Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating insight into the life of the Londonderrys
I love history and I just loved this book, knowing nothing about the family until I started to read about them. As a regular visitor to the "North Country", which, by the way, has some of the most stunning countryside, villages and towns (Newcastle and Durham) being the stars, I now travel around looking at the Londonderry estates .... all gone now, of course! A...
Published 15 months ago by Mrs. J. A. Popley

versus
7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Life of Edith, Marchioness of Londonderry
This is a highly readable account of the gilded lives of an aristocratic family from the last quarter of the nineteenth century into the post-war period. It describes very well the life of the privileged in this period - hunting, shooting, house parties, large houses with retinues of servants. However, the author seems to be in awe of the landed aristocracy and my...
Published on 5 Feb 2009 by Marand


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating insight into the life of the Londonderrys, 8 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Society's Queen: The Life of Edith, Marchioness of Londonderry (Paperback)
I love history and I just loved this book, knowing nothing about the family until I started to read about them. As a regular visitor to the "North Country", which, by the way, has some of the most stunning countryside, villages and towns (Newcastle and Durham) being the stars, I now travel around looking at the Londonderry estates .... all gone now, of course! A great read for any history buff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's Circe!, 14 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A most interesting book, but I didn't realise it was the book previously published as Circe so I needn't have bought it. The kindle version doesn't have the photos, which is a pity. A family tree would have been helpful. It's probably of more interest to those of us in Northern Ireland who are familiar with Mount Stewart, but it's a fascinating account of social aspects of the early 20th c and how a woman was able to influence politics....but makes me very glad I wasn't born in those days. Not much of a life for women, even the hugely rich.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Society's Queen, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fascinating read. However, I should prefer to read more about her personal life although I am aware that she was a person of her generation and politics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Life of Edith, Marchioness of Londonderry, 5 Feb 2009
By 
Marand (Warwickshire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Society's Queen: The Life of Edith, Marchioness of Londonderry (Paperback)
This is a highly readable account of the gilded lives of an aristocratic family from the last quarter of the nineteenth century into the post-war period. It describes very well the life of the privileged in this period - hunting, shooting, house parties, large houses with retinues of servants. However, the author seems to be in awe of the landed aristocracy and my criticism of the book would be that there is no critical analysis of the tremendous sense of entitlement that the Londonderries (and other aristocrats) had nor of their self-serving, self-regarding view of life.

Much of the source material is letters written by or to the Marchioness and therefore you don't expect much critcal analysis there but the author does not challenge anything or make any 'negative' observations about the life & behaviour of the Londonderry family to put matters in context. By way of example, the account of the failure of Stanley Baldwin to appoint Lord Londonderry as Air Minister with a position in the Cabinet does not reflect on why it should be that in the 1920's an aristocrat should assume that he should be in the cabinet, particularly as (although you wouldn't know it from this book) Lord Londonderry's previous government service had not been particularly notable. The account presented is sympathetic to Lord Londonderry and doesn't even attempt to question why he didn't get what he wanted. At another point in the book a rather derogatory comment about Jews was glossed over as being typical of the views held by many other people in his social circle - so that's alright then! With regard to Lady Londonderry, it amazes me that she tolerated her husband's serial philandering and continued to adore him throughout his life - again, there isn't any real analysis of why this might be.

Perhaps not surprisingly in view of its title, the book does not consider the declining position, status & power of the aristocracy during the Marchioness's life. Whilst the Londonderries may have been affected very late owing to their enormous wealth, Lady Londonderry's father, a landed gentleman and long-standing MP, suffered the practical elimination of his fortune & lost his estates. His story demonstrates the changing position, in terms of finances, land-holding & political influence of the landed class from 1870 onwards. There is nothing in the book which demonstrates the very great difference in the position of the aristocracy between the Marchioness's birth and her death.

The book is certainly a very interesting description of aristocratic life & social history - possibly worthy of 5 stars however because of the lack of analysis I have only given it three stars. That said, I enjoyed the book very much but would recommend reading it in conjunction with a more 'leavened' approach to set the story in context, for example David Cannadine's excellent book, "The Decline & Fall of the British Aristocracy".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Well researched biography of a minor figure, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Society's Queen: The Life of Edith, Marchioness of Londonderry (Paperback)
Edith Londonderry turned out to be a considerably less interesting woman than I thought she would be. She warranted an essay but not a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Society's Queen: The Life of Edith, Marchioness of Londonderry
Society's Queen: The Life of Edith, Marchioness of Londonderry by Anne de Courcy (Paperback - 3 Jun 2004)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews