TV series Justified). The Raylan of Pronto will be instantly recognisable to fans of Timothy Olyphant's TV lawman and the book will seem like paying a visit to an old friend. Two of Pronto's best set pieces have already been lifted by the TV show. Fans of Justified might like to check this out while waiting between seasons. Anyone who has ever enjoyed an Elmore Leonard novel and anyone who enjoys Justified will get no greater pleasure than spending a few hours allowing Leonard to take them on a journey through Raylan's world in Pronto.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Justified', 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pronto (Kindle Edition)
Some of the names are familiar as are some of the story lines - but don't expect the series 'Justified' to mirror the books.- throroughly enjoyable read, even after watching all 4 series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 31 May 2014
By 
boots (lymm, cheshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pronto (Kindle Edition)
Typical Leonard, apart from james Elroy the best American author of the 20/21 century. Raylan is the man. great story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Elmore can do no wrong, 28 May 2014
By 
Aidan Walker "Aidan" (Fulking, West Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pronto (Kindle Edition)
Few others in this category - Chandler of course, Philip Kerr, Max Allan Collins, Jo Nesbo, Lee Child, Ian Rankin, James Ellroy (class of his own). Mr Leonard has a direct line to the rhythm and cadence of ordinary conversation, ordinary people's thought patterns. Not on the face of it perhaps an entirely attractive proposition, but his authenticity is second to none. And he's funny. Must read absolutely totally definitively everything he's ever written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great read, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pronto (Kindle Edition)
only been reading it for 2 nights but i love it.first elmore leonard book i have read but love the dialogue and characters in justified tv show and this is unsurprisingly more of the same. brilliant. will be reading many more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good as always, 9 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pronto (Kindle Edition)
In all Elmore Leonard books I've lost count of the number of times my second-guesing of the plot is proven wrong- he always manages to to keep you on your toes as to the outcome - and his deft characterisation and wit is very entertaining.
This book is one of his best - an entertaining read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Discovering another author, 19 Sep 2013
By 
John E. Moutell (Yorkshire England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pronto (Kindle Edition)
I very rarely read American books, but I had heard of the author Elmore Leonard and when when he passed away recently I thought I would try one of his books. The choice of Pronto was pure luck. The story itself was O K but not what I would normally read but I think I will be trying another story later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Raylan Givens debuts, 4 Sep 2012
By 
Blue in Washington "Barry Ballow" (Washington, DC United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Pronto (Paperback)
Thanks to the Amazon reviewers who recommended "Pronto"; you made a good call, in my opinion. This is Elmore Leonard at his tale-spinning best, with a lot of quality time spent on the development of some great characters. The plot is secondary as is typical of a lot of this author's books, but character interactions and the creative twists of the story are impeccable and engrossing.

Plenty has already been well said about the book, so I'll just add that it just made me want to read more of Leonard, starting with the excerpted "Raylan" that comes with "Pronto". Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Typically enjoyable Leonard, 23 Aug 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pronto (Paperback)
If you like Elmore Leonard, you'll enjoy every economic phrase of this novel. It's not one of his very best - the trip from Florida to Italy is unconvincing and takes the author away from what he does best - but Pronto does contain the first appearance of an irresistible character in Raylan Givens, the US Marshall from Kentucky who later gets his own show in 'Justified'. The kind of undemanding but thoroughly entertaining book you can read on one plane journey - and it'll make it just fly by.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pronto
Pronto by Elmore Leonard (Paperback - 18 Sep 2008)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews