Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely fantastic!
Batavia's Graveyard has to rank as one of the best books I've ever read. It tells the incredible story of how a bunch of several hundred Dutch people travel (for various reasons) on the great ship Batavia to the Dutch East Indies to fill the ship with spices worth an absolute fortune back home. But the ship crashes many miles west of the Australian coast leaving the many...
Published on 26 Mar. 2002 by James Powell

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Batavia "Dashed" on the rocks
I had high hopes of this book and i was not entirely disappointed. However, I thought it could have been a lot better. There is a very long lead in to the story that explains the religious and political background of the main protagonists Jeronimus and Pelsaert as well as the VOP (Dutch East India company) and provides some context for what was to follow. However, once...
Published 20 months ago by ivan connolly


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well Researched, 9 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Batavia's Graveyard: The True Story Of The Mad Heretic Who Led History's Bloodiest Mutiny (Paperback)
Ever wondered what would happen if a ship was wrecked in the middle of the ocean, the survivors abandoned on a barren rock, and a leader stepped forward that had secret and very unconventional religious beliefs?

No?

To be honest neither had I. But this is exactly what happened to the crew and passengers of the Dutch ship Batavia in 1629 just off the Australian coast. With the ship stricken and the captain and senior crew gone for help, the remaining survivors are shepherded onto an outcrop of coral rock, with no food or fresh water. Jeronimus Cornelisz (an apothecary) is amongst these refugees and soon begins to take control. While many people of this time were God fearing, Cornelisz proved the exception to the rule. Preferring to follow his own twisted branch of religion he felt that a man could be absolved of any wickedness on earth as surely all our actions are controlled through a higher power. This warped view leaves us a man with barely a conscience for his acts as displayed in his treatment towards his fellow castaways.

I won't go into the events that happened upon Batavia's Graveyard but it really does give an eye opener into life on board a ship in the 17th century. Mike Dash has really done his research here and I am surprised at just how much information he has managed to cram into the book without it turning into an essay.

My one and only criticism of the book is that the last quarter is made up of notes that relate to the preceding text. This meant that they were a little disjointed and I didn't really want to read through them. I would have much preferred these to have been included as footnotes on the actual pages they relate to. This way the text would have been far more enriched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Only 4 star for Kindle reasons., 21 Jan. 2014
By 
bekibird (Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a brilliant book about a truly horrific event that occurred in the 1600's. Other reviewers have given the plot a thorough investigation so there is little else for me to say on that part but as a well researched and in depth tale of ship wreck, murder and heresy, you can't get much better than this! I am not a keen historian but I do pick things up that look interesting and this certainly did not disappoint.

Some reviewers found the close look at the political, religious and family lives of those concerned in the disaster as a little too much information, but I feel this is what made this book. Looking into the background of crew members, servants and families makes this a human story. The reader is made to understand the circumstances not only of the time, but also the intimate lives of the people involved. As an amateur genealogist I revel in all this kind of stuff (it's really quite difficult to piece together the true life of someone long dead) and I found the story from beginning to sad end, truly fascinating.

Dash has really done some excellent work here (he gives appropriate nods to other writers who have also written on the subject) but I think he goes the extra mile to portray life at sea, the fate of the passengers and gives some interesting facts along the way. I especially liked the explanations of the term 'Keel Hauling' (which I have heard and understood to be getting a good telling off) which is a cruel punishment meted out at sea and also some other traditions (peculiar to the Dutch I believe, in this era) where a mans hands are cut off (or just one if the offense is not as bad as a two hand removal) before hanging!

I will certainly read this book again as I am sure there will be bits I have forgotten already, however, as my title says, I will probably purchase it again in book form. I don't know if it is because my Kindle is an early version (still going strong since the day it was bought goodness knows how long ago, and therefore lets call it version 1 of the kindle range)but the tabs within the text that lead to footnotes didn't work. I had to wait until the end of chapters to read the footnotes which was a real hassle. Also, the notes at the end of the book (which are really useful and themselves very interesting) are difficult to read on the Kindle. Some pages are lists of authors, books and page numbers, but you have to read quite carefully in case you miss some interesting information. The pictures (maps etc) are very feint and practically impossible to read, which I found very annoying, as I would have liked to refer back to them at certain points within my reading. My Kindle is in good working order... but I may be in need of an upgrade to improve the performance of the book... mind you I'd be even more annoyed if I got the latest version of Kindle to discover the same problem... off to the bookshop it is!!

Despite these glitches this is a really amazing book that will see you involuntarily hold your hand to your mouth whilst you gasp in disbelief. I wouldn't be surprised if Hollywood gets in on this!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars shipwreck, 11 Nov. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batavia's Graveyard (Hardcover)
In the autumn of 1628 the East Indian ship Batavia set sail from Amsterdam to Java but unfortunately it was wrecked on the Houtmans Abrolhos on the west coast of Australia on 4 June 1629.
While the merchant in charge of the ship sailed 1800 miles to Java in the ships boat to summons rescuers leaving 270 passengers and crew without food or water.
200 passengers and crew made it to shore and 70 were left on the damaged ship. The horrors then started-115 men women and children were murdered on the orders of a psychotic assistant merchant.
A well told fascinating story with extensive notes and an extensive bibliography.
A must read to find out the ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating Lost History Reborn, 7 Oct. 2012
By 
aussie mark (melbourne australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batavia's Graveyard: The True Story Of The Mad Heretic Who Led History's Bloodiest Mutiny (Paperback)
This is an excellent work - well researched (with over 100 pages of notes at the end) and written in an entertaining style throughout. The reader can sense the passion with which the author approaches the subject. There is a well constructed interposition of re-telling the tragic, bizarre history of events on the Batavia, and background on life in 17th century Holland to set the context of those events. The book is non-fiction, and describes events in a dispassionate manner but with use of expression that maintains interest. The main characters are skillfully drawn from extant records, which the author concedes are so incomplete now that he can only speculate on why certain behaviour occurred. The story of the Batavia is a fascinating episode from 17th century history of the European spice trade and their exploration of the great unknown southern oceans and land mass of Australia. How one psycopathic man Jeronomius created a real life adult version of 'Lord of the Flies' on a wind-swept, barren coral reef 50 miles off the coast of Western Australia, and the herosim displayed by the Defenders, is a remarkable tale. This is perhaps the only surviving record from the era of a mutiny and subsequent trial with such detail that 400 years later it can be developed into an entertaining book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absorbing, shocking, engrossing, 13 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Batavia's Graveyard: The True Story Of The Mad Heretic Who Led History's Bloodiest Mutiny (Paperback)
I found this book by chance after searching for sea voyages and exploration on Amazon. Even though I had never read anything at all concerning Dutch shipping I couldn't put this book down. The author does an excellent job steering us through the events as they unfold on the archipelago of Houtman's Abrolhos and has done an incredible amount of research considering the date that these events took place - 1628. Although I found the book a bit heavy going at times, overall it is well written and definitely an excellent read for those into history/exploration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars History & Adventure at its Best, 19 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batavia's Graveyard: The True Story Of The Mad Heretic Who Led History's Bloodiest Mutiny (Paperback)
Mike Dash is a very good writer. Having read Tulipomania I was expecting a good read and I was not disappointed. The Dutch East India company were grasping and uncaring of their employees being only interested in profits. The hardships and rules their merchants had to abide by do make you sympathise with those who tried to make some money on the side. The story brilliantly outlines the life of Cornelisz, his compatriots and the crew prior to and after the wreck. Another plus is that there is an ending for each character. Very satisfying. I even found the notes interesting. The book is very nasty at times but so exciting - a must read for anyone interested in Dutch history and the role of the East India Company. My only criticism is that I found the names and characters hard to get my head around initially and it was not until I was three-quarters of the way through the book that I found the Dutch pronunciation guide towards the end. Having the maps at the front was helpful but I would like to have seen a current map of the West coast of Australia showing the positions of the Abrolhos, Seals' Island alongside their modern names. I do thoroughly recommend the book though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating history book, 2 July 2010
By 
Dr. Petr Janecek (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Batavia's Graveyard (Hardcover)
After I saw the wreck of Batavia during my visit to Fremantle in West Australia, I wanted to know more about the ship and the bloody mutiny on it. This book is very well written and with the exactness of a historian the author presents the fascinating history not just of the ship and the 300+ people on it but also of the company behind it and the society in the Netherlands in those times. One of the best history books I have ever read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars utterly compelling, 6 May 2011
This review is from: Batavia's Graveyard: The True Story Of The Mad Heretic Who Led History's Bloodiest Mutiny (Paperback)
No point in writing a long review - I think everybody's said it. I stayed up all night to read this. Just get it, it's utterly fascinating, compelling, immersive and fascinatingly horrid. Written with the same pace and skill as fiction, this true story stands head and shoulders above most dry historical accounts. Fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indescribable, a triumph., 17 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have wanted to read this book for a long time. As a British National of Dutch extraction (I still have close relatives in the Netherlands whom I visit regularly), I wanted to read up on some Dutch history and the strange aspects of this case really intrigued me. I was expecting something good but not something this good. Mike Dash cleverly weaves the personal histories of the pro/antagonists with the wider history of Dutch acendency on the world stage. He keeps the narative relevant and it goes at a clip. What a fascinating insight into the world's first corperation and into the minds of all to human monsters. With eerie prescience the events on the island echo the Manson killings +-400 years later, leading to the question does the human animal ever learn?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blessed are the meek, 23 Jun. 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batavia's Graveyard (Hardcover)
In 1629, the Batavia, a giant ocean-going Dutch trading galleon, smashed onto an uncharted reef fifty miles off the west coast of Australia. Over the next few days, the once-mighty vessel was remorselessly pounded to pieces in the surf. The bedraggled survivors, perched nearby on tiny coral outcroppings virtually devoid of life or shelter, food or water, could only watch in utter dismay. The Batavia was a retourschep (a “return ship” – the very largest, and most magnificent, class of trading vessel, one designed to withstand the rigours of the round-trip passage between the United Provinces and the Dutch East Indies); she was also on her maiden voyage, having been built at tremendous cost; what is more, she was laden with a fortune in silver, precious jewellery and trading goods. Her destruction, the loss of her cargo, and the consequent loss of profits from the Spices she would eventually have brought home to Europe represented a major financial blow to her owners – the Dutch East India Company (the “VOC”).
However, and dramatic though such an event undoubtedly was, such losses were not uncommon, and the Batavia's destruction might have warranted little more than a foot-note in the history of European trading expansion in the East Indies but for the events which subsequently unfolded in the desolate little chain of low, barren islands where she met her end - Houtman’s Abrolhos. For the Batavia’s destruction precipitated amongst her survivors an explosion of hatreds and resentment that had been gestating in her foetid lower decks during the long, dreadful months of her outward passage. Indeed, the discord and sullen mutual resentments which ran amongst her officers and men like a fever were themselves a causative factor in her destruction. Now, while they awaited rescue, the dwindling survivors were preyed upon and terrorised by the worst of these malcontents, a band of mutineers led by a vicious psychopath named Jeronimous Cornelisz. This is a tale of depressing awfulness, though not without redemptive examples of dignity and courage, leadership and charity. What is more, we can only wonder at the faith, fortitude and determination of the victim-survivors – men, women and children - who clung to life amidst the barbarism, atavistic depravity, howling despair, desolation and abyssal hopelessness that was their daily lot in the sun-bleached, wind-scoured Houtman’s Abrolhos.
This marvellous book is a triumph on several levels. It is a great achievement of precise and orderly narrative history. Its clear, calm, unexcited prose never distracts from the intrinsically dramatic and shocking nature of the events. Such interpolation of events and dialogue as there is has been used only very sparingly, and for explanatory, rather than dramatic, effect. Speculations are clearly confessed, and supported by annotations explaining their justification. The book is also a triumph of meticulous historical research and scholarship. The author’s achievement in sifting, weighing and parsing centuries-old, conflicting, fragmentary sources of information, and assembling from these a coherent and logical exposition of the complex events of this affair and their antecedents, is singularly impressive. And yet the analysis, as forensically thorough and academically rigorous as it is, is never sterile or remote. By his frequent recourse – though not blind faithfulness - to the personal accounts and official records of what happened, the author conveys to the reader a powerful sense of communing with the long-dead protagonists themselves, as we hear, from their own lips, of their dreadful travails. I must add that the main text is augmented by an important and detailed set of notes, in which are to be found many further intriguing tit-bits of detail and information, which I confidently predict that most readers will greedily devour.
The book ends with an epilogue in which Dash briefly and efficiently relates the story of the re-discovery of the Batavia’s wreck in the 1960s, and the recovery of material, artefacts and human remains which have also been discovered in the Abrolhos. It is here that perhaps the most poignant vignette of the entire tale is to be found: Imagine, if you can, being marooned on an island some one mile by three, on which no part rose more than six feet above the lapping waves, with a gang of rapists and murderers who were, in the end, killing out of sheer boredom. Imagine lying at night in your flimsy tent, straining with every fibre in your body to hear the tell-tale clink and scuffing of men gathering outside. Imagine, night after night, hearing them pass by, whispering and grunting, and moments later, the shrieks and frantic imprecations of men and women being dragged outside in their underclothes and set upon with flashing blades as they lay upon the barren ground. Imagine reaching out for the comforting touch of your mother, and finding that she too shook violently in silent terror as she lay beside you... One of the sets of remains recovered from the Abrolhos was that of a small child; when the child’s skull was examined, it was observed that its teeth had been worn down to a degree quite exceptional in a person of such tender age. The cause of this accelerated wear was determined to be incessant grinding, of the sort associated with extreme anxiety.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews