Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars10
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 February 2015
Good as a look to years gone by but to an age when food was bought on a daily basis and the amount of waste was very small. I would advise that books(food) be read as a matter of course to get us healthier and wiser
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2014
Some interesting ideas and recipes. All a bit eye opening - makes you appreciate the challenges that that generation faced on a daily basis. Haven't tried any recipes out yet but will give some a try.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2014
A fascinating little collection of recipes and insights into life immediately post-war. The book arrived on time, and more than lived up to expectations
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2013
A jolly interesting and informative book, which gives a good insight into the inventiveness that was applied to feeding the family in post war britain
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2014
Bought more as a curiosity than as a cookbook for general use. I remember my parents and grandparents stories of the travails of post-war rationing. I enjoyed the book as an informative read and bought mainly because Marguerite Patten's Christmas cake recipe has been an absolute must in our family for over 50 years. Sadly not included here (too rich for rationing period)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2015
I LOVE ALL THE OLD TIME RECIPES AND WOULD MAKE THEM EVEN NOW, I REMEMBER MY NAN MAKING BANANA CUSTARD FROM PARSNIPS.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2015
Bought as a gift for someone - they absolutely loved it. Fast delivery, great price. Really pleased.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2015
Very interesting and helpful enjoyed this book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2016
Superb. A historical document in itself
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2013
My friend loved this book what else can i say great sellor as well and on and on and on
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)