Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the original and best welsh soap opera
I first read this over forty years ago and it is one of the few books I return to time and time again. The jokes are superb, the characters are fully developed and the place becomes real at once. In the best traditions of small town soap opera, the regional aspect is unimportant - you don't have to be Welsh or even like Wales to recognise the universal features of...
Published on 25 Jan 2004 by John Ryan

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A useful but annoying edition of a classic text
Although this edition is useful for its introduction and 'explanatory notes', I also find it extremely annoying in many respects, as opposed to the previous Daniel Jones editions. The editors have gone back to the original manuscripts and found some variants. They have therefore come up with AN edition, not THE DEFINITIVE edition, which would only exist if DT himself had...
Published on 5 May 2011 by Joolz


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the original and best welsh soap opera, 25 Jan 2004
By 
I first read this over forty years ago and it is one of the few books I return to time and time again. The jokes are superb, the characters are fully developed and the place becomes real at once. In the best traditions of small town soap opera, the regional aspect is unimportant - you don't have to be Welsh or even like Wales to recognise the universal features of hypocrisy and comic self-delusion. For everyone who has ever tried to express their feelings for a place and its importance to their own human development, Under Milk Wood is a classic model of how to do it right. Even its unfinished quality adds to the sense of people in the midst of life having the need to record and preserve their formative experiences. Nosiness is elevated to a fine art form. The language is both colloquial and poetic but never dull and always economical. A reading of the text as opposed to a hearing of the radio play provides unlimited opportunity for your own personal memories to be added to the writer's own. I can state with confidence that not only is this Dylan Thomas's masterpiece, it is a piece of literature that will stand the test of time. All that is required to fully enjoy this piece is to relax, forget intellectual analysis and allow yourself to become another silent observer overhearing the secrets and scandals that make up everyday life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great play, 22 July 2011
This review is from: Under Milk Wood: The Definitive Edition (Paperback)
Good and efficient delivery service.
This play is very funny and great to perform.
Print slightly on small side for use as a script, compared to other editions.
Binding has survived intense 4 week usage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Under Milk Wood, 8 Mar 2009
By 
J. Chapman (Cardiff uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Under Milk Wood: The Definitive Edition (Paperback)
Good version with useful glossary. Fairly "academic" introduction for scholars of Dylan Thomas's work, though not useful to those coming to his text for the first time.
A sound, no nonsense edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A little piece of poetic history., 22 Oct 1997
By A Customer
On November 7th, Dylan Thomas collapsed in his hotel room. On the 9th, he died. This was only a few days after the final performance of "Under Milk Wood", a special play with no acting but voices, the sort of work Thomas believed would replace the poetic impulse he feared had dried up. Although believed by many to be unfinished, "Under Milk Wood" seems perfect as it is. A journey through the events of a single day in a small town, "Under Milk Wood" is a must for Dylan Thomas fans, but also would be appreciated by fans of Garrison Keillor and other radio-storytellers. The written text cannot compare with the lively, laughter-ridden performance. Listen to the real thing, and you will, as Dylan Thomas instructed his actors, "love the words."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One spring day in Llareggub..., 20 Jun 2011
By 
John P. Jones III (Albuquerque, NM, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Under Milk Wood: The Definitive Edition (Paperback)
Dylan Thomas completed this play in 1953, a few days before his death. For this reason, some critics contend the play is "incomplete," an issue that will never be resolved. It is subtitled a "Play for Voices"; thus, it is a "reading," without accompanying action from the actors. Like Joyce's Ulysses (Classics) (Wordsworth Classics), the entire play covers only one day. Ulysses is set in Ireland; Thomas's play is set in a coastal fishing village in Wales, named Llareggub, which is literally located below another village called Milkwood, hence the title. Thanks to another reviewer, I learned that Llareggub spelled backwards is "Bugg*r All."

The play starts with the characters still asleep or just awaking. Along with Polly Garter, Captain Cat is one of the more memorable characters. He is dreaming of his numerous companions that were lost at sea. Much of the play relates to the male-female interactions (of which there are plenty!) in this small village. Some unhappy husbands and wives, naturally; several of whom seek solace outside the strict bounds of wedlock. No surprise there. Polly dreams of the one man who has ever truly satisfied her, Willy Nilly. There is the Rev. Eli Jenkins who makes pronouncements, and is routinely ignored. The "Sailors Arms" is the village pub (and essential community center). The clock is broken at half past eleven, which is the official opening time; thus, the pub is always open.

Thomas is wonderfully lyrical; so many of the words are selected simply for their euphony, and how well they elide into the next. And there is the rub. Can one appreciate the full artistic merit simply by reading it? I think not. You really do have to HEAR it also. There is a beautiful movie production of this play, with impressive scenery from the green Welsh countryside, starring Richard Burton and Elizabeth Taylor Under Milk Wood [DVD] that I would highly recommend. Oddly, to me, the only other person I know who has read and watched this production thought the movie was terrible. Of course, he liked The Deer Hunter [Blu-ray], so I guess it might simply be a case of different strokes...

The book alone, through no particular fault than it is not the intended medium, would rate 4-stars. In conjunction with, or as a prelude to the movie or a live performance, it deserves the full 5-stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A useful but annoying edition of a classic text, 5 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Under Milk Wood: The Definitive Edition (Paperback)
Although this edition is useful for its introduction and 'explanatory notes', I also find it extremely annoying in many respects, as opposed to the previous Daniel Jones editions. The editors have gone back to the original manuscripts and found some variants. They have therefore come up with AN edition, not THE DEFINITIVE edition, which would only exist if DT himself had supervised it, which he didn't. The 'textual notes' indicate that their changes were almost all trivial, mostly to do with commas, spellings and full stops (annoyingly described here as 'periods'), and complaints that Jones had no textual authorisation for his changes. But the current editors' main claim to originality is to have eliminated the "Second Voice", and given that text to the "First Voice" in order to make it more readable, while admitting that there is no textual authorisation for this. This is fair enough, though trivial, (and hardly respects readers' love of the recorded versions). But they have then proceeded to put all of the wonderful "First Voice" narrative into annoying italic, which makes it....hard to read. I daresay this was done to conform to modern playscript practice (in which case, why eliminate "Second Voice?), and if the object was to make it easier to read, they haven't. If the text was re-typeset, it might pass muster, but even then, why bother? I recommend keeping your Daniel Jones edition for reading, and use the explanatory notes in this for added interest if you need it. I hope Everyman keeps their edition in print!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Listen to this Play For Voices, 13 Aug 1999
By A Customer
Its hard to believe that Thomas died soon after this recording. Its so much easier to understand plays once you've listened to them. I highly recommend this tape - and other plays on audio like The Crucible, Death of a Salesman, and Shakespeare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Under milk wood, 26 Dec 2013
By 
H. Starns (u.k.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Under Milk Wood (Paperback)
I purchased the paperback version of this book as a Christmas present. It is a beautiful book packed with images from Sir Peter Blake and his 25 year homage to Dylan Thomas' classic poem/play Under Milk Wood. The images are very different from sketches to paintings, collages etc. This is an ideal compliment to the Richard Burton Under Milk Wood which is the classic audio version of the play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Under Milk Wood, 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This Is one of my favourite books but when I looked for it I could not find it I must've loaned it to somebody. Fortunately I found it easily on Amazon I ordered it very quick delivery excellent book very pleased totally satisfied
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Under Milk Wood, 24 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The recipient was delighted with it as part of a birthday gift and reads it aloud to her daughter! The fact that it is in no way abridged is a huge bonus. Thank you.
It's good to look at, is economically priced and the delivery was phenomenally prompt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Under Milk Wood: The Definitive Edition
Under Milk Wood: The Definitive Edition by Dylan Thomas (Paperback - 2 Oct 2003)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews