Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant
I absolutely love this book. It's a fantastic recollection of Dian Fossey's time with the mountain gorillas of Rwanda. The way she writes completely drew me in to her story and I really empathised with her feelings in times of anger, sadness, happiness and relief. The sections of colour and black and white photos add to the text and make it easier to visualise what is...
Published on 17 May 2010 by A. Ives

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what i thought it would be
I was looking forward to reading this having been to Rwanda to see the gorillas. I found the book a little too technical with not enough insight into the areas problems. Maybe I was just expecting too much and I HATE to say it... but I preferred the film (eurgh). Still, what she did to help protect the animals deserves 5*
Published on 2 Feb 2011 by Quick reviews!


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 17 May 2010
By 
A. Ives (Suffolk, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gorillas in the Mist (Hardcover)
I absolutely love this book. It's a fantastic recollection of Dian Fossey's time with the mountain gorillas of Rwanda. The way she writes completely drew me in to her story and I really empathised with her feelings in times of anger, sadness, happiness and relief. The sections of colour and black and white photos add to the text and make it easier to visualise what is going on. The appendix which contains scientific information including birth rate graphs, autopsy results and parasitology sections made it all the more interesting for me, as a biomedical sciences student. I would recommend this book to any primate lover or 'wannabe' animal researcher/conservationist. Dian Fossey's story here has really inspired me to follow my dreams into wildlife conservation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just what i expected, 12 Dec 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Gorillas in the Mist: A Remarkable Story of Thirteen Years Spent Living with the Greatest of the Great Apes (Paperback)
now if you know about Dian fossey or have atleast heard of the woman you will like this book, it is her life and it is told in a good way.some parts might upset you, what with the poachers and photos inside of slaughtered Mountain Gorillas,but it is the truth about what happened and what is stil happening in regions of Africa. dont get me wrong,its not all about poachers, its her life and everything in it, written in a scientific yet funny and understandable way for every kind of reader so u dont get bogged down in it all! theres even a map and gorilla family trees! some truths about gorillas which i didnt know i discovered in this book and i can tell you, they are not pretty,but none the less i cudnt help smirking over the innocent free mischeivious apes! you must read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, 5 Oct 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gorillas in the Mist: A Remarkable Story of Thirteen Years Spent Living with the Greatest of the Great Apes (Paperback)
Loved this book! At first I was not sure whether to read it as it was written in the 60's so thought the info would be out of date etc but how wrong I was. Dian Fossey gave her life to the conservation of gorillas and I really related to her in this book. I think it is amazing what she did and how she managed to habituate the mountain gorillas as well as her struggle with rescued orphans. I found this book truly inspirational and anyone with an interest in apes and conservation will love this. I have since bought the National Geographic DVD that accompanies this book. This book was written by Dian Fossey 2 years before she was killed so it is a complete book and doesn't end abruptly. I enjoyed this book slightly more than 'In the Shadow of man' by Jane Goodall just because of the way it was written I just seemed to engage with Dian Fossey slightly more and I have the same views as her that all animals should be wild and free and never kept in cages. Zoos can never provide what freedom and the wild can. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dian Fosseys account, 15 Mar 2011
By 
W. G. Hunter-smith (South Shields:UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gorillas in the Mist: A Remarkable Story of Thirteen Years Spent Living with the Greatest of the Great Apes (Paperback)
Dian Fosseys own events of her 13 years on the slopes of the Virunga volcanic mountain range in Africa. She tells of the different groups of gorillas and the characters of some of the individuals. There is a good account of her fieldwork which she pioneered in, and also her personel daily struggle against poachers, bad weather, high altitudes, and much more. Its a good read if your at all interested in gorillas or even adventure.Gorillas in the Mist: A Remarkable Story of Thirteen Years Spent Living with the Greatest of the Great Apes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for animal lovers everywhere, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gorillas in the Mist: A Remarkable Story of Thirteen Years Spent Living with the Greatest of the Great Apes (Paperback)
A detailed account of how Dian Fossey found herself studying mountain gorillas. A very personal odyssey of a remarkable woman who dedicated her life (quite literally) to saving these majestic creatures. Far from being the mad woman portrayed in the movie she describes the heartache of losing the two young gorillas to a european zoo and the overwhelming grief of losing her beloved digit. This book is a must for all animal lovers and particularly those who love the greatest of the great apes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must-Read book, 26 Nov 2011
This review is from: Gorillas in the Mist: A Remarkable Story of Thirteen Years Spent Living with the Greatest of the Great Apes (Paperback)
I beg to differ with Quick Reviews comments below. To compare the book with the movie is not really comparing like with like. The purpose of the book was to present her research findings as indisputable proof of the need to save the highland gorilla. The movie was intended to reach a wider audience, with more general insight into the problems of deforestation and poaching in the hope of garnering support to her struggle to save them. The book and the movie compliment each other in the campaign, many have been moved to see/read the other once they have been introduced to the story. They are two sides of the same coin really. The other point is that Diane Fossey was murdered in 1985 (book finished in 1983) and the problems faced in this region keep evolving.

I have been to Rwanda and the Virungas and have seen the gorillas in the wild and it is heart breaking to think that these gentle giants (forget King Kong, that's Hollywood!) are teetering on the brink of extinction. But it isn't all hopeless, the awearness created by the book and movie has renewed conservation efforts, though dangers still remain, they may still have a chance. I do hope more people will read this remarkable book written by a remarkable woman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorillas in the mist, 3 Sep 2009
By 
M. Goode - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gorillas in the Mist: A Remarkable Story of Thirteen Years Spent Living with the Greatest of the Great Apes (Paperback)
The book can speak for itself. A beautiful if sad story. We went to see the gorillas last year. Amazing creatures and the book answers so many of the questions you think of after your visit to see them. If you cant get to see them for yourself, read the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful read, 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gorillas in the Mist: A Remarkable Story of Thirteen Years Spent Living with the Greatest of the Great Apes (Paperback)
I love the great apes and this book really opens up their private and wonderful world in which they live and fight to survive and of course their supporter Dian Fossey who shared it with them until her death.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dian Fossey and the Gorillas, 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gorillas in the Mist: A Remarkable Story of Thirteen Years Spent Living with the Greatest of the Great Apes (Paperback)
Never read anything quite like this - I'm normally averse to 'memoir-style' books, but I found this not only readable and interesting, but actively moving. Came away with a distinct sense of who Fossey was, and what she worked for. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hmmm - well!, 17 Feb 2014
By 
CLIVE CHAPMAN "Old Clive" (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gorillas in the Mist: A Remarkable Story of Thirteen Years Spent Living with the Greatest of the Great Apes (Paperback)
Her writing is not riveting, but the story is so good that I can forgive her for that. I always wanted to know what happend next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews