Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best monarchical biography I have read
I do not profess to have any great all-consuming interest in history, let alone the period of the Restoration; I read solely for pleasure on a wide range of topics and will quickly drop any book that does not sustain my interest.

I did not come close to wishing to put down this excellent work. Unlike other 'scholarly biographies', Fraser's book is anything but...
Published on 12 Sep 2009 by Dr. G. E. Grant

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars I dont't know English history well enough to fully enjoy this book
This book is not for beginners in 17th century English history, but at least I learned a lot. A good portrait of a prince leading a diffucult life, and the rather severe style seemingly tries to balance the impression of a popular and merry king.
Published 18 months ago by tricoteuse


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best monarchical biography I have read, 12 Sep 2009
By 
Dr. G. E. Grant (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: King Charles II (Paperback)
I do not profess to have any great all-consuming interest in history, let alone the period of the Restoration; I read solely for pleasure on a wide range of topics and will quickly drop any book that does not sustain my interest.

I did not come close to wishing to put down this excellent work. Unlike other 'scholarly biographies', Fraser's book is anything but dry, or difficult for a non-expert to follow. It paints a very clear picture not only of Charles, but of his family members, court and acolytes such that by the end I really felt that I had an understanding of the man - his personality, his sense of humour, his temperament and the events that shaped him as a king. The events of his reign are consistently presented with humour and verve, with even the internecine events of the Commonwealth and post-restoration Dutch Wars, and Charles' struggles with parliament easy to follow, and made entertaining. The early part of the book, regarding Charles' flight after the battle of Worcester even reads like an adventure story, without losing authenticity, accuracy or scholarship.

My sole criticism is that in writing the book Fraser seems to have become rather attached to the figure of Charles (who does admittedly seem, on the whole, an attractive and witty personality) to the point where she appears to make excuses for his mistakes, and perhaps defends his corner a little too vigorously. Nonetheless, I would thoroughly recommend this as an entertaining and enlightening book for the general reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well written, but too one-sided in tone, 17 Dec 2008
By 
John Hopper (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: King Charles II (Paperback)
A colourful, well written and comprehensive biography. However, the author comes across as very pro-Charles and pro-Royalist, sometimes to the point of sycophancy. That said, I understand that she is also quite sympathetic to Cromwell in her biography of him (though not here), so maybe in part at least her attitude reflects a close identification with a subject she must spend a lot of time focusing on, given the length and thoroughness of her works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not only the merry monarch - understanding Charles II., 25 Feb 2004
By 
Amelrode (Vilvoorde) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: King Charles II (Paperback)
Antonia Fraser' s King Charles II. is one of the best ever books written on this King.
This king went down in history as the merry monarch with all this mistresses and bastards children, a barren but not discarded Queen, a fast live with many entertainments.
Well, if one would stop here, one would never understand Charles II..
Antonia Fraser unfolds the life to Charles step by step, guides the reader through the ups and downs, the nightmares of the civil war, the lonely and poor days of a king-in-exile, the restoration and his actual reign. She looks behind the facade: the reader will discover a man following his way, his principles, a man who learned to survive, a man who believed in himself, a man who never gave up, a man with a great zest for life, a very clever man. But there are dark sides too: it was very hard to trust him. There was a very ruthless streak in him.
Antonia Fraser' s fascinating and elegantly written book makes the reader to understand the merry monarch. This book is one of my all time favourite biographies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Colourful, vivid, sympathetic, 6 Jun 2013
By 
Roman Clodia (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: King Charles II (Paperback)
This is a well-written biography of Charles II, first published in 1979. Like Fraser's other historical works, this is intelligent, sympathetic and absorbing - and gives us a very colourful picture of Charles II. Only partially the `merry monarch', this traces his life from his birth, exile, the execution of his father and the restoration of the monarchy.

Anyone who's a little shaky on seventeenth-century history and politics might want to read this alongside Fraser's Cromwell, as this barely sketches in the civil wars, and then only in terms of the effect they have on Charles and his mother.

This is a long book, but Fraser keeps our attention well, and her character sketches are vivid and memorable. As other reviewers have said, this does take an unquestioning and positive view towards inherited monarchy and is `on the side' of Charles throughout - perhaps it's difficult as a biographer not to be?

So this isn't a scholarly book but for a wonderfully readable account of the life and personality of Charles II, this is hard to beat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars King Charles II, 24 Oct 2011
By 
This review is from: King Charles II (Hardcover)
The authoress sets out to inform and entertain, she never bores. She clearly had great sympathy for her subject and treats him in a humane way. The book gripped me from start to finish. She explains much of the second half of his life by reference to the first half, the war years and years of exile. I am convinced that this particular biography will still be in print for decades to come. I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: King Charles II (Paperback)
Interesting read worth buying
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wow!, 24 Jun 2014
This review is from: King Charles II (Kindle Edition)
i love history and my favorite king now is him my mum is the queen yeah queen and she is like me wow er i don't know what to say
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a reformation classic !!!, 17 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: King Charles II (Paperback)
king Charles arrived on time and in very good condition , the description was very accurate and you can look forward to more orders from me in the future , cheers !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Merry Monarch? Perhaps!, 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: King Charles II (Kindle Edition)
He was a relief to many after Cromwell and his puritans and he loved life and women - there again what man wouldn't in his position?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very good!, 14 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: King Charles II (Paperback)
The book arrived in very good conditions. It seems almost like new. I'm looking forward to reading it as King Charles II is one of my favourite historical figures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

King Charles II
King Charles II by Lady Antonia Fraser (Paperback - 6 Jun 2002)
7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews