Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The W.I. book of 650 Favourite recipes
The recipes in this book (printed in 2000), are a mix of traditional and new recipes divided into several sections eg. STARTERS,SOUPS, FISH, MEATS, POULTRY & GAME,STUFFINGS, SALADS, PASTA & RICE, EGGS & CHEESE, VEGETABLES, OUTDOOR EATING, PUDDINGS & DESSERTS, BISCUITS, CAKES & BREADS,PRESERVES,DRINKS and finally PRIZEWINNERS which is a collection of 50 winning recipes...
Published on 29 Oct 2009 by VIC

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Old fashioned cookery book
Old fashioned style of book with solid no nonsense recipes that are reproduceable
Published 5 months ago by Purple Haze


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The W.I. book of 650 Favourite recipes, 29 Oct 2009
By 
This review is from: The Women's Institute Book Of 650 Favourite Recipes (Hardcover)
The recipes in this book (printed in 2000), are a mix of traditional and new recipes divided into several sections eg. STARTERS,SOUPS, FISH, MEATS, POULTRY & GAME,STUFFINGS, SALADS, PASTA & RICE, EGGS & CHEESE, VEGETABLES, OUTDOOR EATING, PUDDINGS & DESSERTS, BISCUITS, CAKES & BREADS,PRESERVES,DRINKS and finally PRIZEWINNERS which is a collection of 50 winning recipes from W.I. members.

Recipes are easy to follow, with no illustrations but written in plain English,easy to follow and with no pretentions whatsoever. The recipes producing good family meals, use seasonal produce that would reduce any cook's Carbon footprint and bills at the supermarket. The price of this book used,costs pennies and is a worthy addition to any cooks shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


81 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent basic store cupboard recipies, 2 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Women's Institute Book Of 650 Favourite Recipes (Hardcover)
A book for the beginner or simply the expert who wishes to try some basic traditional recipes this book is sure to delight. Clear easy instructions using mostly everyday store cupboard ingredients. I have yet to try a recipe that has not been 100% successful and delicious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cook book as they used to me, 27 Jan 2011
By 
H. L. Wilcox "Heather" (Cardiff) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Women's Institute Book Of 650 Favourite Recipes (Hardcover)
I buy far too many cookery books and those published these days tend to be big and glossy.

This one isn't. There are no illustrations of the finished article but the recipes are clear and cover just about everything one could need. The range is enormous - and the book is so easy to handle.

I would have liked illustrations, if only to see what my pie crusts should look like instead of the mess they are, but that would mean that the book would be larger and heavier. So I'm very happy to settle for the way it is. It can sit in my kitchen when other, posher, books end up in bookcases.

And isn't that the point of a cookery book?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars absolute must have, 2 July 2009
By 
K. Hammond (colchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Women's Institute Book Of 650 Favourite Recipes (Hardcover)
If I had to have just one cookery book (and I have loads), it would be this one. I lent my copy to someone and just had to buy another one. So many excellent, easy to cook recipes. The section at the back on prizewinners has some really great recipes. Many simple recipes as well which make the most of a few ingredients - or cupboard essential like pasta and tinned tuna.
Only criticism (and it still gets 5 stars) is that the index is not that good. White sauce isn't listed yet it includes 3 versions (under basic white sauce I think) - you just have to browse the sections, but these are very clear. I add page numbers to back cover. Great for a student off to college, or a busy mum needing some inspiration (I've got twins!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 650 RECIPES WOMENS INSTITUTES, 27 Feb 2012
This review is from: The Women's Institute Book Of 650 Favourite Recipes (Hardcover)
One of the best book i have every had, this comes of the bookcase more than the others. It is down to earth and simple to use. One recipe i like is on page 268 - tomato & orange chutney so easy to make.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great item., 21 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Women's Institute Book Of 650 Favourite Recipes (Hardcover)
Good book, many good recipes. Will one day love to make all the recipes that are in the book, thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SIMPLY DELIGHTFUL, 27 Jan 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Women's Institute Book Of 650 Favourite Recipes (Hardcover)
At first sight this book is a gem. It's good to find a cookbook with traditional recipes as well as the more adventurous ones; excellent guidance from experts to a novice like me. There are no glossy pictures (of perfection) to demoralise. Dust won't settle on my copy, only flour !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous!!, 20 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Women's Institute Book Of 650 Favourite Recipes (Hardcover)
Fantastic recipe book at a fantastic price. What more could I ask?? Good honest cookery that you can do with your off-spring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Granny, 22 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Women's Institute Book Of 650 Favourite Recipes (Hardcover)
This book was a find the recipes are all as i remembered them , good ,easy to follow and economical
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely., 10 Mar 2013
By 
Sue McGill. (Mousehole. Penzance.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Women's Institute Book Of 650 Favourite Recipes (Hardcover)
Well worth the money. Full of tried and tested recipes. Looking forward to trying them out. Love the Game recipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Women's Institute Book Of 650 Favourite Recipes
The Women's Institute Book Of 650 Favourite Recipes by Norma Macmillan (Hardcover - 15 Feb 2000)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews