Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Pictures, Decent Descriptions, OK Copy Editing
I bought an edition of this book as a remainder at a U.S. bookstore. It's a very appealing book whose "destinations" include both the famous and the obscure. The best part of it is the range of destinations covered, and the beautiful photos of each (most destinations are covered in one page, some in less). The descriptive copy presents the basic facts about each...
Published on 24 Dec 2006 by Louis F. Sander

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Gift.
This was a free gift sent to my iPad. it is quite a nice book. Would not normally have bought it.
Published 12 months ago by MrsH


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Pictures, Decent Descriptions, OK Copy Editing, 24 Dec 2006
By 
Louis F. Sander (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 501 Must-Visit Destinations (Hardcover)
I bought an edition of this book as a remainder at a U.S. bookstore. It's a very appealing book whose "destinations" include both the famous and the obscure. The best part of it is the range of destinations covered, and the beautiful photos of each (most destinations are covered in one page, some in less). The descriptive copy presents the basic facts about each destination, but it is sometimes carelessly edited, especially for spelling. I've been to 33 of the 501 destinations so far, and, inspired by this book, I'm looking forward to visiting more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good place to start globetrotting, 23 May 2007
By 
T. R. Alexander (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 501 Must-Visit Destinations (Hardcover)
I have always enjoyed reading about foreign places and so this book was of interest to me despite not having the time and money to visit many of the destinations detailed. The book has a clear and easy to read layout with each destination given a small description, a picture and a sidebar of the most interesting and useful information. The majority of places detailed only have a page dedicated to them with a small number getting slightly less or sometimes a double page spread. Some of the descriptions of places can be somewhat brief and I would recommend seeking out information on destinations you like elsewhere but as a starting point this book is quite good. The main problem with the book is the somewhat lacklustre editing with the text sometimes repeating itself as well as other minor errors. Overall, although there are some places detailed that I have no interest in seeing, there are enough that I am interested in to make this book a worthy purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 1 Dec 2007
By 
L. Gray (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 501 Must-Visit Destinations (Hardcover)
This book will give you the inspiration for future trips & reminders of past ones.
I have visited 30 so far and am inspired by many of those I have not yet visited.
Even if you don't want to go far a suprising number of destinations are in Europe & the UK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 11 April 2008
By 
C. Herrador (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 501 Must-Visit Destinations (Hardcover)
Pictures are awesome. Easy to read. Good and not too long description of the destinations organised by continent.
I bought this book for my boyfriend's birthday. He was so happy with his gift! We both love travelling and we have already been to a few of the 501 destinations listed! Definitely it is the best book of its range, and it encourages us to travel more and more!
I recommend this book to anyone who loves adventure and who dreams to go to the most beautiful places on earth!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Valued purchase, 6 April 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 501 Must-Visit Destinations (Hardcover)
A really well produced book with wonderful photography. Some of the locations were a bit remote but still good reading. I felt more than one page could have been given to some city locations. Recommended purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic choice, 7 Dec 2010
I picked up an earlier edition of this book at a sale. It is very thorough in the destinations covered, has high quality images and the descriptions are a pleasure to read. It is a good coffee table book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 29 Dec 2013
By 
R. Y. Otto - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 501 Must-Visit Destinations (Hardcover)
very good book with the information one needs when travelling. Nice pictures so the reader will have an idea of the place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice to browse!, 7 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 501 Must-Visit Destinations (Hardcover)
Bought for 50th birthday pressie for a seasoned traveller.
Seemed like a nice book to browse through and feel like you could be there!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars what a book!, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 501 Must-Visit Destinations (Hardcover)
Great (and relatively brief) descritions of each area, great photography! It makes you dreaming from the first page! Nice small size coffetable companion, absolutely fine to get a good idea of the places and make initial decisions. Then you need a more detailed guidebook
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun book!, 5 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 501 Must-Visit Destinations (Hardcover)
This book is really fun, as it shows you important, interesting and pretty places to visit around the world. I always like to have a look at it, before going on a trip to a certain country and see if I can build in as many destinations from that country into my trip as possible. It's really good to give you an idea of what you want to see while there. I also think it's great for thinking about where to possibly go on future trips. It stops you from always going to one place, because you realize there is so much more to see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xac9c0ac8)

This product

501 Must-Visit Destinations
501 Must-Visit Destinations by Rebecca Walder (Hardcover - 17 Sep 2006)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews