Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Riveting, disturbing, and quite sad
After a slow start this book becomes "can't put it down" material. Rendell's research is exceptionally detailed and you really get to understand how doping benefits cyclists. Delving into Pantani's personal life is where the book excels, rivets, and upsets though. Reading about his decline and cocaine problems was extremely moving, and even after putting the book down for...
Published on 24 May 2007 by Mark

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Earnest but not engaging
Matt Rendell was an academic and it shows.
Yes, the research is painstaking, and he cannot be faulted for effort, but the narrative reads more like a phD thesis - too detailed, too intense and too complex.
To be fair, the first half of the book zips along nicely, but like Pantani's career, the second half falls into an abyss of drug tests, cocaine and blood...
Published on 15 Feb. 2012 by Patrick Heaney


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Read., 13 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Death of Marco Pantani: A Biography (Paperback)
Loved this book, fantasticly sad story but a character like no other. A must read for anyone interested in the darker side of cycling and of sport generally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very sad story., 9 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Death of Marco Pantani: A Biography (Paperback)
Ever wondered where it all went wrong for Marco? This well written book details his slide into drug abuse and cheating. Not for the faint hearted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Tragic tale expertly told., 16 Oct. 2010
By 
Paul Harris (Llantrisant, Wales) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Death of Marco Pantani: A Biography (Paperback)
A genuine tragedy of modern times. Rendell superbly accounts for the rapid rise and fall of one of the most exciting cyclists of the recent era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Detailed Read, 22 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very detailed read, Matt Rendell has gathered a dazzling array of the facts and circumstances leading to Pantani's unfortunate death.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Umm, 16 Sept. 2013
This review is from: The Death of Marco Pantani: A Biography (Paperback)
I have found this book very slow and hard to get into..but I will keep chipping away, the author goes into a lot do detail
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lacks a sense of proportion, 30 Aug. 2009
By 
K. Blackwell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Death of Marco Pantani: A Biography (Paperback)
I have to say I found this book a bit depressing, albeit a vast improvement on Ronchi's book on Pantani.

Where this falls down for me is a lack of proportionality. To the uninitiated you would consider that Pantani was in a minority of one in the same way that Tom Simpson was castigated for drug use. What we have in reality, since the beginning of this sport at the beginning of the 20th century is wholesale drug use; only the drugs of choice change over the generations; amphetamines after the war and up to the late 80's; then the more sinister and systematic and organised used of EPO.

As has been proven time and again, most of those we considered clean eventually got caught, the others were too smart or lucky. What we get from this book is effectively a lecture in Pantani's drug use without taking a wider view of the systematic use in cycling, and as we have found, in most other sports. Whoever thought we would here of track and field sprinters taking EPO!!!

This book would have been better if had concentrated a great deal more on the circumstances behind the failed test at Madonna Del Campiglio because effectively that was the beginning of the end of Pantani's life, his death warrant. What transpired was his awful spiral into oblivion.

I think every right minded person want to see clean sport. Pantani was a cheat, but it's patently obvious that almost eveyone else he competed against was also compromised. Consequently, we should criticise the use of drugs by Pantani, but also appreciate his ability in context to the sport. Rendall misses this in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hero to villan in 300 pages!!, 25 Aug. 2009
By 
Matt the moaner (Southport, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Death of Marco Pantani: A Biography (Paperback)
A top class piece of writing about one of cyclings biggest hero's and its biggest cheat. Couldn't put this down. A well written page turner and a must for any cycling fan.

It tells the sad story of Pantani's rise to the top and the drugs he used to get him there. A little complex in places, with regards to the medical aspects and the Italian names and nicknames. But all the same, you wont be able to put this down.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pantani, 11 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Death of Marco Pantani: A Biography (Paperback)
Big Pantani fan this was an excellent read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Death of Marco Pantani: A Biography (Paperback)
Brilliant read sad end to a great talant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 15 May 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Death of Marco Pantani: A Biography (Paperback)
Very sad end to a brilliant man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Death of Marco Pantani: A Biography
The Death of Marco Pantani: A Biography by Matt Rendell (Paperback - 6 Jun. 2007)
£6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews