Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars30
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.08+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 March 2005
If you loved Olivia Manning`s The Balkan Trilogy,then you will equally love The Levant Trilogy which takes place in Egypt.
Most of the characters from The Balkan are gone,but don`t panic cause Guy and Harriet are still here(wouldn`t be the same without)and we are also introduced to a whole new group of characters who are equally interesting and likeable.
I agree with another reviewer on here.Mrs Mannings descriptions and observations of war are staggering and beautifull and you really feel like you are climbing up the pyramids with Guy and Harriet or driving along the Sphinx.It is funnier than the Balkan Trilogy and is moving without being sentimental.
Recommended to all fans of The Balkan Trilogy.You will be sorry to finish it,i was.
Fantastic stuff
0Comment|33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2012
My mother gave me "The Balkan Trilogy" more than thirty years ago: I have read and enjoyed it many times since then. I just puchased the sequel, "The Levant Trilogy" on amazon and since receiving it I have read it non-stop and enthralled. Finally, finally I know what happened to Guy and Harriet Pringle after the Germans invaded firstly Rumania and secondly Greece, and they were forced to flee across the Mediterranian. Although this book can be read by people interested in different aspects of life during World War II and in the Middle East it is basically the story of a marriage. Set in a fascinating and beautifully-crafted story, it leads me to the title of this review: can there be anywhere else in literature a more self-centered and egotistical husband than Guy Pringle ? And his wife Harriet: she has the excuse of being young, but why doesn't she do something to rectify the sad situations in which she finds herself over and over again ? However: read this book. Once started, especially if you have read "The Balkan Trilogy" first, you won't be able to put it down. And some of the twists and turns of the plot will have you gasping. Excellent !
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2001
One of Olivia Manning's greatest achievements was to produce a second trilogy after the Balkan Trilogy that matches it in every way. She did not, as it were, go off the boil - something readers might have feared after the sheer triumph of the first threesome. Few authors have written better about war and its fallout. Her description of the war in the north African desert is staggeringly good, and if one did not know that she'd spent that time in Cairo, it would be hard not to conclude that she'd been out there herself with the SAS.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2012
Having just read the Balkan Trilogy I couldn't wait to continue with this book. I wasn't disappointed the only regret is that I devoured them too quickly and in fairness must let a little time elapse before I read them again.
Now familiar with some of the characters seeing how things develop was engrossing and the reports of the war rang sadly true.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2013
Although they were first published in the nineteen seventies these three novels really stand the test of time. They portray the lives of a group of British characters marooned in Egypt during the second world war. Their lives on a personal level are explored in detail against the ever-changing background of the war in the desert. Olivia Manning is a past master at creating believable characters and one of the pleasures of this trilogy is coping with one's own exasperation at the behaviour of Guy Pringle, one of the most irritating yet ultimately decent characters in fiction.

The Middle East locations are exotic, the cast list is enormous, the personalities are totally believable, the events are historically accurate and the story lines are gripping. Everything is so skilfully woven together that you won't want to stop until you get to the end of Book Three.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The three books which make up The Levant Trilogy are “The Danger Tree,” “The Battle Lost and Won,” and “The Sum of Things.” These novels follow on from Oliva Manning’s, “The Balkan Trilogy,” in which we first met young married couple, Guy and Harriet Pringle. .” In the Balkan novels, we followed newlyweds, Guy and Harriet Pringle, as they embarked on married life in Budapest – later moving to Greece. “The Danger Tree” sees many of these characters reappear, such as Pinkrose, Dubebat, Lush and Dobson. There are also new characters, such as the young officer, Simon Boulderstone, who has been separated from his unit, and the beautiful Edwina.

“The Danger Tree,” sees the Pringles now in Egypt; having fled Greece at the end of the “Balkan Trilogy,” As before, the move has not seen them any more settled – there are constant rumours of the planned evacuation of Cairo and the city seems to have become the, “clearing house of Eastern Europe.” Guy, so trusting and naïve, is hurt when Gracey appears to have no use for him in the organisation and finds himself shunted off to Alexandria, where Harriet worries he will be cut off by the approaching Germans. Unwilling to accept he is not wanted by Gracey, and always giving everyone the benefit of the doubt, Guy attempts to bury himself in work.

As always, Harriet is in the unenviable position of seeing Guy always admired, and used, by his many friends; while he gives his attentions to his students, his friends and his acquaintances, but never to her. She feels ill-used, neglected and at a loss of how to help, making excuses for her husband, while the war continues to cause chaos around her. Simon Boulderstone is a good new character, whose attempts to find his unit, his struggles with the life of the army, and the sheer confusion of war, open up a new vista to these books, in showing us the men who are fighting, as well as the civilians who are coping with the encroaching war.

The second in the trilogy, “The Battle Lost and Won,” follows seamlessly on from, “The Danger Tree,” and begins with Simon Boulderstone arriveng in Cairo on leave. Simon had been under the belief that his brother, Hugo’s, girl was Edwina, who has a room in Dobson’s apartment, as do the Pringles and Lady Angela Hooper. Edwina though, is a frivolous girl, currently obsessed with a titled beau, called Peter, and the minor embarrassment caused over Simon’s uncomfortable arrival, results in his later being promoted to a liaison officer.

As in the other novels though, it is Harriet Pringle who remains centre stage in the story. She watches Edwina’s doomed pursuit of Peter and Angela’s odd obsession with the drunken Castlebar, both married men, with concern. As always, Guy is obsessed with work – he has now also been promoted and relishes his new responsibility to run the organisation. Giving lectures, finding teachers, organising entertainment for the troops. He pays little attention to Harriet and treats her as though she is little more than a nuisance. When she becomes ill, and Guy takes a gift Angela has given her to pass on to Edwina, Harriet decides to return to England.

With all these books, Olivia Manning tells the story of war from the personal level. We are aware of rising Egyptian nationalism, of the tide of war turning as Rommel retreats, of how locals sneer at the English before the war turns in their favour, but this is cleverly done. Manning is not as interested in the main theatre of war – she is in the dressing room with the actors, who hear everything in whispers and snippets and rumours. As such, shocking events – such as an assassination – take on an air of farce.

“The Sum of Things,” is the third in The Levantine Trilogy. In this concluding volume, Harriet heads for Damascus, having failed to board the ship to England that Guy wanted her to take. Unbeknownst to her, the ship was torpedoed and there are only a handful of survivors. Meanwhile, Harriet has no idea that Guy imagines she is dead.

Many of the characters in earlier books also appear here, including the frivolous Edwina, Dobson, Angela Hooper, Castlebar, Aidan Pratt and the young officer, Simon Boulderstone, who was injured at the end of the last book. Guy finds his comfortable existence interrupted by news of Harriet’s death and is injured at any criticism of how he treated her. While Edwina attempts to use Harriet’s absence to integrate himself, Guy attempts to “take on” Simon.

This book follows both Harriet’s journey and her encounters, as she travels from Damascus and eventually to Jerusalem, and Guy’s continued life in Cairo. Eventually, the two are reunited and the novel end with how the war has changed all of the characters. This is a moving, but realistic, conclusion to the war of Guy and Harriet Pringle and the cast of supporting characters. The war has made many grow more mature, has made others attempt to use the time they have to advance themselves and has brought others death, changed circumstances and different opportunities. I enjoyed this book very much and, indeed, the entire six volumes. Harriet Pringle is certainly one of the fictional characters that will stay with me and I found her journey fascinating. Overall, I think I preferred “The Balkan Trilogy,” to this series, but both are expertly written and well realised accounts of a young couple coping not only with married life in insecure times, but with a war which chases them continually from one precarious existence to another. These are books I return to every few years and, each time, find more to enjoy
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2014
The travails of the earlier trilogy go up a notch here, both personally and in its depiction of the war. All thoroughly convincing, from its depiction of wartime Egypt and Palestine to its battle scenes. A must-read.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2013
I did not find the storyline as cohesive as the The Balkan Trilogy. Nevertheless, it gives a very interesting perspective on colonial life in the Levant at such an interesting period of change.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2000
Memory; marriage; passage of time. This book, and its predecessor (the Balkan Trilogy), are classics. Also worth reading: the Alexandria Quartet (L Durrell) and the biography of Elizabeth David (L Chaney).
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2013
I just love her style of writing, the way she describes the characters.it's just such a comfortable read and I want her stories to go on forever. The setting of her Levant triolgy in the middle east during the second world war is fascinating. Just the sort of book for someone who loves the English language, I've learned so many words I never knew existed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse