Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Maximum Bob
Well up to Elmore Leonard's high standard, a crime thriller full of twists , surprises and memorable characters not least the eponymous hero ( anti-hero?).
Published 2 months ago by PJB

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Medium Bob
Judge Bob Gibbs gives out the maximum penalty in all of his cases earning him the nickname "Maximum Bob". Unfortunately, his zeal for hard time in all instances earns him a number of enemies. When a plan to rid his wife by having a trapper plant an alligator in his backyard goes wrong, Bob finds there's an ex-con out to shoot him, a drugged out former doctor now under...
Published on 9 Sep 2010 by Noel


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Medium Bob, 9 Sep 2010
By 
Noel - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Judge Bob Gibbs gives out the maximum penalty in all of his cases earning him the nickname "Maximum Bob". Unfortunately, his zeal for hard time in all instances earns him a number of enemies. When a plan to rid his wife by having a trapper plant an alligator in his backyard goes wrong, Bob finds there's an ex-con out to shoot him, a drugged out former doctor now under house arrest putting out contracts on him, and the alligator trapper is blackmailing him. And all he wanted was a date with the Corrections Officer Kathy Baker.

The plot of the book starts off well before becoming very slow moving throughout. Despite putting the book away for a week, I found myself coming back to it as Leonard's characters are fleshed out so memorably with superb dialogue. It's the characters that keep you reading even when they're not doing much more than driving around talking about drinks.

This novel isn't representative of Elmore Leonard's talents and I'd suggest readers go for the much faster paced books "Swag", "Tishomingo Blues" and "Mr Paradise". "Maximum Bob" is ok but doesn't have enough going on in it to make me think of it as a classic Leonard novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Maximum Bob, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maximum Bob (Paperback)
Well up to Elmore Leonard's high standard, a crime thriller full of twists , surprises and memorable characters not least the eponymous hero ( anti-hero?).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bob's your uncle, 6 July 2012
By 
Martin Grace (ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Maximum Bob (Paperback)
Good story well told in the usual Elmore Leaonard style.
It's gritty, real and sometimes a little sinister. He has the
knack of not describing characters in detail but you get
to know them through there actions, dialogues and
thoughts. It's the second I've read and I look forward
to reading more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another winner, 25 July 2011
This review is from: Maximum Bob (Paperback)
You only want to know if its as good as all his others. It is. Leonard is not just the greatest crime writer ever he's arguably the best writer around. Every word pushes the story forward and tells you more about the characters. There is no-one like Leonard and if you haven't read any yet, what the heck have you been doing with your time?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Leonard with a twist, 23 May 2011
This review is from: Maximum Bob (Paperback)
There's the threat of alligators [or crocs?] the whole way through this book. And Bob is such an unlikable guy you start to hope one of them might crawl out and eat him.

But he's charismatic too, in a weird, shouldn't really work kind of way. I like this about Leonard, the way he puts people like Bob in there, people you can't turn away from even when he's trying to sleaze onto the main female character. A definite plus. Actually, she's not just the main female character, she's the main character full stop. There's the other cop, who seems like he might get together with her, but it's mostly the woman's show. She's a bit like Karen Sisco from Out of Sight...I only saw the movie of that story so I'm not sure if the name's the same in the book...tough yet compassionate, and not crazy enough to go for a guy like Bob, no matter how much cash he has.

Best part of this comes about two thirds of the way through. I won't spoil it but it's a plot twist that really took me by surprise, and only Leonard could really pull this kind of thing off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good title for a Dylan compilation?, 8 Feb 2010
By 
Dave Gilmour's cat (on Dave Gilmour's boat) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Maximum Bob (Paperback)
A strict Florida judge (he's nicknamed 'Maximum Bob' because he gives out maximum sentences) sets his sights on a pretty young probation officer. Meanwhile, some of the criminals Bob sentenced want their revenge. Throw in some alligators, a believer in past lives/'crystal healing', brilliant dialogue, deranged crooks and unexpected plot twists and you have another great Elmore Leonard novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Grisham Courtroom thriller? Not from Mr Leonard, 12 Sep 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Maximum Bob (Paperback)
This is only the third Elmore Leonard book I have read and I would recommend it as a great read. Mr Leonard conveys us to the sunshine state of Florida, adds strong characters, a twisting plot line, and more 'street wise', than a person a third of his age could wish to achieve. Take this on vacation or read it at home to cheer up a gloomy Autumn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars First and last, 4 Jun 2012
This review is from: Maximum Bob (Kindle Edition)
This book was all over the place. Initially it seemed to be about a relationship between two main characters, but then one of these was sidelined, only reappearing at odd times and then disappearing completely by the end. He seems to have simply been an instrument of introduction to other members of his family, a plot device that failed miserably. Characters were crassly written, and ridiculous scenarios such as the romantic subplot that provides the motivation for the denoument, ensure this is not an author I will read again. I could write a lot more, but I shall just conclude by saying, don't bother wasting your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xad8214c8)

This product

Maximum Bob
Maximum Bob by Elmore Leonard (Paperback - 3 Oct 2007)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews