Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shopgirl is a wee gem of a book.
Some of my girlfriends who have read this novella insisted that it was a sad little story about a girl with an empty life looking for a guy to fill the void. Although I can see that Shopgirl has a definite blue feeling to it as you turn the pages, it's ultimately a heartwarming tale. Yes, the main character, Mirabelle, is lonely and her life is empty and there is nothing...
Published on 13 Feb 2001

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Filmstar plays fairy godfather! one night only!!
Steve Martin as the new Guy de Maupassant? I'd like to see Guy try stand-up. Good ol' Steve has a stab at evoking human need and - I don't want to come on all Dr Johnson about this, viz women and dogs, but the rather.. ordinary lead character is depicted with surprising empathy, even if she's not quite.. contemporary? (But, as an American reviewer points out, you could...
Published on 7 Mar 2012 by Simon Barrett 'Il Penseroso'


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shopgirl is a wee gem of a book., 13 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Shopgirl (Hardcover)
Some of my girlfriends who have read this novella insisted that it was a sad little story about a girl with an empty life looking for a guy to fill the void. Although I can see that Shopgirl has a definite blue feeling to it as you turn the pages, it's ultimately a heartwarming tale. Yes, the main character, Mirabelle, is lonely and her life is empty and there is nothing on her horizon to entice her forward, but she keeps on going and tries to let her creativity breathe. When the older Ray Porter comes on the scene, is he the key to a better life for Mirabelle, or does he represent the promise of a better life? Without giving too much away, all I'll say is that when you reach the final full-stop, you feel satisfied and realise that maybe it's the guy who's been looking for something to fill his empty life. This is an elegantly written book that you can enjoy in an afternoon. It serves as a reminder that the bad times have their part to play in our lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and Entertaining., 5 Dec 2000
This review is from: Shopgirl (Hardcover)
I really enjoyed this novella and read it in one go. The witty narrative made me laugh and think at the same time. The communication breakdown between man and woman is particularly realistic. I would recommend it to anyone who has enjoyed Martin's other writings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars shop pearl, 5 April 2001
This review is from: Shopgirl (Hardcover)
this book is excellently written...martin continues to suprise me in his writtings..and with this book its not a case of i couldnt put it down..its a case of i didnt want to put it down...cant wait for the next one steve
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice gentle story and same for the film, 6 Aug 2013
By 
Clipper 314 (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shopgirl (Paperback)
Well done to write a nice human story considered to be semi autobiographical. Loved the film of the book and enjoyed the tale of relationships in print. Funny, quirky, sad and happy... just like life if you are lucky ! A fairly short novella but tells everything it needs to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Filmstar plays fairy godfather! one night only!!, 7 Mar 2012
This review is from: Shopgirl (Paperback)
Steve Martin as the new Guy de Maupassant? I'd like to see Guy try stand-up. Good ol' Steve has a stab at evoking human need and - I don't want to come on all Dr Johnson about this, viz women and dogs, but the rather.. ordinary lead character is depicted with surprising empathy, even if she's not quite.. contemporary? (But, as an American reviewer points out, you could hardly call even the slightest novelette Sales Assistant.) The men in her life (all two of them) I found repugnant, but maybe that's realism of a sort. Repressing all reference to day jobs - well done, Steve, and not forgetting your all-important team (but that seems standard these days, even for poets). It's a romance, and as in movies it's the minor characters you feel for, out of Central Casting but giving it their all, in this case Mirabelle's flighty friend, tragic in her way, whose role is to act as lightening conductor for our unpleasantness - the characters who never get to star (except those guys in Sideways..)

You can't not love Steve Martin IMHO but, as another American reviewer put it, 'the rest of the world has to work harder than this to make money'. Now THAT'S funny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars touching story, 11 Mar 2009
This review is from: Shopgirl (Paperback)
Not a comedy, but it's hillarious. Real and touching. A shame they try to show the film as a "light" comedy about love (because of the dvd cover) when it's a great an down to hearth story about someone who not even has a life, and just search for a change to start it. Beautiful movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No overblown prose, 24 July 2003
This review is from: Shopgirl (Paperback)
I loved this for its wry, dry wit, and its take on the what-men-want-what-women-want conundrum. It didn't add anything new to the debate, but was a thoroughly enjoyable detour. The ennui of shop work is portrayed knowingly though never boringly, a feat in itself.
The ending was what I vaguely suspected all along so it was replaced on the bookshelf with a smug glow, especially as everyone got their just desserts (particularly the charming Lisa). A good, almost-un-put-downable read. And I thought he'd lost it after some of his latest movie choices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poignant, witty and gentle, 6 Nov 2002
By 
Mrs. Kerry King (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shopgirl (Paperback)
She's a sad little shop girl, our heroine. She drifts along in a silent hurricane of inner turmoil, largely ignored by her colleagues who find her odd and slightly aloof until she meets two men who, both in their own way, make a difference to her life and adjust the focus on her slightly twisted view of things.
Don't expect hilarity from Steve's latest offering. It's just not that kind of book. If you're after a poignant tale that is witty, gentle and satisfying, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Quick quick slow?, 1 July 2002
By 
Claire Pereira "boo!" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shopgirl (Paperback)
I love Steve Martin's comedy and acting, so I bought this book, but I was more than disappointed.
The story had a nice easy pace, but seemed to suddenly speed up, as if Martin got bored or was told to hurry up and finish the book.
The characters are very interesting and intriguing, but some of them get lost along the way.
OK for a holiday read I guess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Short Mediocre Read, 12 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Shopgirl (Paperback)
This was a very quick, easy book to read. I felt like there was a lot missing from it - like what happened after Loki and Del Ray failed to get in touch for Thanksgiving. We never hear anymore about it or them. What happened about the two cats when Mirabelle went to Vermont those two times. It seems strange to be mentioning cats one minute then forgetting about them the next. A very flimsy storyline which seems to hop about all over the place and a not v. satisfying heroine. Don't think I'll bother to read his other 2 books - although there were quite a few humerous obersations in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shopgirl
Shopgirl by Steve Martin (Paperback - 21 Jun 2001)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews