Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely fantastic!
Batavia's Graveyard has to rank as one of the best books I've ever read. It tells the incredible story of how a bunch of several hundred Dutch people travel (for various reasons) on the great ship Batavia to the Dutch East Indies to fill the ship with spices worth an absolute fortune back home. But the ship crashes many miles west of the Australian coast leaving the many...
Published on 26 Mar. 2002 by James Powell

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Batavia "Dashed" on the rocks
I had high hopes of this book and i was not entirely disappointed. However, I thought it could have been a lot better. There is a very long lead in to the story that explains the religious and political background of the main protagonists Jeronimus and Pelsaert as well as the VOP (Dutch East India company) and provides some context for what was to follow. However, once...
Published 18 months ago by ivan connolly


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars true facts, 30 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batavia's Graveyard: The True Story Of The Mad Heretic Who Led History's Bloodiest Mutiny (Paperback)
outstanding true facts to horrible to contemplate ,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batavia's Graveyard (Hardcover)
such a great book I loved reading it over and over
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batavia's Graveyard: The True Story Of The Mad Heretic Who Led History's Bloodiest Mutiny (Paperback)
Great book, true lord of the flies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars your worst nightmare, 20 April 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batavia's Graveyard: The True Story Of The Mad Heretic Who Led History's Bloodiest Mutiny (Paperback)
I hated the depravity of this story but the addictiveness of the tale made me turn the page for more
It does get a little confusing with so many people having similar first and last names

I liked the way the author analysers the way a psychopath thinks and how very different things might have turned out had they made it to java unscathed
I could almost see Hitler in this person. Too squeamish to do any of the killing himself but every bit the sadist
Great research by the author and fantastic epilogue
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Slice of hidden history, 4 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batavia's Graveyard: The True Story Of The Mad Heretic Who Led History's Bloodiest Mutiny (Paperback)
Unfortunately, I read through this life adventure once and gave it to a friend. I'd intended to read it again, as I had picked up on a thread which such books don't reveal directly. It is a high crime to withold a people's past from them and Bratavia's Graveyard and others concerning pyracy and slavery newly emerging are, to some extent reddressing this outrage of hidden history.

We are fed a very false impression regards Empire and 'black' slavery, as if slavery were the exclusive condition for people of black skin whilst those of white skin lorded it up over them for immense profit. LIES. Bratavia's Graveyard adds meat to the gravy by honing in on a specific disaster, to give a rich landscape of the times. All it takes is one psychopath and they'll find their sychophants and victims, turning a crises into a catastrophe. Bratavia's Graveyard takes a slow motion camera to this tense, dramatic and insightful drama into the ways of the world then, and now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I lost it., 22 Mar. 2011
Fascinating book, I'd reached page 20 when my bag was nicked. Ooops. So interesting and written so well that I have no choice but to buy it again. :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batavia's Graveyard: The True Story Of The Mad Heretic Who Led History's Bloodiest Mutiny (Paperback)
very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Batavia "Dashed" on the rocks, 17 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batavia's Graveyard: The True Story Of The Mad Heretic Who Led History's Bloodiest Mutiny (Paperback)
I had high hopes of this book and i was not entirely disappointed. However, I thought it could have been a lot better. There is a very long lead in to the story that explains the religious and political background of the main protagonists Jeronimus and Pelsaert as well as the VOP (Dutch East India company) and provides some context for what was to follow. However, once the author starts to engage with the central theme of the shipwrecking and marooning of its crew and the events that follow it somehow loses its way. It begins to seem as if the author, Dash, true to his name, feels the need to get to the finishing line quickly. While I can understand that there may not have been enough material available to flesh out the account of what happened on those islands it would have been interesting if he had, perhaps offered some psychological insights or perhaps looked at some parallel stories and compared them with the Batavia. Unfortunately, the book, ultimately,n empty feeling especially when tit ends at page 394 with a further 131 pages of notes. There was a lot that was good about this book but overall it failed to live up to expectations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews