Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great characters and easy to read, 29 Sep 2000
By 
jpugh@ldv.co.uk (Birmingham,England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Gold Coast (Paperback)
I took Gold Coast on holiday with me this summer and was very impressed with Elmore Leonard again. He wrote a very exciting first chapter that makes you want to read on. He is so very accurate with his details, whether it describing the gangsters, who you seem to know and picture straight away, or the surroundings, he is so clear without having to go on for yarns to set the scene. It was only a shortish story but at 200 or so pages it is a perfect length for the tale he is telling. There were good characters, which are the benchmark of a typical Leonard novel, and you want to find out what happens to them in their weird lives. If you like the style of slick good guys and slighty thick tough hoods then this is for you. It was very enjoyable and fast moving but I thought it just lacked a little something. If I can recommend anything, then read this before Maximum Bob, as MB reveals some of the ending to the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Leonard's best, 19 May 2014
By 
Chris Pearson - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gold Coast (Paperback)
I consider this one of Leonard’s best. His 80s novels were consistently good.

Gold Coast concerns the wife of a semi-retired mobster Fran DiCilia. Following his death she finds she is a very wealthy woman, but only if she still remains faithful to him. Then local hoodlum Roland and ex-Detroit armed robber and con-man Maguire show up.

It’s a simple yarn that keeps you turning the page to see how these unconventional lives play out. There’s great dialogue as always, and twists and turns all the way. But will she stick with the $4mill inheritance? Or ditch it and make off with Maguire?

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Elmore Leonard, 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gold Coast (Paperback)
What more can I say, Elmore Leonard the king of crime. It's fast paced, good dialogue which really helps bring the characters alive and make them believable. The story, a woman married to a gangster in Florida until his sudden death, and an arrangement between the dead gangster (Frank) and his no.2 man (Ed) that his widow (Karen) will stay faithful to him until her death, this allows her to inherit 4 million dollars, however Karen is non to happy as you can understand and along with new love interest Maguire plans to flee with the 4 million and be freed of the clause. A great book thoroughly enjoyed read in 2 days
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The life of a mafia widow - another effortless page turner from Elmore Leonard, 2 Jan 2013
By 
AK (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gold Coast (Kindle Edition)
The author seems to be able to churn these out completely without breaking a sweat - easy to read books covering the semi-legal millieus of the 60s and 70s, which manage to work without being pretentious or corny.

The current one deals with a newly widowed woman in Florida, who also happened to be a mafia wife. In spite of her husbands demise, he seems to still be pulling strings controlling her life from the grave, something she is less than enthusiastic about.

On top of that, her fame, money and the less than offensive looks guarantee a good number of lowlifes suddenly eager to ascend on the gravy train she could potentially provide.

The book does not lack the signature Detroit chapters (Swag being a more typical example of his work set entirely in Detroit) but does a good job of basing the majority of the action in a fairly believable Florida of 1980.

Like in his other works I found the characters very well drawn - not excessively analysed but with enough detail to add some depth and credibility to them.

It is a great book to read in one sitting, either on holiday or on a day off, but will also provide easy relaxation during a commute or on a plane.

If you want a world of crime from the 60s and 70s US pageturner, it is hard to go wrong with the author, or the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A mafia widow's struggle for a life of her own, 19 May 2010
By 
This review is from: Gold Coast (Paperback)
Elmore Leonard (EL) has situated many of his crime novels in Detroit in summer and in Florida in winter. This book is about Karen, born in Detroit, but widowed for a second time while living in Florida, as the wife of Frank DiCilia, a taciturn, semi-retired member of the mafia. Karen is only 44, still looks great and would like to get on with her life. However, the few men with whom she had innocent dates or dinners since her husband's demise, never called her back. She learns what she is worth financially from her husband's lawyer, and the conditions attached: she is rich but Frank is ruling from the grave, saying that if Karen chooses a new partner the inheritance arrangements are null and void. She will be on her own. No four million dollar trust fund released in monthly instalments, no house and other property, no nothing...
Enters Cal Maguire, a former con man from Detroit. Will he be able to arrange the ways and means, the scam that will give Karen more freedom and full access to her inheritance? Of course, if he fails, both of them will get killed for sure. Woman readers especially should read this book and decide who they identify most with, and what they would do in Karen's shoes: settle for financial security, but alone, or take a gamble?
Many of EL's books have been turned into Hollywood movies. He is a brilliant plotter and a superior writer of dialogue. "Gold Coast" became a movie with David Caruso (CSI)as the con man from Detroit. Finally, only part of ELs books are situated in Detroit or Florida. "Mr. Majestyk" takes place in Arizona, and many of his later books do so in other states, or outside the US, in full or in part, in Rwanda, Puerto Rico, Djibouti... The Djibouti novel will be released in August 2010. This book is vintage EL enjoyment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Elmore does it again (for me at least), 4 Oct 2008
This review is from: Gold Coast (Paperback)
I am fairly new to Leonard's work and read them as I come across them. This was a bit difficult for me to read at my normal speed at first as he writes the dialogue with a cuban brogue which is probably understandable when spoken, but written made me think Eh? a couple of times! I slowed down my speed and was able to take more in.

The story is sometimes a little complicated, but fits together really quite neatly. I must admit to forgetting how Roland came into the story but he was there right to the end. Not the ending that many of us would have expected but still satisfying none the less.

Leonard again shows he is talented, writing a tale that is quite simplistic but extremely readable - if a little slower at first than normal!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gold Coast
Gold Coast by Elmore Leonard (Paperback - 3 Oct 2007)
7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews