Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


197 of 199 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Spiritual Life Saver!
As a Roman Catholic who has often wandered far from his spiritual roots whilst searching for some meaning to life, I looked forward to receiving my copy of this book, having seen the Worth Abbey documentary - The Monastery. Invariably a slow reader, I nevertheless finished reading this fine work in two short afternoons. If ever there was a book to make us take a good look...
Published on 7 May 2006 by Mr. Peter J. Regelous

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Challenging read but thought provoking
Published 4 months ago by Winifred Anne Gadsden


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars readslowly, 28 April 2008
By 
W. Bretherton (bolton.uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
i think it,s one of the best books on spirituality i have read for some time.it needs to be read slowly and more than once to get the benefit from it.highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Religious, taking time to reflect on meaning of life,, 16 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Finding Sanctuary: Monastic steps for Everyday Life (Paperback)
This book is written for all readers whether religious or not. It is easy to read and well written. Very thought proving and anyone who reads it will find it challenging in a very gentle way. Life changing, escape from the busyiness & mayhem of life. Rest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finidng sanctuary., 30 Nov. 2010
By 
This is an easily accessible book which I read in small chunks between my busy periods! Really good guidance on how to make that quiet space and what to do with it. The Abbott is full of wisdom and thought-provoking points.
I highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderfully gentle self review, 6 July 2011
By 
Mrs. J. Green (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Finding Sanctuary: Monastic steps for Everyday Life (Paperback)
What a beautifully written book. So succinct and accessible and yet profound in its depth. I found myself hanging on every paragraph as I spiritually ingested each chapter.
I have had the priviledge of meeting Abbot Christopher and he is both searching and non-judgemental in the most peaceful way. What a joy to be able to be yourself and be fully accepted jsut as you are!!
Oh that people would follow this way of living and loving they could begin th process of becoming whole again and not remaining in the damaged place where so many are trapped.
The best book I have read since the Raggamufin Gospel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Building a sacred space, 20 Nov. 2010
By 
E. L. Wisty "World Domination League" (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Finding Sanctuary: Monastic steps for Everyday Life (Paperback)
Abbot Christopher Jamison likens his steps towards sanctuary to a building project unique to each individual, each step building on the foundations previously made. First one must find the door, which is "virtue". Jamison's suggestion is to take a passage from the Rule of Benedict and modify it to apply to oneself: "I do not act in anger or bear a grudge. I rid my heart of all deceit. I never give a hollow greeting of peace, and I never turn away when somebody needs love. I speak the truth with heart and tongue."

Secondly comes the floor, which is "silence", followed by the walls which are "contemplation" - a bit like meditation, but more like prayer in response to hearing the voice of God in the silence or by lectio divina. The roof is "obedience", understood in its original etymological sense as listening to someone else. The windows are "community", protecting from the elements but enabling to see outside.

The furnishings are "spirituality", but understood not in its fuzzy contemporary sense apart from organised religion. The pick-and-mix, shopping for religion approach simply becomes part of the consumerism engulfing us in the first place. "At some point, one has to choose either a whole religion or no religion. Constructing one's own spirituality is a possible outcome [...] but it does not deal with the fundamental challenge of the wayward desires of the heart."

At the end of each chapter there is also a website and a recommended further reading text. A relatively brief book which deserves to be read slowly and repeatedly, and acted upon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Finding Sanctuary a review, 29 Mar. 2010
By 
WP Johnston - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Finding Sanctuary: Monastic steps for Everyday Life (Paperback)
This is an excellent manual for living for those who wish to develop balance in their lives or are interested in developing a meditative aspect to their daily living.

The book has some interesting and creative ideas as well as having features in common with other spritual/teachers of meditation from other traditions which demonstrate Abbot Christopher's breadth of knowledge in this area.

The idea of the basing the structure for the practice of a comtemplative life or "sanctuary" on a building is a great idea. It helps the reader to get the idea quite easily and to see how the book as a whole fits together.

Themes from other traditions inclued starting with virtue as does the Dalai Lama in his book "How to Practice". Also his reference to the Desert Fathers comments on nature of the negative impulses experienced by a person who commits to the spiritual life is also picks up on a quote in the Dalai Lammas book "The Stages of Meditation".

A good read especially for people from the West looking for a framework for meditation of occidental origin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For those who seek peace, 3 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Finding Sanctuary: Monastic steps for Everyday Life (Paperback)
This is a thoughtful book, well-written, to appeal to those of religious conviction and those who are simply seeking a place of sanctuary in this frantic, busy world with all it's challenges, deadlines and non-stop demands on our time. Father Jamison comes across as a caring man who does not wish to preach to anyone but simply to share the insights he has gained from his life of prayer, reflection and dedication to a way of life that is not only relevant to those who have taken religious vows but which may be applied to those who may be feeling exhausted at the pace of modern life but do not know how to make that space where they can find the stillness that is so necessary in order to feel refreshed and strengthened. It may seem that St Benedict has little to teach us in the 21st century but it is surprising how Father Jamison reveals to us that we have not changed as much as we think we have. A gentle and practical instruction on dealing with the pressures of modern life without too much emphasis on the importance of religious faith.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars setting oneself free, 9 July 2010
This review is from: Finding Sanctuary: Monastic steps for Everyday Life (Paperback)
On page 146 the author writes: ' Classic religion is about being set free from the idolatry of people, objects and techniques. It is about being set free from the constantly shifting sands of human desire. In classic religion you do not pick and choose; you learn a whole way of life.' The way of St Benedict is gradually revealed throughout the book in manageable chunks.

Silence seems to be the most important step and the foundation of a monk's way of life - a way of listening deeply to themselves and to beyond themselves and all the other steps follow.

This little book very clearly outlines the steps to finding sanctuary within ourselves and learning to cultivate a new way of life even within the busyness of a life in the 21st Century. It asks us to move away from the consumer lifestyle and reflect on our own busyness. There are 7 steps: Silence, Contemplation, Obedience, Humility, Community, Spirituality and Hope.

At the end of each chapter there are website addresses and further readings which are very useful. For example there is a link to a website that focuses on centering prayer and also one on the contemplative Thomas Merton (Trappist monk and prolific writer on spiritual matters, deceased 1960s).

A short book with some very profound wisdom and a useful stepping stone to further reading and exploration. Recommended. The final conclusion is that it is better to commit oneself to one religion than to pick and choose as we do in much of our consumerist society between the many brands of 'spirituality' available. An interesting thought to reflect upon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for anyone searching spiritual awareness, 2 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Margaret

I've now read this book 3 times and will read it again. Abbott Christopher gives a simple overview of the Benedictine 'rules' of spirituality and relates them, in layman's terms, to modern life. This book is not just for Christians, it's for anyone interested in spiritual development.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A book to base your life on, 7 Sept. 2014
This book is a fascinating critique of modern society which helps you re-evaluate where you are, how you got there, where you are going, and how to structure your life to find sanctuary. It contains old truths packaged in an accessible way, to help you apply them to your own life. It is easy to read, practical in its advice, and provides further sources for deepening your understanding and awareness. I would recommend this book to anyone seeking to find peace and harmony in their lives, whether you are Christian or not. It is especially written for people who have no knowledge of the Christian faith but equally caters for people who do. I have bought this book for other people and talk about it a lot. If you can watch the Monastery on you tube or vimeo or somewhere else ( I am not sure if it is available) or buy it I would also really recommend this as well(TV programme made by the author).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Finding Sanctuary: Monastic steps for Everyday Life
Finding Sanctuary: Monastic steps for Everyday Life by Father Christopher Jamison OSB (Paperback - 10 Jun. 2010)
£9.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews